New Net City Noob - Joystick Mounting Plates

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
Post Reply
User avatar
TwoP
Posts: 8
Joined: February 9th, 2018, 12:02 am
Location: London
eBay: Kaede-uk
Initials: MIK

New Net City Noob - Joystick Mounting Plates

Post by TwoP » August 12th, 2018, 7:28 pm

Hi All,

Hope this is the right forum to post this. I recently purchased a Sega New Net City, and after hefting it into the house we switched it on.

Power comes on fine and we can hear the monitor does the CRT 'donk' sound as it comes on and we can then the high pitched hum indicating it's working. However, we can't work out how to connect it up via VGA to get a picture.

Here's what's inside the base of the cab:
Net Ciy.jpg
We tried hooking up the VGA connector from my old PC running Win XP to the panel on the right which has a VGA IN and two VGA out ports. We used the VGA Output port marked CHN 2 as the tightness of the cable clearly indicated this was the port used previously. (The grey VGA lead won't stretch far enough for the port marked CHN3, where the hell is Channel 1?).
Net3.jpg
When we switched the PC on, the monitor did flash white for a second like it was trying to get a picture, but nothing came out. It kept looping with the white screen flash every 10-15 seconds.

We then tried plugging a more modern Win7 laptop via VGA. However we couldn't get anything out of it. The laptop was registering an external VGA connection as the laptop screen resized to 3:4 ratio but nothing came out on the screen.

When everything is unplugged we do get a really faint 'No Signal' message, which is a bit worrying as I would have thought it would be brighter than that. :problem:
Net4.jpg
There's some buttons underneath the Control Panel, but those don't seem to do anything.

We did some frantic googling but there's not much available in English in terms of how to hook these up to a PC. Although it seems possible given there are vids on Youtube etc. Any help would be really appreciated!

Cheers
Mike
Last edited by TwoP on September 1st, 2018, 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1081
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: New Net City Noob - Connecting via VGA

Post by nem » August 12th, 2018, 9:14 pm

Take off the back cover. It's held on with six Torx screws. Try plugging your PC straight to the monitor.

Also, make sure you're only outputing 640x480 to the monitor. It won't play nice with any higher resolution.

User avatar
TwoP
Posts: 8
Joined: February 9th, 2018, 12:02 am
Location: London
eBay: Kaede-uk
Initials: MIK

Re: New Net City Noob - Connecting via VGA

Post by TwoP » August 12th, 2018, 9:30 pm

Many thanks for the reply, I’ll give this a shot tomorrow evening when I have time. Taking the back cover of the monitor off is ok? I don’t need to worry about discharging the monitor first? (Didn’t realise there would be a vga in hidden in there)

User avatar
Brettster
Posts: 172
Joined: February 21st, 2015, 10:07 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New Net City Noob - Connecting via VGA

Post by Brettster » August 13th, 2018, 1:13 pm

It looks like you have an extra PCB in there to help with linking 2 machines together
the one with the Silver and BLue VGA.
most Pc's will output higher than 640 x 480 at boot time and could damage the monitor
you really need to try this with something you know know is 640 x 480
Looking for More Space!

User avatar
TwoP
Posts: 8
Joined: February 9th, 2018, 12:02 am
Location: London
eBay: Kaede-uk
Initials: MIK

Re: New Net City Noob - Connecting via VGA

Post by TwoP » August 13th, 2018, 5:55 pm

Thanks Brettster, it’s an WinXP era PC, so it can do 640x480, but I need to find a way of certifying it’s at 640x480 or less when it boots at the bios screen. Perhaps I can get it to boot into safe mode.

User avatar
Brettster
Posts: 172
Joined: February 21st, 2015, 10:07 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New Net City Noob - Connecting via VGA

Post by Brettster » August 13th, 2018, 8:25 pm

Unless you have an ultimarc arcade vga card there is a very good chance that the bios and up to windows booting is not 640 x 480
So to be safe boot the pc using a pc monitor drop the res to 640x480 60hz then swap the cable with the NNC for testing
Looking for More Space!

User avatar
TwoP
Posts: 8
Joined: February 9th, 2018, 12:02 am
Location: London
eBay: Kaede-uk
Initials: MIK

Re: New Net City Noob - Connecting via VGA

Post by TwoP » August 19th, 2018, 12:11 am

Hi Brettster, many thanks for your help. After removing the back panel of the monitor, it was just a case of plugging the vga directly in. I booted the PC into windows before connecting it to the cab. Everything looks great. Just need to find a way of ensuring that the pc boots into 640x480.
Attachments
1A1BE0DD-3F0A-4807-90AB-130F1D2E2099.jpeg
AAA5BB27-0BCE-4C11-A924-660FED8435CD.jpeg
AE83238F-9F3C-4FA7-956A-99A98FCEB5AA.jpeg

User avatar
TwoP
Posts: 8
Joined: February 9th, 2018, 12:02 am
Location: London
eBay: Kaede-uk
Initials: MIK

Re: New Net City Noob - Joystick Mounting Plates

Post by TwoP » September 1st, 2018, 11:13 am

Hi again, next noob question! :awe:

I need some sticks (and probably new buttons while I'm at it) for the cab. It actually came with 1 broken and 1 brand new stick, but it was clear they wouldn't fit the plates underneath the control panel and was why they weren't attached when it arrived.

I'd like to install a full 2p set up using Sanwa parts. The buttons should just snap in, but what do I need to do to ensure the joystick can be fixed into the control panel correctly? I guess I need to buy the correct mounting plate but there's not much documentation about which ones fit the New Net City control panel. Here's a couple of shots I took of what's in there currently, the bit that looks like it's the holder for a mounting plate is 76mm across.
IMG_5607[3174].JPG
IMG_5608[3176].JPG
This is gonna be an all mame set up, so the sticks will then need to connect to an iPac device if that matters?

Once again any help gratefully received ;)

User avatar
yosai
280bpm's too slow
Posts: 3501
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London

Re: New Net City Noob - Joystick Mounting Plates

Post by yosai » September 1st, 2018, 11:29 am

Looks like you'll need a JLF flat mounting plate.

https://www.arcadeworlduk.com/products/ ... Plate.html
Image

User avatar
TwoP
Posts: 8
Joined: February 9th, 2018, 12:02 am
Location: London
eBay: Kaede-uk
Initials: MIK

Re: New Net City Noob - Joystick Mounting Plates

Post by TwoP » September 1st, 2018, 11:43 am

Many thanks for the quick reply!! Gotta get rid of these Asahi Seiko buttons lol

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1081
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: New Net City Noob - Joystick Mounting Plates

Post by nem » September 1st, 2018, 12:32 pm

Actually, you don't need a mounting plate at all for a JLF. There's two holes on the plastic body that you put the screws through.

Post Reply