Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

For monitor related issues
Post Reply
User avatar
HarumaN
Posts: 112
Joined: June 9th, 2011, 5:14 pm
Location: USA - AZ
eBay: haruman78
Initials: LEE

Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by HarumaN »

Didn't get a chance to see what type it is yet, it just died. :-x

Picture was fine, then I heard a click / zap sound and the picture jumped. This happened a couple more times, then the screen went dark.

Now all I hear is a fast clicking sound, no picture, no neck glow (as far as I can see).

Any ideas what to check first based on these symptoms? This has been a perfect monitor until now.

Does this sound like the flyback perhaps?
Need hacked controllers? Click below!
http://goo.gl/c6U3k

Looking for bartop or stand-alone controller kits?
http://www.harumancustoms.com/
User avatar
rjosal
Posts: 46
Joined: June 21st, 2012, 4:47 am
Location: Seattle, WA
eBay: rjosal
Initials: RWJ
Contact:

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by rjosal »

Did the fuse pop? By the way, how's your sideart look? I could really use a scan...
User avatar
IDCHAPPY
c***3
Posts: 2727
Joined: May 3rd, 2010, 7:25 pm
Location: Edinburgh
eBay: Arcadedreams2013
Initials: IDC
Contact:

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by IDCHAPPY »

Definitely sounds chassis related, better that than the tube :lol:
Sorry dude I'm a Tard :oops:
User avatar
HarumaN
Posts: 112
Joined: June 9th, 2011, 5:14 pm
Location: USA - AZ
eBay: haruman78
Initials: LEE

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by HarumaN »

rjosal wrote:Did the fuse pop? By the way, how's your sideart look? I could really use a scan...
I'll have to dig in and see.

Which sideart? I have 2 Impress'es, one with Capcom sides and the other with Impress sides.
Need hacked controllers? Click below!
http://goo.gl/c6U3k

Looking for bartop or stand-alone controller kits?
http://www.harumancustoms.com/
User avatar
HarumaN
Posts: 112
Joined: June 9th, 2011, 5:14 pm
Location: USA - AZ
eBay: haruman78
Initials: LEE

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by HarumaN »

IDCHAPPY wrote:Definitely sounds chassis related, better that than the tube :lol:
Sorry dude I'm a Tard :oops:
Heh, it's all good. I think I'll pull it out and look for bad solder joints first...
Need hacked controllers? Click below!
http://goo.gl/c6U3k

Looking for bartop or stand-alone controller kits?
http://www.harumancustoms.com/
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4539
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by grantspain »

sounds like the flyback died to me,probably took out the horizontal output transistor as well
User avatar
madgrab
Posts: 81
Joined: November 18th, 2012, 4:46 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by madgrab »

I had a Hitachi GML chassis in my Impress that failed on me. There was an electrical arc happeneing when you would turn the cab on. I sent it out to a few places and was never able to resolve what happened. If I could have found the schematic on the chassis than maybe it could have been fixed.

If you have the Toshiba tube, you can always get an Nanao MS-9 as a replacement, thats what I did:)
User avatar
rjosal
Posts: 46
Joined: June 21st, 2012, 4:47 am
Location: Seattle, WA
eBay: rjosal
Initials: RWJ
Contact:

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by rjosal »

Was it you who posted the YouTube video of that? Looked pretty cool, but sucks about the chassis.
User avatar
madgrab
Posts: 81
Joined: November 18th, 2012, 4:46 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by madgrab »

Yeah but very dangerous. Hitachi chassis has been flaky from my research. But without the schematic hard to diagnos. It is definitely not a tank like the MS-9.

The Impress cabs with the Toei chassis have known issues with the flyback.
User avatar
rjosal
Posts: 46
Joined: June 21st, 2012, 4:47 am
Location: Seattle, WA
eBay: rjosal
Initials: RWJ
Contact:

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by rjosal »

HarumaN wrote:
rjosal wrote:Did the fuse pop? By the way, how's your sideart look? I could really use a scan...
I'll have to dig in and see.

Which sideart? I have 2 Impress'es, one with Capcom sides and the other with Impress sides.
Ah I thought there were two flavors out there... mine had IMPRESS sideart, but if you're going to be scanning, might as well do both for posterity, yes? I'd be extremely grateful!
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 461
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by meijin »

I may join the discussion, since I have a similar upcoming problem (maybe...).

When I switch my Impress off, I can hear some click sounds as can be heard in the below vids
http://www.hasntfiguredouthowtoembedyoutubeproperly.com/watch?v=LVckGozT ... e=youtu.be"
http://www.hasntfiguredouthowtoembedyoutubeproperly.com/watch?v=Dwd7lWq_ ... e=youtu.be"

(maybe Haruman had the same click sounds?!)

I had this also one or two times during game play.

Craig (Giz10p) changed aleady the horizontal output transistor, so I don't think this is the problem.
It's maybe the flyback, but I'm not sure. I checked the chassis, tube and the wiring, but it looks ok afaik.

Picture of the chassis/tube:
[+] Spoiler...
Image
So if anyone could give me a suggestion it would be :awe:
User avatar
madgrab
Posts: 81
Joined: November 18th, 2012, 4:46 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by madgrab »

Trippy, not sure what the cause it I am sure someone on this board might be better at identifying it. But your Chassis is the Hitachi GML.
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 461
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by meijin »

Thanks for the reply. Sadly a lot of people I contacted didn't know what's the cause :(
HarumaN wrote:I heard a click / zap sound and the picture jumped.
That is what scares me a bit. I have the click sounds when I turn it off. During play I had it about 2-3 times or even more. That zap sound with the jumping picture happend also 2 or 3 times by now....

If possible, I want to do something before it's too late.

Would it be possible to change the flyback with one, which has similar specs?
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4539
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by grantspain »

get the number from the flyback and cross reference it

you must use the same flyback or equivalent
User avatar
HarumaN
Posts: 112
Joined: June 9th, 2011, 5:14 pm
Location: USA - AZ
eBay: haruman78
Initials: LEE

Re: Capcom Impress 29" Monitor...

Post by HarumaN »

6 years later, I just fixed this by replacing the hitachi with a nanao chassis... :D
Need hacked controllers? Click below!
http://goo.gl/c6U3k

Looking for bartop or stand-alone controller kits?
http://www.harumancustoms.com/
Post Reply