Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

For monitor related issues
User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 200
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by AteThePrincess »

Just successfully swapped my NNC and AWSD monitors thanks to Jan's help in the Cabinet Q&A forum.

My Toshiba PF won't lock onto any standard res signals over JAMMA, I've tried CPS2, Strikers 1999, PGM, PGM2, and Undercover Cops. All of them have the scrambled picture like if your H.Hold was set very very far off... But it will work with the 15khz mode of the Naomi when plugged in directly JUST fine. It doesn't seem to make any sense to me...

I'm 95% sure it's not the cabinet's wiring, because if I put the Wei-Ya back in, then it does 15khz over JAMMA no problem.

Any ideas?
User avatar
Asayuki
Please Continue...
Posts: 431
Joined: August 29th, 2015, 10:16 pm
Location: Remuria, Germany

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by Asayuki »

Is your NAOMI really outputting 15kHz?
My 15kHz cabinet Peplos will never power up, with any item, and I am quite proud of that.
User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 200
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by AteThePrincess »

Asayuki wrote:Is your NAOMI really outputting 15kHz?
Yes.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4572
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by grantspain »

the wei ya uses the vga cable with a adapter for 15/25k

last pf i worked on had two seperate header for 15/25 and 31,can you move the the vga over to the other header as i am guessing you are using the vga cable with wei ya adapter
User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 200
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by AteThePrincess »

grantspain wrote:the wei ya uses the vga cable with a adapter for 15/25k

last pf i worked on had two seperate header for 15/25 and 31,can you move the the vga over to the other header as i am guessing you are using the vga cable with wei ya adapter
The headers on the PF are two different pinouts, are they not? One is one pin longer from what I remember from earlier. I was put under the impression that all 3 resolutions could be accessed through the one.

I am using a VGA cable straight from the chassis of the pf, same way it was wired up in the NNC, to the little PCB in the bottom of the AWSD that gets its video from the JAMMA harness.

The fancy VGA cable that ends in a bunch of smaller connectors went with the wei-ya chassis.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4572
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by grantspain »

never ever seen a multisync that run all res via one cable
User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 200
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by AteThePrincess »

grantspain wrote:never ever seen a multisync that run all res via one cable
Then I was given the wrong info.

Here's where I'm at:
http://imgur.com/a/djxiZ

I just tried moving the bit the VGA plugs into on the chassis down to the lower one, and still had no luck on picture over JAMMA.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4572
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by grantspain »

the 15/25k header will not use the vertical sync-that can confuse it
User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 200
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by AteThePrincess »

grantspain wrote:the 15/25k header will not use the vertical sync-that can confuse it
You're a genius. Popped the vertical sync wire out of the connector and plugged it in again, works perfectly.

Thank you so much. I just need to wire up a second set of connectors for the opposite resolution then.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4572
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by grantspain »

yes its something to watch on multisync monitors,31khz tends to have seperate v and h sync whilst 15/25k likes a composite h sync
User avatar
Jan
EU trade negotiator
Posts: 3828
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 7:56 pm
Location: Germany
eBay: voll gerne

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by Jan »

i`m having no Trouble at all.
Attachments
IMG_1993.JPG
penis
User avatar
skate323k137
Posts: 91
Joined: October 4th, 2013, 7:37 am
Location: Michigan
eBay: quizknows

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by skate323k137 »

grantspain wrote:never ever seen a multisync that run all res via one cable
Nanao ms2933 has no problems with it, but I do use the 2nd input for JAMMA video since it's amplified. NAOMI runs fine in 15 or 31 on the dsub though.

Basically I use one input for 0.7vpp and the other for 3vpp, regardless of resolution.
User avatar
mastercello
Posts: 793
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:42 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
eBay: mastercello
Initials: BUS
Contact:

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by mastercello »

Looks like it is not exactly the same chassis on yours...
User avatar
Jan
EU trade negotiator
Posts: 3828
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 7:56 pm
Location: Germany
eBay: voll gerne

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by Jan »

true :think:
penis
User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 504
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by RMRM »

grantspain wrote:never ever seen a multisync that run all res via one cable
Just to make sure i understand this in the right way:
Doesn't the Polo Star and Rodotron 666-A do all frequencies with only one cable? i use the same for both 15Khz and 31Khz.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4572
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by grantspain »

polostar has a vga and cga/ega header
rodotron and wei ya have a adapter board

maybe some chassis are better at coping than other and maybe some are setup to accept both BUT I am telling you the correct way of doing things
User avatar
Jan
EU trade negotiator
Posts: 3828
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 7:56 pm
Location: Germany
eBay: voll gerne

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by Jan »

:thumbup:
penis
User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 200
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by AteThePrincess »

Thank you both.

Mine actually has three connectors over in that section, but one is only 5 pins. No idea what the third is for, it wasn't populated in either cabinet (in fact, only one was populated in both cabinets).

I'll mess around with it later and see if I can get 31k over the same connector.
User avatar
Asayuki
Please Continue...
Posts: 431
Joined: August 29th, 2015, 10:16 pm
Location: Remuria, Germany

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by Asayuki »

As far as I have seen in Hantarex circuitry (http://www.andysarcade.de/data/coinop/v ... lostar.pdf) the HSYNC and VSYNC are wired identically independently on the use of the VGA or RGBHV port. One thing that is clearly seen there (see CN7 and PR101) is the impedance/amplitude adaptation network that also buffers the signals and basically transforms RGB 3V 1kohm into 0.7V 75 ohm. Less obvious is that plugging in a VGA cable automatically shorts to ground the node which connects to R33, R52 and R54 thereby shutting off the 15kHz RGB buffer.
SP10, I think, is just a test point, so I am not sure in which way can the presence or absence of VSYNC confuse the monitor if in 15kHz mode. VSYNC goes directly to the vertical stage TDA1675A provided the E-W board or the jumper/switch on the control panel did not inject HSYNC/CSYNC on it. Now either the injection of CSYNC onto the VSYNC wire can confuse the vertical stage when working at 15kHz, or I don't get it. :wtf:
My 15kHz cabinet Peplos will never power up, with any item, and I am quite proud of that.
User avatar
monouchi
Polishing his shaft
Posts: 1122
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 6:16 pm
Location: Sweden
eBay: monouchi_jn
Initials: BUS

Re: Toshiba PF hates 15khz over JAMMA...

Post by monouchi »

Posted in your other thread, the AWSD cab has a hidden sync connector down inside the large PCB door.
Post Reply