[REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

PCB problems and fixes
User avatar
KmanSweden
KmanSweden
Posts: 1362
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 10:37 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
eBay: KmanSweden
Initials: PKK
Contact:

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by KmanSweden » December 31st, 2014, 8:39 pm

:thumbup: :awe: :thumbupright:
Swaping Korea for hotd would be awesome and also making it netbootable I guess?
Up the Irons!

p1pkin
Posts: 28
Joined: August 7th, 2014, 12:35 am
Location:

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by p1pkin » January 1st, 2015, 10:25 am

thanks for feedback.

and NO, I have no any plans for HOTD2. a lot of boring work because of only one game ? nah

User avatar
uncletom
Posts: 477
Joined: December 18th, 2009, 1:04 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by uncletom » January 6th, 2015, 9:45 pm

I'd like to report an issue, if anybody else would care to confirm it. When I use the multi-region BIOS in my Naomi2, and I netboot 18 Wheeler, it loads and boots but after a short while in demo-play it freezes with a black screen.

If I start a game it will run about to where the map of USA is just before starting, and then freeze with the map picture still on screen.

So an hour ago I swapped back to the EPR-23608B IC and 18 Wheeler runs good, now for about an hour.

This issue regards only 18 Wheeler. I tested Virtua Fighter 4 and King of Route 66, and these games run fine under the Multi-region BIOS.

classiccor83
Please Continue...
Posts: 68
Joined: December 18th, 2013, 10:32 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
eBay: luckiestdcalive
Initials: COR

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by classiccor83 » January 8th, 2015, 12:10 pm

So, excuse my ignorance here, this file would need to be burned to a blank bios chip and then the 4 dip switches next to the "USB" port on the back of the Naomi 2 used to switch to the necessary region?

Is there any advantage of this over using the region changing software for the games if you are netbooting?

Thanks

User avatar
uncletom
Posts: 477
Joined: December 18th, 2009, 1:04 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by uncletom » January 8th, 2015, 12:20 pm

You're not changing the region in software, are you, Classicc?

classiccor83
Please Continue...
Posts: 68
Joined: December 18th, 2013, 10:32 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
eBay: luckiestdcalive
Initials: COR

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by classiccor83 » January 8th, 2015, 12:40 pm

I believe there is a region patcher available that you run on the game files, I'm sure it was coded originally by Deunan, and maybe modified by someone else. I can't remember the original source of the version I have but it is discussed here:

http://dknute.livejournal.com/30670.html?thread=420558

User avatar
uncletom
Posts: 477
Joined: December 18th, 2009, 1:04 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by uncletom » January 8th, 2015, 1:18 pm

Yes. But the problem with the japanese games running under export BIOS is that often there's missing data that is needed for the game to run properly, the text support, objects linking and graphics, like the Virtua Fighter4 Evolution ver.B which has the "Faceless Fighter" under Export BIOS.

http://www.hasntfiguredouthowtoembedyoutubeproperly.com/watch?v=2QgSy2ifOp0"

So even if you will have it boot under other BIOS you will see problems in the game, like the faceless fighter in the above mentioned, missing text/letters/Japanese-sings in Capcom VS SNK PRO, and sometimes game will eventually freeze.

If a gamefile has sufficient data to dislpay and run the program properly, hacked/patched games with previously blocked region will ofcourse run well under any BIOS. What I'm saying is that even if you happily manage to boot a Japanese-only game under Exoprt BIOS, you'd better be sure it has the resources for it to run as well. Booting a game doesn't mean it runs.

darksoft
Posts: 124
Joined: July 8th, 2011, 10:04 pm
Location:
eBay: greenberetfan
Initials: PFG

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by darksoft » January 9th, 2015, 7:59 am

Great Work!

Btw swapping HOTD2 BIOS or integrating it in the BIN will not do much, I've already done that and there are serious graphic glitches related to a different Holly chip.
Arcade Project Master at www.arcade-projects.com

User avatar
rtw
Please Continue...
Posts: 53
Joined: August 25th, 2008, 8:44 am
Location: Norway

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by rtw » January 10th, 2015, 4:29 pm

uncletom wrote:So an hour ago I swapped back to the EPR-23608B IC and 18 Wheeler runs good, now for about an hour.
I see you are on a testing rampage UT :D

What happens if you test your 18 Wheeler with a EPR-23608C BIOS which is what the multi BIOS is based on ?

edit: fixed quote

User avatar
uncletom
Posts: 477
Joined: December 18th, 2009, 1:04 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by uncletom » January 10th, 2015, 4:33 pm

Hi there!

