Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

For monitor related issues
User avatar
PascalP
Posts: 71
Joined: August 23rd, 2015, 6:41 am
Location: Netherlands
eBay: peule_p
Initials: PPP

Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

Post by PascalP » February 10th, 2016, 4:46 pm

Ok, so I ordered a brand new 3129A replacement chassis for my MS9 chassis in my Namco Cyberlead.

Got the package today and on the outer cardboard box is a 3129A marking, but after opening the package and inspection the PCB I noticed there are 3129D markings on it, also upon further inspection of the neckboard, this also says 3129D!

So can anyone explain the real difference here?
I know the 3129A is for 15/24khz MS9 e.g. New Astro City and the 3129D is advertised as the replacement for Tri-Sync from a Blast City.
Last edited by PascalP on February 11th, 2016, 5:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4419
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis

Post by grantspain » February 10th, 2016, 5:26 pm

3129B is blast replacement

User avatar
PascalP
Posts: 71
Joined: August 23rd, 2015, 6:41 am
Location: Netherlands
eBay: peule_p
Initials: PPP

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis

Post by PascalP » February 10th, 2016, 5:39 pm

Ok, so what is the 3129D?
Any clues?


Edit:
According to your answer in this topic I should be OK?
http://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic.php?t=808

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4419
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis

Post by grantspain » February 10th, 2016, 6:09 pm

probably for a flat tube,is the crt socket single or double focus?

User avatar
PascalP
Posts: 71
Joined: August 23rd, 2015, 6:41 am
Location: Netherlands
eBay: peule_p
Initials: PPP

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis

Post by PascalP » February 10th, 2016, 6:21 pm

It has 3 positions for pots on the LOPT, but only 2 are populated.
So single focus adjust and screen adjust I assume?

User avatar
Brettster
Posts: 181
Joined: February 21st, 2015, 10:07 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis

Post by Brettster » February 10th, 2016, 6:46 pm

Does it have 1 or 2 pins for the focus on the neck board socket?
The egret 3 with LG/Samsung tube uses a 3129d chassis as I know only too well :lol:
Looking for More Space!


User avatar
PascalP
Posts: 71
Joined: August 23rd, 2015, 6:41 am
Location: Netherlands
eBay: peule_p
Initials: PPP

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis

Post by PascalP » February 10th, 2016, 9:48 pm

I gave it a shot and installed the chassis, after turning the cab ON, surprise... NO screen... :(

Double checked every connection, all grounds are connected, the AC gets 110V, also the fuse is OK!
There is no visible neck glow and there is no sound/static coming from the screen.
When I listen closely I do a small 'tick' coming from the chassis every 2 seconds or so, and that's it!

Any tips/advice on how to proceed?

User avatar
Brettster
Posts: 181
Joined: February 21st, 2015, 10:07 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis

Post by Brettster » February 10th, 2016, 9:54 pm

Do you have an input source plugged in too? Some chassis do not start up unless there is something plugged into the VGA socket
Looking for More Space!

User avatar
PascalP
Posts: 71
Joined: August 23rd, 2015, 6:41 am
Location: Netherlands
eBay: peule_p
Initials: PPP

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis

Post by PascalP » February 10th, 2016, 10:00 pm

Yeah there is a VGA source, but I think a diode is shorted, check out this video I made where you can see a diode lighting up everytime there is an audible click:

https://youtu.be/PLRcpyoIy4Q


It's the one here visible between the silver heatsink and the 2 gray resistors: (marked D21 on the PCB)

http://s429.photobucket.com/user/peulen ... 5.jpg.html

User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4419
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis

Post by grantspain » February 10th, 2016, 10:06 pm

is the solder connection good on that diode
have you read it with a multimeter

User avatar
PascalP
Posts: 71
Joined: August 23rd, 2015, 6:41 am
Location: Netherlands
eBay: peule_p
Initials: PPP

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

Post by PascalP » February 11th, 2016, 6:39 am

Will try it tonight.
I found a Rodotron 666A schematic and compare the values with this, 7V DC after the diode.
Will also check the connection and the one-way continuity of the diode.

