back mounting a monitor

For monitor related issues
Post Reply
300wins
Posts: 52
Joined: March 7th, 2011, 3:21 am
Location: San Jose, CA

back mounting a monitor

Post by 300wins » August 31st, 2011, 12:35 am

I was wondering if there is any guide to back mounting a monitor. I have searched and I can't seem to find it. I am trying to mount a flat CRT (Neiman display) inside my Blast City, using the frames from the original tube. However, once in, the bezel won't fit. I can't seem to get RS to understand what I am trying to buy from them (Akuma on this site mentioned that they monitor frames that would work). Any help is appreciated.

User avatar
yosai
280bpm's too slow
Posts: 3656
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by yosai » August 31st, 2011, 12:46 am

Like this?
seems like the easiest way around this problem is to lower the tube by mounting the screen under the mounting tabs, so essentially, the tube will be supported by nuts and washers at the end of a bolt. This in theory should lower the tube so that the bezel will fit at the expense of some gaps perhaps.
http://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic. ... 8&p=214576"

300wins
Posts: 52
Joined: March 7th, 2011, 3:21 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by 300wins » August 31st, 2011, 1:54 am

Yes, like that. I was hoping someone had a more indept guide with pictures and such. :o

User avatar
yosai
280bpm's too slow
Posts: 3656
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by yosai » August 31st, 2011, 2:21 am

Have you already mounted the monitor on the back of the frame or are you looking for advice on how to?

If it's back mounted already and still won't fit you could always re shape the bezel with a sander.

300wins
Posts: 52
Joined: March 7th, 2011, 3:21 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by 300wins » August 31st, 2011, 2:42 am

I am looking for advice on how to do it properly. That is why I was hoping someone would have a guide or pictures or something.

User avatar
KmanSweden
KmanSweden
Posts: 1362
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 10:37 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
eBay: KmanSweden
Initials: PKK
Contact:

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by KmanSweden » August 31st, 2011, 6:40 am

Something like this?
1.) Remove bezel and stuff that covers the monitor.
2.) Prepare the monitor to be removed from the cab (loosen cabels, and unbolt the monitor from the cab)
3.) Lift the monitor out and place it on the floor. Note: Do not place it tube-down.
4.) Unscrew one of the top corners from the frame and simply pull the frame up and over the monitors fastening "ear".
5.) Fasten the screw again from the back side and you should have something looking like in the pics below
Image
Image
6.) Repeat on the other top corner.
7.) Repeat on one of the bottom corners. At this stage you have to pick up the weight of the monitor to let the frame slide under the monitor fastening "ear".
8.) And finally do the last corner.
9.) Put monitor back in cab. (The trick here is to hang it on the top bolts of the cab and then losen the screws on the frame a little so that the bottom bolts fit through the frame again. When they are all aligned again and the monitor is hanging nicely on the bolts again you should thighten the screws and nuts to secure the monitor to the cab.)

It turned out like this...
Image
Up the Irons!

300wins
Posts: 52
Joined: March 7th, 2011, 3:21 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by 300wins » August 31st, 2011, 5:27 pm

Thank you. That was very helpful. What cab did you do that to?

User avatar
thomj
Just a few screws loose
Posts: 1732
Joined: June 13th, 2010, 12:05 am
Location: East Yorkshire
Initials: TWJ

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by thomj » August 31st, 2011, 5:36 pm

astro :awe:

User avatar
KmanSweden
KmanSweden
Posts: 1362
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 10:37 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
eBay: KmanSweden
Initials: PKK
Contact:

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by KmanSweden » August 31st, 2011, 7:34 pm

thomj wrote:astro :awe:
Yeah, Sega Astro City FTW! :D
Up the Irons!

thebutcherjb
Posts: 5
Joined: September 27th, 2008, 3:08 am
Location:

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by thebutcherjb » May 6th, 2012, 6:47 pm

Awesome tutorial, it helped me put in my monitor as well. Made a video on what I did.
http://youtu.be/MLbDEsv_-uA"
Xbox Live & Twitter: TheButcherJB
My YouTube Channel (updated 9/28/2008)

User avatar
idc
Posts: 1338
Joined: October 16th, 2008, 9:17 pm
Location: Tamworth, Staffordshire
Initials: IAN
Contact:

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by idc » May 6th, 2012, 9:49 pm

300wins wrote:Yes, like that. I was hoping someone had a more indept guide with pictures and such. :o
Totally interpreted that as "inept guide" at first, before I realise it's an in-depth guide you want. :awe:
ImageImageImageImage
Image

User avatar
Rossyra
Supermod
Posts: 8256
Joined: February 12th, 2009, 1:24 am
Location: UK

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by Rossyra » May 6th, 2012, 10:00 pm

What's the problem with putting the tube face down?

If you've ever had to remove a monitor with no frame, there's not a lot of options.

Never had a problem myself as long as it's on a towel or something.
Image

User avatar
KmanSweden
KmanSweden
Posts: 1362
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 10:37 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
eBay: KmanSweden
Initials: PKK
Contact:

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by KmanSweden » May 7th, 2012, 6:08 am

Rossyra wrote:What's the problem with putting the tube face down?

If you've ever had to remove a monitor with no frame, there's not a lot of options.

Never had a problem myself as long as it's on a towel or something.
O'course you can place your monitor with the tube down if you don't have a frame but that raises another question..
How do you hang your monitor behind the frame if you didn't have a frame? :palm: :D

If you have a frame I found it easier to "lift" the corners of the frame up and over the ear of the monitor, rather than to pull the frame out and over and at the same time hold the monitor in place on a towel, face down. But maybe I'm wrong. Why don't you try both ways and take some pics? Or why not make a vid about it and put it on Youtube? That would be :awe:
Up the Irons!

User avatar
KmanSweden
KmanSweden
Posts: 1362
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 10:37 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
eBay: KmanSweden
Initials: PKK
Contact:

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by KmanSweden » May 7th, 2012, 6:22 am

thebutcherjb wrote:Awesome tutorial, it helped me put in my monitor as well. Made a video on what I did.
http://youtu.be/MLbDEsv_-uA"
:shock: Snaping the bolts in two really added to your workload. But the end result looks great. :)
Well done.
Up the Irons!

User avatar
orio1
Posts: 125
Joined: October 31st, 2013, 9:45 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
eBay: e.bay
Initials: OEO

Re: back mounting a monitor

Post by orio1 » May 27th, 2014, 12:51 pm

Thanks so much for this !!Its always easier to read a picture book....Now to strap on some muscles :D

Post Reply