[HELP] Namco System 357 issues

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
eathis
Posts: 36
Joined: October 27th, 2009, 2:50 pm
Location:

[HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by eathis » October 24th, 2012, 2:11 am

Hi everybody,

I need some help about a Namco System 357 mobo I received with Tekken 6 Bloodline Rebellion.

I plug it in jamma by using a Capcom converter (Capcom I/O board) on my supergun (an Astro City style supergun with a Weiya arcade power unit inside).
I plug it as others JVS systems:
_RCA on the Capcom converter for the sound
_USB on the Capcom converter for the controls
_VGA directly from the system 357 to a computer monitor
_I powered the system 357 with 110V converter (System 357 is 110V only and in France we got 220V so I use a 110V converter)
_I put the USB dongle on the USB port 1
_I put the dipswitch 2 on: "ON" to be in 31Hz
ImageImageImageImageImage

The mobo turns ON and the fan is working but I don't have any video (nothing appears the monitor stay on "No signal").

Did somebody know if I have to plug something else?
I've read on the net that another cable is needed to have the +12V but I really don't know if it's true or not. Here:
Image

Another question, did somebody knows what the HDMI is used for?

If you got some infos or pictures it will be very appreciate.

Thanks a lot for your help everybody

eathis
Posts: 36
Joined: October 27th, 2009, 2:50 pm
Location:

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by eathis » October 24th, 2012, 10:35 am

Looks like I got the answer to my problem.
The System 357 need the +12V and the only way to have it is to use the connector with "DC IN" you can see on one of the pictures.

I'll made some tests and post pictures if it work

If you got informations about this system don't hesitate here to post please
Like the list of the dipswitches or anything else, thanks guys

User avatar
subbie
Posts: 402
Joined: August 12th, 2010, 4:37 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by subbie » October 25th, 2012, 1:30 am

Hi,
few questions.

1. What is the pinout of the DC port at the bottom?
2. Does it need both the power plug and the DC port to function?
3. Any chance did you get a service manual with yours?
Namco System 246/256/357 Software List
******** Help Fill in the blanks *******
http://www.smalllinks.com/P60" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

eathis
Posts: 36
Joined: October 27th, 2009, 2:50 pm
Location:

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by eathis » October 27th, 2012, 6:55 pm

I'm not really sure for the moment but it seems that the little "DC IN" port is the +12V.
One connector for a GND and the other for the +12V I think.
The game don't start if the +12V isn't connected.
I need to do some test to be really sure.

You need both DC and the power plug. DC is only for +12V

I have a manual but all in japanese, I don't read japanese

User avatar
subbie
Posts: 402
Joined: August 12th, 2010, 4:37 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by subbie » October 28th, 2012, 3:12 am

Any chance you can check the manual for the pinout on the 12v plug? (should say if pin 1 or 2 is +12 and which is gnd). Just look in the pack pages for the wire diagram.

I recently got 2 junked LM to toy with for cheap (one I have now and the other on it's way) but I don't have a service manual for them. =/
Namco System 246/256/357 Software List
******** Help Fill in the blanks *******
http://www.smalllinks.com/P60" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Jan
“Egrets, I’ve had a few...”
Posts: 3553
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 7:56 pm
Location: Germany
eBay: voll gerne

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by Jan » October 28th, 2012, 9:49 am

have you tried the hdmi port ?

i don`t get why it would need external +12V, makes no sense with a build in psu.

have you opened it up to check if no cables are loose ?

User avatar
nvs
Posts: 170
Joined: September 5th, 2009, 4:34 am
Location: Inbetween

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by nvs » October 28th, 2012, 11:12 am

Yes, you'll need 12V DC to the 2-pin connector as you've mentioned. It powers the JVS board (which the video signal also feeds through, iirc).

Can't remember the pinout off the top of my head, but shouldn't be hard to figure out. I can dig out one to confirm if you're stuck.
..!

