Noise problem with Nanao MS9

For monitor related issues
Post Reply
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 188
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA

Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Moonwalker »

Hi,

I have a problem with my Nanao MS9 in a NAC. When turning on, the geometry is off and the picture is smaller. There is also a crazy amount of noise on the screen, which also seems to distort and move some of the pixels.

Adter about 20 mins the screen gets better, geometry and size return to normal and the noise gets less but is still visible. After some more time the noise is barely bisible on colors but still strong on white. Left side (top side since its in tate) is more affected then the right. I would love to post pics but its quite difficult to get them right.

Other then that the acreen is working great.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 275
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
Location: The Netherlands
eBay: 3d_collector

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Sp33dFr34k »

Sounds like it needs a new capkit :)
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 188
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Moonwalker »

Thanks, but as far as I know it should have gotten this already.
User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 275
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
Location: The Netherlands
eBay: 3d_collector

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Sp33dFr34k »

Are you sure all caps have been replaced with proper new ones, there's like 45 on the chassis? If so, pretty sure grantspain on here can give you another suggestion.
User avatar
PascalP
Posts: 71
Joined: August 23rd, 2015, 6:41 am
Location: Netherlands
eBay: peule_p
Initials: PPP

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by PascalP »

Not knowing that the caps already have been replaced, I would say cap kit as well.
Sounds exactly like the kinda issue I had with a Hantarex MTC9110 before the replacement.
Image
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 188
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Moonwalker »

Hmmm, I will make it sure once more.
Thanks guys!
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4536
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by grantspain »

either b+ is low or fluctuating or fault in regulation or bad solder joint on crt socket or dag earth not connected or certain caps have not been replaced
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 188
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Moonwalker »

Thanks, I got it as a replacement from RKLOK and sit should have run perfectly as I was told.
Although I replaced assis and screens on 5 cabs I am still a noob, so could you please give me hints how to get it working again please?

Whats b+ and how can I adjust and test it?
Is the crt socket the small pcb connected to the crt and and chassis?
Where can I check if the earth is correctly connected?

Thank you very much.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4536
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by grantspain »

have you checked for shipping damage
User avatar
Mokum
Posts: 605
Joined: July 27th, 2011, 8:20 am
Location: Perugia, Italy
eBay: noizer2k3
Initials: MKM

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Mokum »

I've also written this in my NAC thread, but I think it may belong in here better.
I think I've got pretty much a similar problem with my MS9.
No geometry issues whatsoever but a little bit of noise when the image is brighter and it also "trembles" a bit.
After a while, when the whole thing heats up, the problem kind of disappears.
I've noticed this issue with Strikers 1945 I and II and Gunbird 2 (yes, I love Psikyo :awe: ).
Double Dragon has no issues, no clue why :wtf:
alienmame wrote:Christ on a bike man
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 188
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Moonwalker »

There was no damage.

I have another NAC with a similar problem. Noise on the screen, more visible with some games then others. The noise is more calm and runs from up to down, gets slower and then the other way around. Looks like a ground problem bu i dont know where to start looking.

As for he actual problem, i will get a replacement and will see how it will work then :)
User avatar
nem
Posts: 1784
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by nem »

Try disconnecting the fluorescent light.
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 188
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Moonwalker »

Tried that already, the old bulb gave a white noise.
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 188
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Moonwalker »

Anybody a clue how the following noise issue can be taken care of?
Moonwalker wrote:Ihave another NAC with a similar problem. Noise on the screen, more visible with some games then others. The noise is more calm and runs from up to down, gets slower and then the other way around. Looks like a ground problem but i dont know where to start looking.
User avatar
Asayuki
Please Continue...
Posts: 431
Joined: August 29th, 2015, 10:16 pm
Location: Remuria, Germany

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Asayuki »

Can you shoot a video of the issue?
My 15kHz cabinet Peplos will never power up, with any item, and I am quite proud of that.
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 188
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA

Re: Noise problem with Nanao MS9

Post by Moonwalker »

Sure, will try do so on Friday. Its quite tricky to get it visible in a video...
Post Reply