Page 1 of 2

Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 18th, 2018, 4:03 am
by Rezwalker
Hi guys

i got a small issue with my E2
did a full cap kit today everything went smoothly
it did correct the shacking issue and fix the goe issue too

but it didnt fix a small coloring issue i have
i made a couple of picture to show you guys to get some intel on how to fix it before i begin messing with the chassis
As you can see on the left side of the screen its a bit more darker or purple ish and i find it annoying
is it fixable by a external degauss since the E2 as auto degauss
or by turning a knob on the chassis
thx for your input

Image
Image

Re: Egret 2 issue

Posted: October 18th, 2018, 8:52 am
by wigsplitta
I think that's the game PCB, rather than the E2 tube/chassis. I've seen the same stripe on a couple of different Mushi Futari pcbs, and it is exactly the same on different cabs.
The pic below shows something similar:
IMG_5494.jpg

Re: Egret 2 issue

Posted: October 18th, 2018, 3:06 pm
by zak
@Rezwalker, do any other games exhibit this issue?

Re: Egret 2 issue

Posted: October 18th, 2018, 4:24 pm
by Rezwalker
Yeah i saw it first when i got my ddp dfk bl in the first stage

But tonight il try every pcb i have to be sure

Rez

Re: Egret 2 issue

Posted: October 18th, 2018, 10:18 pm
by Rezwalker
alright after ttesting it with 5 more pcb ..

ddp doj no issue
Guwange No issue
Esp Rade no issue
DDp Sdoj Issue :eh:
ddp dfk bl Issue :eh

so pretty much only issue with SH3 board ...
is it fixable ???

i am cluless

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 3:30 am
by Rezwalker
and tested the sh3 in my NaC and no black line

:roll:

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 4:53 am
by radiantsvgun
Are you using the 29T in the egret 2? I have a few boards that don't play well with that chassis for whatever reason. I put a regular ms9-29 in and no problems. I've owned two of the 29T and both have had those problems.

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 8:43 am
by wigsplitta
Rezwalker wrote:
October 19th, 2018, 3:30 am
and tested the sh3 in my NaC and no black line

:roll:
Interesting :think:
I tried on an E2 and then a NAC - same line. I also saw the line on a different board in a Windy!
I'll have a go in a couple of different cabs and see if there's a particular setup that does/doesn't show it

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 9:11 am
by geotrig
I'm not sure if i have a line that pronounced as above. but i didnt think it was out of the ordinary either as that cave screen is possibly the worst vaselineo vision white screen there is.

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 12:29 pm
by SuperPang
The moving black line at the left/top is a common thing with CV1000 on MS9s. PGM2 does it as well weirdly. You can overscan it using a combination of the monitor pots and PCB settings.

I'm not sure that's what Rezwalker's talking about though is it?

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 12:36 pm
by wigsplitta
SuperPang wrote:
October 19th, 2018, 12:29 pm
The moving black line at the left/top is a common thing with CV1000 on MS9s. PGM2 does it as well weirdly. You can overscan it using a combination of the monitor pots and PCB settings.
I'm not sure that's what Rezwalker's talking about though is it?
I think you're correct. The moving black line is visible on different games but can be easily hidden/scanned out as it's the very outer screen border.
I think rez (and me) is referring to a band of discolouration that creeps well into the picture for the length of the screen:
E2 screen 1.jpg
E2 screen 2.jpg

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 4:40 pm
by Rezwalker
in my E2 its a MS9-29T :-o

damn now i need to look out for a 29S

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 4:45 pm
by yosai
The screen curvature is different but the chassis should work with the Toshiba tube.

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 5:34 pm
by Rezwalker
but its weird thats only on cv1000 board

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 5:37 pm
by zak
The test menu on SH3 boards also gives you the option to move the picture around without playing with your chassis.

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 5:46 pm
by SuperPang
I really don't think all 29T's do this.

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 6:00 pm
by grantspain
29t is virtually identical to su , longer neck card cables,degauss connector is other way around and thats about it- plus a protective cover under the chassis

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 19th, 2018, 9:39 pm
by emphatic
zak wrote:
October 19th, 2018, 5:37 pm
The test menu on SH3 boards also gives you the option to move the picture around without playing with your chassis.
This can be it, guys. Make sure your source video is centered.

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 21st, 2018, 3:15 am
by Rezwalker
trying that at once

Re: Egret 2 issue with SH3 board

Posted: October 21st, 2018, 3:45 am
by Rezwalker
Alright after checking in the test menu
i saw with the cross dot that my screen was not centered so i tweek it a bit and NO MORE BLACK LINE in mushi

then i tested it with my ddp dfk bl and same thing no more black like after i fix it under the cross dot menu

:awe: :D :awe: :D

THX A LOT FOR the Help guys
thx a TON !

Rez