Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

For monitor related issues
Post Reply
User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 21
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by RKDE » June 3rd, 2019, 10:18 pm

Hi

Another question... :D

I have been looking around for an answer on this. Why will a pandoras box 31k output not sync with a Nanao 31k tube through VGA?

Has anyone got this to work, are there certain versions that put out a proper 31k so a Tube can sync properly?

My 15k tubes seem to be going out and hope to use a 31k only tube.

Thanks for any info.

Rob

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4435
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by grantspain » June 4th, 2019, 6:21 am

its probably to do with combined or separate sync wiring in the vga cable

User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 21
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Re: Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by RKDE » June 7th, 2019, 3:11 am

grantspain wrote:
June 4th, 2019, 6:21 am
its probably to do with combined or separate sync wiring in the vga cable

Thanks, any possible ideas on making it work?

Rob

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4435
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by grantspain » June 7th, 2019, 6:55 am

are you using the cab vga cable?

User avatar
gitanes
Posts: 7
Joined: June 1st, 2009, 1:54 pm
Location:

Re: Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by gitanes » June 7th, 2019, 12:53 pm

I think output from your pandora's VGA port is not VGA(640x480, 31KHz).
It will be SVGA(800x600, 37KHz).
So Blast Monitor cannot sync it.

User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 21
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Re: Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by RKDE » June 7th, 2019, 3:28 pm

grantspain wrote:
June 7th, 2019, 6:55 am
are you using the cab vga cable?
Not at the moment. I have a newer VGA cable

Rob

User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 21
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Re: Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by RKDE » June 7th, 2019, 3:32 pm

gitanes wrote:
June 7th, 2019, 12:53 MP
I think output from your pandora's VGA port is not VGA(640x480, 31KHz).
It will be SVGA(800x600, 37KHz).
So Blast Monitor cannot sync it.
Hi

I see, that would cause it to not sync. I guess it needs an adapter of some sort.

Thanks

Rob

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1500
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by nem » June 7th, 2019, 5:03 pm

You could connect it to a LCD monitor and see what resolution it's outputting.

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4435
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by grantspain » June 7th, 2019, 6:09 pm

nem wrote:
June 7th, 2019, 5:03 MP
You could connect it to a LCD monitor and see what resolution it's outputting.
that is a very logical and good idea

User avatar
RKDE
Posts: 21
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:58 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
eBay: agile00
Initials: RWF

Re: Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by RKDE » June 7th, 2019, 7:59 pm

nem wrote:
June 7th, 2019, 5:03 MP
You could connect it to a LCD monitor and see what resolution it's outputting.

Great idea. I will try that

Thanks

Rob

User avatar
Flinnster
Posts: 338
Joined: September 19th, 2016, 12:06 am
Location: Surrey
eBay: flinnster
Initials: KID

Re: Nano 31k Pandoras Box Sync Issue

Post by Flinnster » June 9th, 2019, 2:29 am

I had similar on one of FrancoB's old 31Khz monitors in a DIno King.
Syncs fiiiine to Naomi, but not to Pandora's Box.
WTD: Outrun DLX Cab, Rolling Thunder, Dino King Rear Door, Coin Box, Coin Chute

Post Reply