Froztbite repair logs

Fixed a PCB? Tell us how!
Forum rules
You can add Repair Logs to the Wiki here.
froztbite
eBay: froztbite2003
Initials: VKR

Froztbite repair logs

Post by froztbite »

Hi, i'm still a humble novice in learning so I try to absorb a lot from other people repair logs. I have a background in software but not in hardware side so a lot of this is learning as I go. I however like to spread my fixes to as many place as possible so a fellow enthusiast might find a solution or idea to their own fixes. I have posted some of these for example in arcade-musem forums but not everyone occupies every forum or google search picks up on everything.

I will try to contain single fix into a single post with photos. I'm happy to discuss on the fixes but please don't expect deep knowledge on my part :)
Last edited by froztbite on September 18th, 2021, 1:31 am, edited 2 times in total.
froztbite

Re: Froztbite repair logs

Post by froztbite »

Game PCB: New Dynablaster - Global Quest / New Atomic Punk - Global Quest / Bomber Man World (different name for each region)

Symptom: No volume and low volume image is ok. Adjusting the volume slighly higher started to show pulsating image and when volume was high enough the image would stay fuzzy all the time.

Steps to find solution:
  • Found a few other repair logs through google where all had one or multiple capacitor gone bad on this PCB. One repair log in particular had similar symptoms description and they replaced the largest one in the audio section.
  • Desoldered the suspected bad capacitor and replaced with a new one.

Repair: Replaced a capacitor gone bad in sound circuit which was affecting image when volume was high enough.

Disclimer: I replaced every capacitor just in case after I verified the fix. My tester at least reported one of the smaller ones to be faulty as well, but didn't notice any difference in the game behaviour after replacing it. This is not visible in the pictures.

Normal Image