Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

For monitor related issues
User avatar
radiantsvgun
Posts: 109
Joined: January 13th, 2009, 9:20 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
eBay: Radiantsvgun
Initials: RIC

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by radiantsvgun » February 25th, 2019, 5:06 am

Follow up with my chassis- it was the flyback. Repair shop said they could not source it or any sort of suitable replacement. They did say if I ever found a working flyback, it would live again.

kuze
Posts: 84
Joined: September 29th, 2013, 5:09 pm
Location:

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by kuze » May 2nd, 2019, 5:25 pm

In my case the PB7534 also had a bad flyback and was deemed irreparable without a replacement.

User avatar
radiantsvgun
Posts: 109
Joined: January 13th, 2009, 9:20 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
eBay: Radiantsvgun
Initials: RIC

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by radiantsvgun » May 3rd, 2019, 12:15 am

My fix was a blast city chassis. Unfortunately those are not easy to find.

kuze
Posts: 84
Joined: September 29th, 2013, 5:09 pm
Location:

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by kuze » May 4th, 2019, 1:03 am

Image

FrankenWindy is alive!! 8-)

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1396
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by nem » May 4th, 2019, 2:20 pm

That cab will clean up really well.

New chassis or whole new monitor?

kuze
Posts: 84
Joined: September 29th, 2013, 5:09 pm
Location:

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by kuze » May 4th, 2019, 5:14 pm

nem wrote:
May 4th, 2019, 2:20 MP
That cab will clean up really well.

New chassis or whole new monitor?
Thanks, yeah the exterior is in pretty decent shape so it should look pretty good once cleaned.

It's the original tube and yoke, but I paired a Nanao MS2933 chassis with it.

I still need to mess with the geometry, hopefully I can get it looking pretty good with the OSD adjustments. Also I'll have to secure the chassis as right now it's propped up by 2x4's I cut about 14" long stacked three high. Without that the neck card cables weren't long enough.

Also I left the degauss disconnected as the cabling/connections are different. Eventually I might make an adapter for them.

User avatar
radiantsvgun
Posts: 109
Joined: January 13th, 2009, 9:20 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
eBay: Radiantsvgun
Initials: RIC

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by radiantsvgun » May 13th, 2019, 7:31 am

I also got mine up and running:

Image

Used Nanao 2930-S, was a perfect drop in other than the length of the neck. Since the blast tube had 0 burn, I swapped both monitor and chassis. The only thing left to do on the cabinet other than the CP is to have this Nanao recapped.

wesker
Posts: 5
Joined: May 3rd, 2010, 9:17 pm
Location:

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by wesker » May 13th, 2019, 8:15 am

Hello whouaa Nice! So i have a samei problem in m'y windy2, the chassis Nanao MS2930s is good for chassis remplacement?
Thanx for your response.

User avatar
radiantsvgun
Posts: 109
Joined: January 13th, 2009, 9:20 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
eBay: Radiantsvgun
Initials: RIC

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by radiantsvgun » May 13th, 2019, 9:21 am

Yes, I have 2930-s in mine, I didn't have to change any connectors. You will need to elevate the chassis somehow, but you shouldnt have the change any connectors.

wesker
Posts: 5
Joined: May 3rd, 2010, 9:17 pm
Location:

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by wesker » May 13th, 2019, 1:44 pm

Nice thx for your0 explication ^^
The chassis 2930s is difficult to find ?

kuze
Posts: 84
Joined: September 29th, 2013, 5:09 pm
Location:

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by kuze » May 13th, 2019, 7:04 pm

radiantsvgun wrote:
May 13th, 2019, 7:31 am
I also got mine up and running:

Image

Used Nanao 2930-S, was a perfect drop in other than the length of the neck. Since the blast tube had 0 burn, I swapped both monitor and chassis. The only thing left to do on the cabinet other than the CP is to have this Nanao recapped.
Looks great dude! What solution did you arrive at for securing the chassis at a raised height?

Also curious what ended up happening to the Blast City that donated its monitor :cry:

User avatar
radiantsvgun
Posts: 109
Joined: January 13th, 2009, 9:20 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
eBay: Radiantsvgun
Initials: RIC

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by radiantsvgun » May 13th, 2019, 8:05 pm

kuze wrote:
May 13th, 2019, 7:04 MP
[quote=radiantsvgun post_id=513806 time=<a href="tel:1557729083">1557729083</a> user_id=687]
I also got mine up and running:

Image

Used Nanao 2930-S, was a perfect drop in other than the length of the neck. Since the blast tube had 0 burn, I swapped both monitor and chassis. The only thing left to do on the cabinet other than the CP is to have this Nanao recapped.
Looks great dude! What solution did you arrive at for securing the chassis at a raised height?

Also curious what ended up happening to the Blast City that donated its monitor :cry:
[/quote]

I sold it locally. The windy has the same tube and I got it working with the chassis, so it’s good. The new owner is going to use a rodotron on it.

kuze
Posts: 84
Joined: September 29th, 2013, 5:09 pm
Location:

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by kuze » May 13th, 2019, 11:48 pm

Right on, sounds like a pretty ideal solution! 8-)

wesker
Posts: 5
Joined: May 3rd, 2010, 9:17 pm
Location:

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by wesker » May 14th, 2019, 3:23 pm

suddenly a question the chassis MS9 strongly resembles the MS2930s is it also compatible?

User avatar
PunkicCyborg
Posts: 38
Joined: May 22nd, 2013, 5:29 pm
Location: Tampa FL
eBay: evan_labit

Re: Konami Windy II Beeping Sound / No Video

Post by PunkicCyborg » May 18th, 2019, 12:15 am

I got my Windy II working with a MS2931 chassis dropped in with the original tube and yoke. I just extended the necessary wires instead of raising the chassis. I also had to modify some connectors to make them fit but that wasn't hard to do and if you are competent with swapping a chassis you should be able to handle it

Post Reply