User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 490
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

Post by RMRM » February 11th, 2016, 8:00 am

Can i ask where you bought this chassis?

A couple months ago i've speaked with Wei Ya and they've sent me a list of all the available chassis they had, and that model was not on the list.

I think the right replacement for an MS9 (at least trisync) would be the C3129G-X.

Just wanted to share the information.

User avatar
PascalP
Posts: 71
Joined: August 23rd, 2015, 6:41 am
Location: Netherlands
eBay: peule_p
Initials: PPP

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

Post by PascalP » February 11th, 2016, 8:09 am

RMRM wrote:Can i ask where you bought this chassis?

A couple months ago i've speaked with Wei Ya and they've sent me a list of all the available chassis they had, and that model was not on the list.

I think the right replacement for an MS9 (at least trisync) would be the C3129G-X.

Just wanted to share the information.
This is the one, only store I could find which still delivered them:

https://www.arcadespareparts.com/wei_ya ... assis.html

User avatar
PascalP
Posts: 71
Joined: August 23rd, 2015, 6:41 am
Location: Netherlands
eBay: peule_p
Initials: PPP

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

Post by PascalP » February 11th, 2016, 4:30 pm

Just took out the chassis to check the diode D21, and it has full continuity in both directions...
So yeah, that one is blown.

sanh43
Posts: 3
Joined: February 1st, 2016, 2:15 am
Location: sacramento

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

Post by sanh43 » February 16th, 2016, 9:52 pm

umm...im a bit off topic here but since were talking wei ya here and all, why not. i just installed a wei ya into my nac. I'm doing this so i can play sfv in it. I'm using an hdmi to vga converter. the thing here is when i power up the console theres a slight delay in the picture popping up compared to when it was the original chassis(was playing sfiv with viletim converter to jamma). best way to describe it is a signal change i guess, and you can hear it firing too, like a flicker.is the wei ya like that? or is it my converter too? if any of you guys can chime in thanks

User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 490
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

Post by RMRM » February 17th, 2016, 8:27 am

Are you using an Xbox 360?

I do have a Rodotron 666A (it's an equivalent), and when i use an Xbox 360 connected with the official VGA cable, i have no problems at all.

sanh43
Posts: 3
Joined: February 1st, 2016, 2:15 am
Location: sacramento

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

Post by sanh43 » February 18th, 2016, 1:00 am

unfortunately i don't think sony will ever make an hdmi to vga. the converter i have isn't cheap either, but if anyone knows of one please chime in. thanks

User avatar
PascalP
Posts: 71
Joined: August 23rd, 2015, 6:41 am
Location: Netherlands
eBay: peule_p
Initials: PPP

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

Post by PascalP » March 17th, 2016, 11:03 pm

Ok, update:
Chassis is working now!

Finally got the time to replace the shorted diode mentioned before and swap out the chassis again.
Everything fine on the first go!

Now I just need to sort out the geometry as good as possible (especially the lower right corner). But apparently that is a well known issue with this chassis?

Hackcell
Posts: 12
Joined: November 18th, 2018, 5:26 pm
Location: Costa Rica
eBay: jaczeld
Initials: DJV

Re: Difference Wei-Ya 3129A and 3129D chassis / chassis swap Nanao MS9

Post by Hackcell » April 3rd, 2019, 5:31 am

PascalP wrote:
March 17th, 2016, 11:03 MP
Ok, update:
Chassis is working now!

Finally got the time to replace the shorted diode mentioned before and swap out the chassis again.
Everything fine on the first go!

Now I just need to sort out the geometry as good as possible (especially the lower right corner). But apparently that is a well known issue with this chassis?
Hi,

How did it go adjusting the geonmetry? Also, what kind of tube are you using?

Post Reply