Wei ya 3129 image not wide enough

For monitor related issues
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
Post Reply
User avatar
darkcrono
Posts: 107
Joined: August 7th, 2013, 1:59 pm
Location: Spain
Initials: ISF

Wei ya 3129 image not wide enough

Post by darkcrono » December 16th, 2018, 11:41 am

Yup, i cleaned the remote board, but didn't work quite well, but i have another wei-ya around and swapped remotes, my problem now is that image does not open full screen horizontal, in 15khz it's almost full, but in 31khz (x360) its like almost an inch black on each side.

Chassis says 3129D in a coil, but in the heatsink around the flyback says ching tao trading limited, remote board says 3129A RC and tube is A68KKN96X can't really identify the yoke, but i think 3129 and this tube is usual match, so i must believe is a genuine Combo not modified.

Update: not combo, i suppose is swapped ms9 or something

Last edited by darkcrono on December 18th, 2018, 8:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
darkcrono
Posts: 107
Joined: August 7th, 2013, 1:59 pm
Location: Spain
Initials: ISF

Re: Wei ya 3129 not opening horizontal enough

Post by darkcrono » December 17th, 2018, 7:36 pm

As i'm gathering info on this topic i see that there is a b+ pot for each sync, as i read from a user with the opposite problem, too wide, the proposed solution was to lower b+, should i go increase b+? Is it safe to fiddle with this pot?

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4316
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Wei ya 3129 image not wide enough

Post by grantspain » December 17th, 2018, 10:25 pm

what cab is this in?

User avatar
darkcrono
Posts: 107
Joined: August 7th, 2013, 1:59 pm
Location: Spain
Initials: ISF

Re: Wei ya 3129 image not wide enough

Post by darkcrono » December 18th, 2018, 5:59 am

Now is inside an Atomiswave SD but, i don't know where it does come from, i have swapped it with the original samsung weiya combo because the couriers felt like dropping the cab to the floor :( the original tube seems to be fine (or almost) but the chasis had some retrace then too dark, and now the neck doesn't glow, managed to find this combo but it is not dual focus so i cant really try the original tube, nonetheless image is acceptable to fine in the toshiba 3129 combo, i think y read some sticker saying 3129BE.

thanks.

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4316
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Wei ya 3129 image not wide enough

Post by grantspain » December 18th, 2018, 6:25 am

there are many revisions of weiya 3129 and each are matched to particular tube/yoke combinations
3129b are matched to nanao ms2930/2931 original config, running at around 0.195mh horizontal inductance
so you need to know the original chassis or read the inductance/impedance of the deflection yoke

b+ should be set as per manufacturers guidelines and should not set too far off off of these levels, if the chassis is correct revision and b+ is set within range then a hv cap in the horizontal circuit would be the logical part to replace

b+ settings are in the wiki

User avatar
darkcrono
Posts: 107
Joined: August 7th, 2013, 1:59 pm
Location: Spain
Initials: ISF

Re: Wei ya 3129 image not wide enough

Post by darkcrono » December 18th, 2018, 4:25 pm

To the best of my knowledge i could say its a ms8 yoke
It's now starting to click when i feed 31khz video, and it goes out if sync.

When in 15khz it's fine tho...


User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4316
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Wei ya 3129 image not wide enough

Post by grantspain » December 18th, 2018, 5:01 pm

if it is ms8-29 original tube/yoke then the 3129b is not right for it- you would need to change hv caps and a resistor in the vertical circuit- like i said b+ should be same as rodotron 666a if it was a 3129a chassis

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4316
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Wei ya 3129 image not wide enough

Post by grantspain » December 18th, 2018, 5:03 pm

i can see at least 1 bad 10uf 450v cap on the first photo, what is written on the label on the side of the chassis where the flyback is, there should be a sticker

User avatar
darkcrono
Posts: 107
Joined: August 7th, 2013, 1:59 pm
Location: Spain
Initials: ISF

Re: Wei ya 3129 image not wide enough

Post by darkcrono » December 18th, 2018, 5:27 pm

Wow, incredible perception you have there, the place where the weiya sticker should be has some chinese sticker and does not seem to be covering the weiya one...


Post Reply