Aero City (Sanwa PM1736) screeching and messed up image

For monitor related issues
Matthijs
Please Continue...
Aero City (Sanwa PM1736) screeching and messed up image

Post by Matthijs »

Hi everyone,

When I fired up my Aero City today for the first time in awhile, the image was all scrambled and the monitor made a horrible screetching sound.

I'm a total monitor novice and haven't had the chance to get the cab open yet to see if something obvious was wrong (i.e. a blown cap or something). Anyone know what could be the issue and how fixable it is?

I made a quick clip of it running Puzzle Bobble 4: https://www.youtube.com/shorts/YiOQckyFktU

As always, really appreciate all your insights! Many thanks!
Last edited by Matthijs on September 10th, 2022, 1:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
thegreathopper
Geese's Bodyguard
eBay: thegreathopper
Initials: STV

Re: Aero City (Nanao MS8?) screeching and messed up image

Post by thegreathopper »

The great thing about an Aero is the monitor is in a frame and very easy to remove, You want to get that puppy out and have a good look at the chassis.

Before removing make sure you disconnect cables first, power and video cable.

No idea on that fault but after owning a couple of Aeros I know those MS8’s need maintaining and that the monitors take just a couple of minutes to remove.

Good luck don’t forget to turn off first, the High Voltage side is not an issue yet as removing the chassis from the whole monitor leaves the fat red wire in place.
Matthijs
Please Continue...

Post by Matthijs »

thegreathopper wrote: September 10th, 2022, 7:09 am The great thing about an Aero is the monitor is in a frame and very easy to remove, You want to get that puppy out and have a good look at the chassis.

Before removing make sure you disconnect cables first, power and video cable.

No idea on that fault but after owning a couple of Aeros I know those MS8’s need maintaining and that the monitors take just a couple of minutes to remove.