Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

For monitor related issues
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4615
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by FrancoB » April 1st, 2011, 5:13 pm

:awe: :awe: :awe: :awe: :awe: A quick tweak and :awe: :awe: :awe: :awe: :awe:

Image

Image

I've changed between 15kHz and 24kHz a few time on the MS9/UVC and its synced to both with no issues so we know we can swap between them without any whistling/noises etc.

Now to wire the relays etc......

User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6400
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Initials: JOR

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by emphatic » April 1st, 2011, 5:23 pm

:thumbup:

It was the H.H. 24 pot then? Shall I prepare my popcorn now?

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4615
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by FrancoB » April 1st, 2011, 5:28 pm

Yep, thats the one :)

Hopefully there won't be any fireworks to go with your popcorn :awe:

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4615
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by FrancoB » April 1st, 2011, 9:46 pm

No fireworks I'm afraid but it only **** works doesn't it :D

Relays wired:

Image

Plugged in:

Image

I'm temporarily using a Jamma passthough and a SPST switch for power for the moment but I have something nicer, and neater planned :)

Image

Installed everything back in the cab and it works great, 360 games look great at 24kHz :)

User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6400
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Initials: JOR

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by emphatic » April 1st, 2011, 10:20 pm

Wow that's awesome! :clap: Now make me one. :awe:

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4615
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by FrancoB » April 1st, 2011, 10:34 pm

I have two sets of relays and switches if you want one of them.

I also have enough of the sockets etc you sent me to do another one. The only thing I don't have enough of are the female pins for the sockets. I only just had enough to do the ones for mine. If you have any more of them that you can send I will happily make you one.

If anyone else needs one I have another set of relays/switched too. I bought three sets to get free shipping from Maplins. If no one wants it/them I'll just return them to the store ;)

purplec
Posts: 610
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by purplec » April 1st, 2011, 10:34 pm

emphatic wrote:Wow that's awesome! :clap: Now make me one. :awe:
me too, or else post some nice detailed pictures top show man :awe: :awe: :awe: :awe: :awe:

User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6400
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Initials: JOR

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by emphatic » April 1st, 2011, 10:47 pm

FrancoB wrote:I have two sets of relays and switches if you want one of them.

I also have enough of the sockets etc you sent me to do another one. The only thing I don't have enough of are the female pins for the sockets. I only just had enough to do the ones for mine. If you have any more of them that you can send I will happily make you one.

If anyone else needs one I have another set of relays/switched too. I bought three sets to get free shipping from Maplins. If no one wants it/them I'll just return them to the store ;)
I'll take a relay set, please. Unfortunately, I have a shitload of the male connectors and the female housings, but only 10 female pins (enough to make me one of these). So am I correct in assuming that I only need to apply +12V power when the relay needs to switch from 15kHz to 24kHz? This way I could just hook the power and ground up to the JAMMA fingerboard that's powering my UVC and running the video into the JAMMA harness, right? So when I wanna play a PCB, I just unplug the UVC setup and the relay goes into passive mode (15kHz)?

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4615
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by FrancoB » April 1st, 2011, 10:56 pm

Okay buddy, do you want to send me the pins or do you want me to send you the relays etc?

I'm easy either way :)

In regards to power you are correct. With no power its @ 15kHz, with 12v applied it switches to 24kHz.

I have the exact same idea as you, I am going to have a little 12v 2pin plug coming from my UVC/PS360/Dreams enclosure :)
purplec wrote:
emphatic wrote:Wow that's awesome! :clap: Now make me one. :awe:
me too, or else post some nice detailed pictures top show man :awe: :awe: :awe: :awe: :awe:
There is a wiring diagram on the previous page that should help, if you need to know anything else just let me know :)

User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6400
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Initials: JOR

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by emphatic » April 1st, 2011, 11:04 pm

I'll send you some connectors, tiger. :P Btw, what happens to the relay if the power would drop? I imagine it wouldn't be very good for the chassis if the relay would start switching while the chassis is powered. :think:

User avatar
pubjoe
Fosters Political Ambitions
Posts: 9745
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 8:58 am
Location:

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by pubjoe » April 2nd, 2011, 12:02 am

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Nice one FrancoB

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4615
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by FrancoB » April 2nd, 2011, 9:30 am

Cheers Joe :)
emphatic wrote:I'll send you some connectors, tiger. :P Btw, what happens to the relay if the power would drop? I imagine it wouldn't be very good for the chassis if the relay would start switching while the chassis is powered. :think:
Ok, I'll get on it. I'll probably solder your terminals rather than using quick disconnects as we will get a better connection. I only used quick disconnects on mine as I didn't know if it worked and if it didn't I wanted to be able to return the relays.

In regards to losing 12v if the power dropped, yes it would switch to 15kHz. I can really see this being a problem though as I think the likely hood of only losing 12v to be very unlikely.

User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6400
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Initials: JOR

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by emphatic » April 2nd, 2011, 11:24 am

FrancoB wrote:Ok, I'll get on it. I'll probably solder your terminals rather than using quick disconnects as we will get a better connection. I only used quick disconnects on mine as I didn't know if it worked and if it didn't I wanted to be able to return the relays.

In regards to losing 12v if the power dropped, yes it would switch to 15kHz. I can really see this being a problem though as I think the likely hood of only losing 12v to be very unlikely.
Awesomecakes. I'll get the connectors sent to you ASAP, let me know if you're looking for something arcade parts related right now and I'll include it in the package. :mrgreen:

User avatar
monouchi
Polishing his shaft
Posts: 1079
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 6:16 pm
Location: Sweden
eBay: monouchi_jn
Initials: BUS

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by monouchi » April 2nd, 2011, 11:44 am

I definitly want one set! :)

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4615
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by FrancoB » April 2nd, 2011, 12:17 pm

emphatic wrote:
Awesomecakes. I'll get the connectors sent to you ASAP, let me know if you're looking for something arcade parts related right now and I'll include it in the package. :mrgreen:
The relays were £5.09 each so as long as you pay for them I will do everything else :)
monouchi wrote:I definitly want one set! :)
Ok, just so you know I can't wire them up for you as we don't have any more of the female crimps.

Actually, I could wire the male connector on for you if you like but you would need to source the other parts.

Same as with emph, just pay for the relays and shipping and I'll do the rest.

User avatar
monouchi
Polishing his shaft
Posts: 1079
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 6:16 pm
Location: Sweden
eBay: monouchi_jn
Initials: BUS

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by monouchi » April 2nd, 2011, 12:23 pm

FrancoB wrote:
emphatic wrote:
monouchi wrote:I definitly want one set! :)
Ok, just so you know I can't wire them up for you as we don't have any more of the female crimps.

Actually, I could wire the male connector on for you if you like but you would need to source the other parts.
No problem, I can fix that myself. :)
Cheers

User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6400
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Initials: JOR

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by emphatic » April 2nd, 2011, 12:26 pm

@ FrancoB: Yep, I'll pay up of course.

@ monouchi: I think I'm gonna get some more of those female pins. No sense in having the connectors without any pins. :awe: Just gonna find the seller on eBay again.

Edit: Just ordered more pins. What do you say, fellas, should we keep cool until those land here and I'll supply Franco so he can finish them up 100%?

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4615
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by FrancoB » April 2nd, 2011, 3:58 pm

That's fine with me.

I'll double check what housings etc I have too. Do you have some more of them if required emph?

User avatar
pubjoe
Fosters Political Ambitions
Posts: 9745
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 8:58 am
Location:

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by pubjoe » April 2nd, 2011, 4:41 pm

I'd be straight on top of Frankie Baby right now with sweet-talk, but due to a sudden economic downturd, I'm not sure if I'll still have my egret2 in the near future. I'll see how it goes, but ~£600 would be looking a lot nicer than a mode switching MS9 to me right now. :(

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4615
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Remote for 15/24kHz switching on Nanao MS9

Post by FrancoB » April 2nd, 2011, 5:12 pm

:cry:

Post Reply