User avatar
Jan
“Egrets, I’ve had a few...”
Posts: 3553
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 7:56 pm
Location: Germany
eBay: voll gerne

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by Jan » October 28th, 2012, 11:27 am

so your basicly saying they use an externally powered i/o to convert the ps3 to jvs ? :wtf:

if thats the case , you should still be able to get a picture via hdmi , even without the 12v for the i/o.

User avatar
subbie
Posts: 402
Joined: August 12th, 2010, 4:37 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by subbie » October 28th, 2012, 3:00 pm

From what I see with mine. The Power cable is plugging directly into the PS3 hardware. The 12v goes directly to the Namco Interface PCB which is used to power it.

It could just be a case of mine being busted but when you power just the PS3 portion it turns on then beeps to turn off. The Namco PCB interfaces with the PS3 via USB port. As well it looks to get an additional cable to the board (didn't trace long enough to see where it leads).

I think you can still run the 357 with HDMI out but you still need to power the namco board as it controls the PS3. I didn't try plugging a controller in to see if you can't get the PS3 to turn over with out the namco board.

nvs,
If you could dig up the pinout that would be great. I'd rather not get the pinout wrong and fry the board (tried looking at the interface PCB but it still wasn't quite clear which is witch). By general guess i'm thinking Pin 1 is 12v by default.
Namco System 246/256/357 Software List
******** Help Fill in the blanks *******
http://www.smalllinks.com/P60" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Jan
“Egrets, I’ve had a few...”
Posts: 3553
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 7:56 pm
Location: Germany
eBay: voll gerne

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by Jan » October 31st, 2012, 8:10 am

that is so dumb.

did the official kit come with a 12V psu ?

User avatar
subbie
Posts: 402
Joined: August 12th, 2010, 4:37 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by subbie » October 31st, 2012, 4:58 pm

Yes a proper kit should include one.
Namco System 246/256/357 Software List
******** Help Fill in the blanks *******
http://www.smalllinks.com/P60" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
nvs
Posts: 170
Joined: September 5th, 2009, 4:34 am
Location: Inbetween

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by nvs » October 31st, 2012, 9:00 pm

subbie wrote:
It could just be a case of mine being busted but when you power just the PS3 portion it turns on then beeps to turn off.

nvs,
If you could dig up the pinout that would be great. I'd rather not get the pinout wrong and fry the board (tried looking at the interface PCB but it still wasn't quite clear which is witch). By general guess i'm thinking Pin 1 is 12v by default.
I'm afraid that sounds like it's busted.

Will take a look on the weekend for the pinout details.
..!

User avatar
subbie
Posts: 402
Joined: August 12th, 2010, 4:37 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by subbie » November 1st, 2012, 2:57 am

nvs wrote:I'm afraid that sounds like it's busted.
Will take a look on the weekend for the pinout details.
It's very possible probable but I want to try the 12v. If it is though it should give a better beep error then it did (single beep same if power was turned on or off).
Namco System 246/256/357 Software List
******** Help Fill in the blanks *******
http://www.smalllinks.com/P60" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Jackalus
Please Continue...
Posts: 54
Joined: June 27th, 2011, 9:11 am
Location: Finland
eBay: c0de187

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by Jackalus » March 17th, 2013, 5:26 pm

Did you guys ever solve these issues?

User avatar
subbie
Posts: 402
Joined: August 12th, 2010, 4:37 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by subbie » March 19th, 2013, 1:23 am

Me? Nope. I kind of got a bit side tracked. Still not sure what is the proper wiring for that plug. =(
Namco System 246/256/357 Software List
******** Help Fill in the blanks *******
http://www.smalllinks.com/P60" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Jackalus
Please Continue...
Posts: 54
Joined: June 27th, 2011, 9:11 am
Location: Finland
eBay: c0de187

Re: [HELP] Namco System 357 issues

Post by Jackalus » March 19th, 2013, 11:15 am

You mean +12V ?

How about you took a multimeter and put first pin on 110V Ground and 2nd pin to other of the connector pins. (With the beep setting on that detects contact)

Would reveal you in 10 seconds that:
Pin 1: Voltage
Pin 2: GND

I am getting my System 357 GPU reballed this week :)

Post Reply