Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

For monitor related issues
Post Reply
User avatar
Mokum
Posts: 609
Joined: July 27th, 2011, 8:20 am
Location: Perugia, Italy
eBay: noizer2k3
Initials: MKM

Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by Mokum » April 13th, 2016, 8:42 pm

So, I replaced the Wei-Ya tri-sync monitor on my NNC with this Hantarex Polo Star. No the brightest idea maybe but I've got it for cheap so I gave it a try.

First issue: the monitor itself needs 220. Not a big deal I think, it just needs to get plugged directly into the wall.
The second and most visible, this is what I've got once I've powered it up:
Image

Image

The image is moved on the right and I've got some darker stripes over it... I've obviously played with the settings on the chassis but nothing changed... Res is set at 640x480 ofc.
I've got a pc running mame and I really don't have a clue. The previous monitor worked like a charm with the same pc...

As usual: help :(
alienmame wrote:Christ on a bike man

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4476
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by grantspain » April 13th, 2016, 9:00 pm

polostar run on 120vac btw

have you tried the 31khz frequency pot on the upright daughter board yet?

User avatar
Mokum
Posts: 609
Joined: July 27th, 2011, 8:20 am
Location: Perugia, Italy
eBay: noizer2k3
Initials: MKM

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by Mokum » April 13th, 2016, 9:43 pm

grantspain wrote:polostar run on 120vac btw

have you tried the 31khz frequency pot on the upright daughter board yet?
You mean I can avoid plugging the monitor directly to the wall? I can somehow hook it like the previous monitor was?

Also, I tried all the pots on the back but I have no clue which the 31khz frequency one is. I guess it's not among the others? Maybe is slighter moved somewhere else?
I'll take a pictures if this helps...
alienmame wrote:Christ on a bike man

User avatar
Andypc
Posts: 337
Joined: November 9th, 2008, 11:30 pm
Location: Ilford, Essex
eBay: Andyapc
Initials: APC

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by Andypc » April 13th, 2016, 9:47 pm

I have the same problem on my polostar but with 15 kHz resolutions. 31khz is fine.
“You can have it any colour you want, so long as it’s black.” Henry Ford
Wanted:- Tehkan World Cup cab

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4476
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by grantspain » April 13th, 2016, 9:55 pm

there is an upright board called east/west-there are 5 pots
rv1 15khz phase
rv2 31khz phase
rv3 25khz phase

can't remember what rv4 and 5 do

User avatar
Mokum
Posts: 609
Joined: July 27th, 2011, 8:20 am
Location: Perugia, Italy
eBay: noizer2k3
Initials: MKM

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by Mokum » April 13th, 2016, 10:18 pm

Image

Image

Please point me out where to look. I hate being such a noob but I wanna learn ;)

@grantspain on the second picture RV1 reads "bright", RV2 "keystone" and RV3 "h amp". Or am I looking at the wrong pots?

I have no clue what this "East-West" module is or what does it look like... I'm also reading the service manual with no luck...
alienmame wrote:Christ on a bike man

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4476
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by grantspain » April 13th, 2016, 10:26 pm

its the board behind the remote board,you can see the pots on it in the photo

User avatar
Mokum
Posts: 609
Joined: July 27th, 2011, 8:20 am
Location: Perugia, Italy
eBay: noizer2k3
Initials: MKM

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by Mokum » April 13th, 2016, 10:29 pm

grantspain wrote:its the board behind the remote board,you can see the pots on it in the photo
First or second picture? I can't see any other pots other than those green on the secondo one :cry:
alienmame wrote:Christ on a bike man

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4476
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by grantspain » April 13th, 2016, 10:34 pm

second photo,immediatley behind the control board(the one with brightness,contrast etc) is the east/west board with the pots

User avatar
Mokum
Posts: 609
Joined: July 27th, 2011, 8:20 am
Location: Perugia, Italy
eBay: noizer2k3
Initials: MKM

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by Mokum » April 14th, 2016, 8:11 am

I managed to figure out what you meant ;)
Image

Now the only thing I still need to fix is the brightness: I lowered it all the way down but the screen still looks like this:
Image
Any clue why it's so high?
alienmame wrote:Christ on a bike man

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4476
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by grantspain » April 14th, 2016, 8:29 am

locate the screen volts pot on the flyback,its under the focus pot-adjust anti clockwise and you should be good to go

User avatar
KmanSweden
KmanSweden
Posts: 1362
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 10:37 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
eBay: KmanSweden
Initials: PKK
Contact:

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by KmanSweden » April 14th, 2016, 8:46 am

grantspain, you're awesome. :thumbup: :awe: :thumbupright:
Up the Irons!

User avatar
Mokum
Posts: 609
Joined: July 27th, 2011, 8:20 am
Location: Perugia, Italy
eBay: noizer2k3
Initials: MKM

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by Mokum » April 14th, 2016, 9:23 am

grantspain wrote:locate the screen volts pot on the flyback,its under the focus pot-adjust anti clockwise and you should be good to go
Is the flyback attached to the tube itself? I'm a bit clueless about this terms... :oops:
alienmame wrote:Christ on a bike man

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4476
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by grantspain » April 14th, 2016, 9:28 am

to the right of the control pcb you will see a metal shield,in the window of that you will see the flyback transformer-it has the two pots focus and screen volts
its a large black plastic component normally with a grey face-its the one with the big fat red wire that goes to the top of the tube

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4476
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by grantspain » April 14th, 2016, 9:46 am

polostar.jpg

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4476
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by grantspain » April 14th, 2016, 12:29 pm

btw the polostar is a far superior monitor to wie ya 3129

User avatar
Mokum
Posts: 609
Joined: July 27th, 2011, 8:20 am
Location: Perugia, Italy
eBay: noizer2k3
Initials: MKM

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by Mokum » April 14th, 2016, 9:31 pm

grantspain wrote:btw the polostar is a far superior monitor to wie ya 3129
Image

Image
alienmame wrote:Christ on a bike man

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4476
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by grantspain » April 14th, 2016, 11:07 pm

glad to help,picture looks bloody good :awe:

User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 492
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Hantarex Polo Star 29 Tri-Sync

Post by RMRM » April 15th, 2016, 8:02 am

Wow, great picture. I have a few Polo's laying around but never could get one that had OK picture and geometry. Glad you made it look like that.

Another grantspain's win :slowclap:

Post Reply