Faulty tube?

For monitor related issues
User avatar
PrincessPrinPrin
Posts: 461
Joined: April 7th, 2011, 4:00 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy
eBay: *mkl*
Initials: MKL

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by PrincessPrinPrin » October 12th, 2018, 1:09 pm

kopo wrote:
October 11th, 2018, 9:40 am
It will be a delicate job.
The difficult part will be stripping the enamel coating off the coil wire. Fine grit sandpaper attached with double sided tape to flathead tweezers is how I would do it.
Im running games with a vga to tv converter on my Shangai Novel, with composite and it looks amazing, Im not interested in RGB or Scart.

- anonymous

User avatar
kopo
Posts: 29
Joined: February 15th, 2018, 10:40 am
Location: belgium
eBay: none

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by kopo » October 12th, 2018, 2:36 pm

PrincessPrinPrin wrote:
October 12th, 2018, 1:09 MP
kopo wrote:
October 11th, 2018, 9:40 am
It will be a delicate job.
The difficult part will be stripping the enamel coating off the coil wire. Fine grit sandpaper attached with double sided tape to flathead tweezers is how I would do it.
great advice!
The wire I found was too thick so I will wait for your package to arrive. Strip the enamel, pre tin and overlap a little to solder the wires togethers and attach to the right tab.
Exiting times!


cheers

Asure
Posts: 570
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by Asure » October 13th, 2018, 9:24 pm

At this point i can't wait to see this thing work again. :)

User avatar
kopo
Posts: 29
Joined: February 15th, 2018, 10:40 am
Location: belgium
eBay: none

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by kopo » October 18th, 2018, 3:58 pm

Hi guys,

So I got a package today from PrincessPrinPrin which included 2 stripped enamel copper wires, 2 degauss connectors + wires and 2 yoke connectors + wires. What a nice gesture for a fellow arcade lover! I heated up my dusty solder station and I dug in.

First I glued back the small magnet using superglue and some small twezers. I also removed the enamel coating from the wire I was going to use.

Image

Using my tweezers again I made 2 small hooks to connect the wires. I pre-tinned my solder iron and applied the solder to the connection.

Image

Not the most beautifull job but it' s firm. Now I pulled back the wire over the magnet to the top.

Image

I removed the old wire, stripped some coating again and twisted the new wire in between the other ones. Put some more solder on and presto! ;)

Image

Before testing the screen I measured the resistance again.

Image

:awe: looking good!

At this point I really wanted to test a game but I first changed the bad connectors.

Image

I fired up groovymame and look and behold!

Image


awesome picture! Still needs some tweaking but definately a big success!

First 3 times I started a game though, the picture would squeeze again like in the first picture. I turned the screen off an on and it was gone. When I start a game now it doesn' t do that anymore. Maybe the fact that not everything is grounded yet?

Anyway, thanks again and all hail PrincessPrinPrin !

User avatar
yosai
280bpm's too slow
Posts: 3680
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by yosai » October 18th, 2018, 7:16 pm

Great work to all involved. :thumbup:

User avatar
geotrig
Potato!
Posts: 6647
Joined: December 5th, 2008, 1:14 pm
Location: ._.
eBay: ._.

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by geotrig » October 18th, 2018, 8:03 pm

Great stuff although I still like the pic in the 1st post :lolno:
Image

<trk>:I remember catching a big fat one and my friend said "throw it back in, that one already tastes like wood"

User avatar
PrincessPrinPrin
Posts: 461
Joined: April 7th, 2011, 4:00 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy
eBay: *mkl*
Initials: MKL

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by PrincessPrinPrin » October 19th, 2018, 10:08 am

Good job!
Im running games with a vga to tv converter on my Shangai Novel, with composite and it looks amazing, Im not interested in RGB or Scart.

- anonymous

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12610
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by cools » October 19th, 2018, 10:14 am

Great stuff :clap: :clap: :clap:
Image

User avatar
trev1976
Posts: 860
Joined: March 30th, 2009, 7:17 pm
Location: Southampton

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by trev1976 » October 19th, 2018, 10:50 am

Nice .. well done.

Btw what front end are you using for GM ?

Thanks
Check out my "1cc" YouTube Channel
YouTube

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12610
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by cools » October 19th, 2018, 10:55 am

That's one of the built in layouts of Attract Mode
Image

User avatar
zipper
Posts: 119
Joined: March 20th, 2015, 11:47 am
Location: Southend on Sea
eBay: bazpatts
Initials: BAZ

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by zipper » October 19th, 2018, 11:55 am

That's great work. Fantastic thread :thumbup:
The connectors to my chassis look like that too.. brittle and broken with age. Does anywhere sell replacements?

User avatar
trev1976
Posts: 860
Joined: March 30th, 2009, 7:17 pm
Location: Southampton

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by trev1976 » October 19th, 2018, 12:06 pm

cools wrote:
October 19th, 2018, 10:55 am
That's one of the built in layouts of Attract Mode
Oh ok , Thanks 😊
Check out my "1cc" YouTube Channel
YouTube

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1445
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by nem » October 19th, 2018, 3:38 pm

Awesome!

User avatar
PrincessPrinPrin
Posts: 461
Joined: April 7th, 2011, 4:00 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy
eBay: *mkl*
Initials: MKL

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by PrincessPrinPrin » October 19th, 2018, 6:35 pm

geotrig wrote:
October 18th, 2018, 8:03 MP
Great stuff although I still like the pic in the 1st post :lolno:
vertical yoke faulty (2).jpg
It's indeed a fascinating effect. I've read that some 'artists' ask techs to cause frame collapses (single horizontal line) on purpose for their CRT installations. They'd love this.
Im running games with a vga to tv converter on my Shangai Novel, with composite and it looks amazing, Im not interested in RGB or Scart.

- anonymous

Asure
Posts: 570
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by Asure » October 19th, 2018, 9:43 pm

Good to see another tube is back in action and saved from the scrapheap!

User avatar
neokoen
Posts: 260
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 10:03 am
Location: schizofrenia (a.k.a. Belgium)

Re: Faulty tube?

Post by neokoen » October 20th, 2018, 10:23 pm

congrats on your project lazarus :thumbup:
always nice to see resurection

Post Reply