SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
gnomx
Posts: 103
Joined: October 8th, 2013, 9:12 pm
Location: 26
eBay: Cyberfear909
Initials: DED
Contact:

SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by gnomx » July 14th, 2019, 1:34 pm

Hi guys.
Recently I've got a SEGA Lindbergh yellow versión.
So when I turn it on I get black screen , no video output.



Any suggestions?
Thanks

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1381
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by nem » July 14th, 2019, 1:43 pm

Did you try the DVI connector? I seem to remember that's the one you need to use.

gnomx
Posts: 103
Joined: October 8th, 2013, 9:12 pm
Location: 26
eBay: Cyberfear909
Initials: DED
Contact:

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by gnomx » July 14th, 2019, 6:01 pm

nem wrote:
July 14th, 2019, 1:43 MP
Did you try the DVI connector? I seem to remember that's the one you need to use.
Same result. Black screen LAN port red/brow led Blink.
Now i gonna try Voltages output.

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4401
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by grantspain » July 14th, 2019, 6:53 pm

try reseating ram and cpu

gnomx
Posts: 103
Joined: October 8th, 2013, 9:12 pm
Location: 26
eBay: Cyberfear909
Initials: DED
Contact:

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by gnomx » July 14th, 2019, 7:19 pm

grantspain wrote:
July 14th, 2019, 6:53 MP
try reseating ram and cpu
How??

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4401
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by grantspain » July 14th, 2019, 8:41 pm

like you do with any pc motherboard

gnomx
Posts: 103
Joined: October 8th, 2013, 9:12 pm
Location: 26
eBay: Cyberfear909
Initials: DED
Contact:

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by gnomx » July 15th, 2019, 7:53 pm

Hi there. I've tried to reseat graphics card and ram and change them , but anything happens.
Black screen
So how can I test CPU ?
Is it possible use other one?
Image

Image

Image


PS : see last image , I can't remove CPU it seems like solder on heatsink :(

I've already checked Power supply it works great.

Other thing that I've check head drive isn't spinning. It seems like Turn off. I've replaced it but same result.

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4401
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by grantspain » July 15th, 2019, 8:44 pm

to remove the cpu, take a blade and angle it between the edge of cpu and heat sink and then whack it gently but firmly with a small hammer- the cpu will drop off
clean away old heat compound with contact cleaner and reseat cpu making sure all legs are straight and put on some new heat compound

gnomx
Posts: 103
Joined: October 8th, 2013, 9:12 pm
Location: 26
eBay: Cyberfear909
Initials: DED
Contact:

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by gnomx » July 15th, 2019, 9:07 pm

grantspain wrote:
July 15th, 2019, 8:44 MP
to remove the cpu, take a blade and angle it between the edge of cpu and heat sink and then whack it gently but firmly with a small hammer- the cpu will drop off
clean away old heat compound with contact cleaner and reseat cpu making sure all legs are straight and put on some new heat compound
I got it. But same result.
Maybe CPU Burned??

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4401
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by grantspain » July 15th, 2019, 9:45 pm

do you have a atx power supply you can try, use the 24 pin connector only for the atx supply- disconnect both lindbergh psu connectors

gnomx
Posts: 103
Joined: October 8th, 2013, 9:12 pm
Location: 26
eBay: Cyberfear909
Initials: DED
Contact:

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by gnomx » July 15th, 2019, 10:34 pm

grantspain wrote:
July 15th, 2019, 9:45 MP
do you have a atx power supply you can try, use the 24 pin connector only for the atx supply- disconnect both lindbergh psu connectors
Yes I have.
Now I'm using Lindbergh Official power supply.
I will try ATX power Supply now!
Edit : Works!!!!
Image

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4401
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by grantspain » July 16th, 2019, 7:12 am

i would suggest you get a full range high quality 700w atx supply and make some adapter for it to run in the cab

gnomx
Posts: 103
Joined: October 8th, 2013, 9:12 pm
Location: 26
eBay: Cyberfear909
Initials: DED
Contact:

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by gnomx » July 16th, 2019, 8:36 am

grantspain wrote:
July 16th, 2019, 7:12 am
i would suggest you get a full range high quality 700w atx supply and make some adapter for it to run in the cab
Many thanks. Bro I'll get your advice. :)

gnomx
Posts: 103
Joined: October 8th, 2013, 9:12 pm
Location: 26
eBay: Cyberfear909
Initials: DED
Contact:

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by gnomx » July 16th, 2019, 12:25 pm

I have a question bro. Why this Power supply doesn't have power enough to boot it correctly?? Maybe old ??

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4401
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by grantspain » July 16th, 2019, 12:57 pm

the lindbergh psu?
they just go faulty, bloody rubbish imo

gnomx
Posts: 103
Joined: October 8th, 2013, 9:12 pm
Location: 26
eBay: Cyberfear909
Initials: DED
Contact:

Re: SEGA Lindbergh Black Screen LAN Blink

Post by gnomx » July 16th, 2019, 10:11 pm

grantspain wrote:
July 16th, 2019, 12:57 MP
the lindbergh psu?
they just go faulty, bloody rubbish imo
Ah ok. Many thanks dude.
Thanks for all things

Post Reply