Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

For monitor related issues
Post Reply
User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 24
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by RKDE » November 3rd, 2019, 3:16 am

Hi All

I Think I have a working Nanao MS-2933 so far my research says its compatible with a Toshiba A68KSM696X is this the only tube?

Also... Is the contol board the same as MS-2932?

Any info is appreciated.

Thanks!

Rob

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1571
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by nem » November 3rd, 2019, 1:33 pm

RKDE wrote:
November 3rd, 2019, 3:16 am
I Think I have a working Nanao MS-2933 so far my research says its compatible with a Toshiba A68KSM696X is this the only tube?

Only tube? Nope, there are tons of tubes that will work with a 2933. It's the yoke that will be the limiting factor.

Also... Is the contol board the same as MS-2932?

It's not. MS-2932 has pots on the remote, MS-2933 has microswitches for controlling an OSD.

User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 24
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by RKDE » November 4th, 2019, 2:47 am

--Cool. I wonder if any of the yokes I have on my toshiba tubes will work? Definitely don't know how to do the ohm mesuemants ect.

--I do have an extra Ms 2931 remote that has micro switches I wonder if that would work?

Thanks for the Replys!

Rob

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1571
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by nem » November 4th, 2019, 11:13 am

RKDE wrote:
November 4th, 2019, 2:47 am
--Cool. I wonder if any of the yokes I have on my toshiba tubes will work? Definitely don't know how to do the ohm mesuemants ect.

Do you know what chassis they were paired with originally?

--I do have an extra Ms 2931 remote that has micro switches I wonder if that would work?

That should work, yes.

User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 24
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by RKDE » November 4th, 2019, 6:34 pm

nem wrote:
November 4th, 2019, 11:13 am
RKDE wrote:
November 4th, 2019, 2:47 am
--Cool. I wonder if any of the yokes I have on my toshiba tubes will work? Definitely don't know how to do the ohm mesuemants ect.

Do you know what chassis they were paired with originally?

--I do have an extra Ms 2931 remote that has micro switches I wonder if that would work?

That should work, yes.
Unfortunetly I do not know. I ended up with this chassis and was hoping to get some use out of it.

Any Ideas?

Thanks

Rob

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4467
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by grantspain » November 4th, 2019, 7:06 pm

0.195mh horizontal yoke only for ms2930,31,32,33 and 34
probably need to check value of resistor on heater matches the tube
the 2931 has a push button remote which is possibly the same

User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 24
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by RKDE » November 4th, 2019, 10:39 pm

grantspain wrote:
November 4th, 2019, 7:06 MP
0.195mh horizontal yoke only for ms2930,31,32,33 and 34
probably need to check value of resistor on heater matches the tube
the 2931 has a push button remote which is possibly the same
Hi. I do have a few tubes with ms2930,31 yokes on them. Does this mean it should work even if the tube has a different #?

Thanks

Rob

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4467
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by grantspain » November 4th, 2019, 10:52 pm

only consideration will be matching the tube heater current, its done by a resistor- if its too dark you half the value and of course too bright then double the value
i thinks its r732 on the 2933 but would need to confirm
obviously the crt pinout needs to match

User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 24
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by RKDE » November 4th, 2019, 11:52 pm

grantspain wrote:
November 4th, 2019, 10:52 MP
only consideration will be matching the tube heater current, its done by a resistor- if its too dark you half the value and of course too bright then double the value
i thinks its r732 on the 2933 but would need to confirm
obviously the crt pinout needs to match
I will need to figure out how to check the heater current.

I did check and it does fit the tube pinout.

Rob

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4467
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by grantspain » November 5th, 2019, 12:30 am

just put the chassis on and see how it behaves

User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 24
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by RKDE » November 5th, 2019, 2:45 am

grantspain wrote:
November 5th, 2019, 12:30 am
just put the chassis on and see how it behaves
I may just have too. Just worried about messing up the tube.

User avatar
gitanes
Posts: 8
Joined: June 1st, 2009, 1:54 pm
Location:

Re: Nanao MS-2933 Tube Compatibility?

Post by gitanes » January 16th, 2020, 12:34 pm

I have 2 MS-2931 chassis.
One is originally came with A68KSM696X and its heater register on R732 is 3.9 ohm ( Orange, White, Gold, Gold ).
Another one is originally came with A68LBT696X and its R732 is 1 ohm ( Brown, Black, Gold, Gold ).
Recently I've bought MS-2930 tube. Tube is A68KZN696X.
I've tested A68KZN696X tube with 2 MS-2931 chassis and found that A68LBT696X's chassis works perfect,
but A68KSM696X's chassis works no good, screen was very very dim.
So I've exchanged heater register from 3.9 ohm to 1 ohm and screen became perfect.

I think if you use your MS-2933's A68KSM696X with MS-2930 chassis or MS-2931 chassis ( excluding originally came with A68KSM696X ),
you'll neeed exchange heater register.

Post Reply