Page 1 of 1

Monitor Working!! more or less

Posted: August 7th, 2017, 11:29 am
by zumbito
I just unwrapped a nanao ms8 that I bought, I was told it wasn't working but OMG it is! Problem is I can't get a clear picture. Any idea why the image looks like that? I remember in my NNC it was a sync issue, but can't see any Sync pots...

Image

So excited!!! :awe:

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 7th, 2017, 11:34 am
by keropi
Tried messing with th SYNC pots?

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 7th, 2017, 12:02 pm
by zumbito
This are the pots, no sync one:
Image

I changed PCBs to see if there is any effect. Another pic of the image I'm getting:

Image

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 7th, 2017, 12:11 pm
by RMRM
He means H. Hold and V.Hold, those are the "synch" pots ;)

Don't want to scare you, but doesn't look like something you can "fix" with those pots...

Montior Working!! Well, not really...

Posted: August 7th, 2017, 12:14 pm
by zumbito
No definitely, I can't fix it with those pots... Any suggestions?

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 7th, 2017, 1:37 pm
by Rossyra
H PHASE, try that

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 7th, 2017, 1:52 pm
by zumbito
Hi, with H Hold y V Hold, thing improved quite a bit. But now I see image x3:

Image

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 7th, 2017, 2:08 pm
by PrincessPrinPrin
Monitor set to 24KHz? Set it to 15KHz.

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 7th, 2017, 3:18 pm
by zumbito
Bingo! Time to adjust geometry, colors and so on!

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 12th, 2017, 8:42 am
by zumbito
Does anyone know how to make the image more curvy? Apparently the tube is more curved than the image, so the corners don´t show the entire image:

Image

Also, does anyone know what are this lines that show on top of the screen?

Image

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 12th, 2017, 11:03 am
by PrincessPrinPrin
zumbito wrote:Does anyone know how to make the image more curvy? Apparently the tube is more curved than the image, so the corners don´t show the entire image:

Image


That geometry is as good as it gets on that tube style. You can't round the picture in the corners (and it wouldn't look any better), only underscan it if you want to see all of it. It's the old style faceplate that is used for 14", 16", 18", 20", 22" and 26" tubes. If you don't like it you should get a cab with a 19", 25", 28" or 29" tube as those have the newer style "full square" faceplate that was designed because the old one was considered "injurious to the eyes" as you can read in the original Toshiba patent.

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 12th, 2017, 11:08 am
by zumbito
PrincessPrinPrin wrote:
zumbito wrote:Does anyone know how to make the image more curvy? Apparently the tube is more curved than the image, so the corners don´t show the entire image:

Image


That geometry is as good as it gets on that tube style. You can't round the picture in the corners (and it wouldn't look any better), only underscan it if you want to see all of it. It's the old style faceplate that is used for 14", 16", 18", 20", 22" and 26" tubes. If you don't like it you should get a cab with a 19", 25", 28" or 29" tube as those have the newer style "full square" faceplate that was designed because the old one was considered "injurious to the eyes" as you can read in the original Toshiba patent.



Hahaha I take it. I´m quite Ok with it, was jut wondering if it could fit the screen perfectly. Only need to solve that lines thing, and maybe improve the focus.

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: August 12th, 2017, 6:08 pm
by mufunyo
PrincessPrinPrin wrote:You can't round the picture in the corners

There's no pincushion adjustment?

Re: Monitor Working!! more or less

Posted: August 12th, 2017, 7:03 pm
by Asure
Yup. Ms8 should have a tiny pot marked SPC somewhere on the pcb. Probably in a hard to reach area.

Re: Monitor Working!! more or less

Posted: August 13th, 2017, 9:53 am
by zumbito
Asure wrote:Yup. Ms8 should have a tiny pot marked SPC somewhere on the pcb. Probably in a hard to reach area.


Cool! For the time being I thing I will keep it as is. Can´t be bothered to take out the monitor again just to round the pic a bit. Image is quite good IMO, maybe just play with the focus ring.

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: September 5th, 2017, 7:58 pm
by Asure
zumbito wrote:Also, does anyone know what are this lines that show on top of the screen?
Image


You need to turn down the 'screen' pot a tiny bit, and/or set up the color pots correctly to get rid of this effect.

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Posted: September 11th, 2017, 10:16 am
by zumbito
Asure wrote:
zumbito wrote:Also, does anyone know what are this lines that show on top of the screen?
Image


You need to turn down the 'screen' pot a tiny bit, and/or set up the color pots correctly to get rid of this effect.


Thanks I'll try that!