The EPR-23608C? Sorry I don't have that file. Where do I download it?

p1pkin
Posts: 28
Joined: August 7th, 2014, 12:35 am
Location:

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by p1pkin » January 10th, 2015, 9:42 pm


User avatar
uncletom
Posts: 477
Joined: December 18th, 2009, 1:04 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by uncletom » January 10th, 2015, 10:54 pm

Alright. Thanks. I'll be testing this.

User avatar
Mooliecool
Posts: 7
Joined: January 6th, 2015, 11:12 am
Location:
Initials: ZAX

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by Mooliecool » January 11th, 2015, 5:17 am

Awesome! now I can boot all my Naomi games without switching out the bios :D

User avatar
uncletom
Posts: 477
Joined: December 18th, 2009, 1:04 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by uncletom » January 11th, 2015, 9:05 am

Yes. That is good. But how many Japanese-only games are there? Not many I think.

What I've experienced problems with running on Export BIOS was:
Capcom VS SNK PRO
Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution ver.B

What more games are there that really don't work under Export?

User avatar
Tyranix95
Posts: 59
Joined: June 21st, 2012, 12:22 am
Location:

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by Tyranix95 » January 19th, 2015, 12:42 am

p1pkin wrote:thanks for feedback.

and NO, I have no any plans for HOTD2. a lot of boring work because of only one game ? nah
darksoft wrote:Great Work!

Btw swapping HOTD2 BIOS or integrating it in the BIN will not do much, I've already done that and there are serious graphic glitches related to a different Holly chip.
Yea! <Sarc.> :roll:

Hey, what about updating the original HOTD2 Bios with network/compact flash load code?

Think a network/compact flash load HOTD2 bios can be done?

mookie3three
Posts: 14
Joined: July 24th, 2013, 6:46 am
Location: Australia
eBay: adoe546

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by mookie3three » January 25th, 2015, 6:49 am

What type of eprom do you need to burn this to? Awesome work btw.

kuze
Posts: 89
Joined: September 29th, 2013, 5:09 pm
Location:

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by kuze » January 25th, 2015, 4:19 pm

mookie3three wrote:What type of eprom do you need to burn this to? Awesome work btw.
27C160. Seems to work great so far on my Naomi! Thanks for releasing this.

mookie3three
Posts: 14
Joined: July 24th, 2013, 6:46 am
Location: Australia
eBay: adoe546

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by mookie3three » January 28th, 2015, 7:52 am

kuze wrote:
mookie3three wrote:What type of eprom do you need to burn this to? Awesome work btw.
27C160. Seems to work great so far on my Naomi! Thanks for releasing this.
Awesome thanks mate. I'm new to this and just got a programmer a Wellon VP280, and the 27C160 appears to be compatible. So I'll test it out with this Naomi bios.

User avatar
Stompp
Posts: 901
Joined: July 10th, 2012, 10:58 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
eBay: uridium
Initials: DAD
Contact:

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by Stompp » January 28th, 2015, 7:59 am

mookie3three wrote:
kuze wrote:
mookie3three wrote:What type of eprom do you need to burn this to? Awesome work btw.
27C160. Seems to work great so far on my Naomi! Thanks for releasing this.
Awesome thanks mate. I'm new to this and just got a programmer a Wellon VP280, and the 27C160 appears to be compatible. So I'll test it out with this Naomi bios.
Should work like a charm :thumbup:

User avatar
witchfinder
Posts: 16
Joined: July 14th, 2013, 6:59 pm
Location:
eBay: witchfinder
Initials: MAT

Re: [REL] NAOMI Multi-region BIOS

Post by witchfinder » February 1st, 2015, 4:38 pm

uncletom wrote:What more games are there that really don't work under Export?
I can't get Guilty Gear XX Slash to load from GDROM with an Export BIOS installed.

Post Reply