Can you run a MODEL 2C CRX in 15khz mode?

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
panzeroceania
Posts: 17
Joined: February 12th, 2010, 12:47 pm
Location: Salem, OR -- USA
eBay: panzer0688
Initials: TDL
Contact:

Can you run a MODEL 2C CRX in 15khz mode?

Post by panzeroceania » March 10th, 2011, 1:28 am

Hello chaps,

I recently got a Sega MODEL 2C CRX with Sega Water Ski on ebay and was trying to get it up and running.

It came with a Mainboard, Gameboard, Cage, Video Board, and a Happ power supply (I live in Oregon, USA, and most likely the person that used it before me used it in an arcade in the USA)

In any case I don't have any cabs but I did manage to get the power supply working with a 3 plug power cable I have, and also got 4 BNC connector cables for the video board.

Here is the problem. The board traditionally ran at 24khz, and all I have is a 15khz television.

Does anyone know if you can, and how to put the MODEL 2C CRX w/ Sega Water Ski into 15khz mode?

any information would be greatly appriciated.

User avatar
Akuma
Can't stay away from students
Posts: 2355
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 11:29 am
Location: near Düsseldorf, Germany
eBay: Akuma.from.the.Arcade

Re: Can you run a MODEL 2C CRX in 15khz mode?

Post by Akuma » March 10th, 2011, 1:39 am

No, you'd need a 24kHz to 15 kkHz converter for that (if this one does exist at all)

panzeroceania
Posts: 17
Joined: February 12th, 2010, 12:47 pm
Location: Salem, OR -- USA
eBay: panzer0688
Initials: TDL
Contact:

Re: Can you run a MODEL 2C CRX in 15khz mode?

Post by panzeroceania » March 10th, 2011, 1:49 am

hmm, or a new monitor. Well that's a shame, thanks for letting me know though.

User avatar
Shou
Posts: 580
Joined: August 25th, 2009, 4:45 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
Initials: SHO

Re: Can you run a MODEL 2C CRX in 15khz mode?

Post by Shou » March 10th, 2011, 2:48 am

Akuma wrote:No, you'd need a 24kHz to 15 kkHz converter for that (if this one does exist at all)
Once upon a time, Micomsoft made a downscan convertor for this called the XVGA-1v. I have a few that I've used for 24khz PCBs in the past.

SuperDeadite
Posts: 108
Joined: January 21st, 2010, 4:49 pm
Location: Japan
Initials: ETP
Contact:

Re: Can you run a MODEL 2C CRX in 15khz mode?

Post by SuperDeadite » March 10th, 2011, 3:18 am

The XPC-4 supports 24khz, though it's really expensive.
Stronger then your average deadite.

panzeroceania
Posts: 17
Joined: February 12th, 2010, 12:47 pm
Location: Salem, OR -- USA
eBay: panzer0688
Initials: TDL
Contact:

Re: Can you run a MODEL 2C CRX in 15khz mode?

Post by panzeroceania » March 10th, 2011, 5:15 am

and when you say the XPC-4 supports 24 khz, you mean it could convert it to 15khz or 31 khz?

User avatar
NASguy
Posts: 353
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 3:37 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Can you run a MODEL 2C CRX in 15khz mode?

Post by NASguy » March 10th, 2011, 6:24 am

All model 2/3 stuff is medium res. That was the pain of buying those boards in the 90s (if you had a cab), they wouldn't even work on an old supergun I had, it only converted low res.

Would a Super Emotia work?

Would upscaling the signal to VGA work? (and maybe scaling it back down to 15khz?)

May be your only option.

SuperDeadite
Posts: 108
Joined: January 21st, 2010, 4:49 pm
Location: Japan
Initials: ETP
Contact:

Re: Can you run a MODEL 2C CRX in 15khz mode?

Post by SuperDeadite » March 10th, 2011, 12:29 pm

panzeroceania wrote:and when you say the XPC-4 supports 24 khz, you mean it could convert it to 15khz or 31 khz?
Correct. I have never used one personally, but one of the features advertised is that it can accept and convert 24khz video.
The newest firmware revision adds 15khz output, so it should work in theory. Be aware though, it was designed
for old NEC 24khz computers. It does not officially support PCBs so it should work, but may not (similar to the XRGB-3).
Either way it's a very expensive piece of kit. You can probably get 3 or more decent dual-sync monitors for the same price.
Stronger then your average deadite.

Post Reply