Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

For monitor related issues
User avatar
ninjawyatt
Posts: 90
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 8:06 pm
Location: Derbyshire, England, U.K.
eBay: ninjawyatt

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by ninjawyatt » December 3rd, 2012, 9:32 pm

moshpit wrote:
FrancoB wrote:I've got a complete 29e31s monitor but the tube has ID burn. I can remove the chassis and you can have it for £30 + post if you want.
I <3 this place :)
I <3 Franco :D
'You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance'

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4600
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: Buckinghamshire
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by FrancoB » December 3rd, 2012, 9:35 pm

:oops:

User avatar
Rossyra
Supermod
Posts: 8271
Joined: February 12th, 2009, 1:24 am
Location: UK

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by Rossyra » December 3rd, 2012, 9:36 pm

Image
Image

User avatar
ninjawyatt
Posts: 90
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 8:06 pm
Location: Derbyshire, England, U.K.
eBay: ninjawyatt

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by ninjawyatt » December 3rd, 2012, 9:55 pm

Rossyra wrote:Image
Its not Gay Love, lets not confuse emotions here :P
'You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance'

User avatar
Spectre
By Spectre
Posts: 1764
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 5:42 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK
eBay: spectre-uk
Initials: JIM

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by Spectre » December 4th, 2012, 12:27 pm

grantspain wrote:£150 for a new monitor,tell me where those are and i will snap them all up
I think you will find £150 for a new chassis only-about £400 for a new monitor if you can find one
I was quoting £150+ as a ballpark for a complete used monitor. When ninja said "new" I suspect he meant new to him ;)

Franco is awesome :awe:

User avatar
ninjawyatt
Posts: 90
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 8:06 pm
Location: Derbyshire, England, U.K.
eBay: ninjawyatt

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by ninjawyatt » December 4th, 2012, 8:44 pm

Spectre wrote:
grantspain wrote:£150 for a new monitor,tell me where those are and i will snap them all up
I think you will find £150 for a new chassis only-about £400 for a new monitor if you can find one
I was quoting £150+ as a ballpark for a complete used monitor. When ninja said "new" I suspect he meant new to him ;)

Franco is awesome :awe:
That is indeed what I meant. :D
'You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance'

User avatar
ninjawyatt
Posts: 90
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 8:06 pm
Location: Derbyshire, England, U.K.
eBay: ninjawyatt

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by ninjawyatt » December 4th, 2012, 8:52 pm

Ok, so looks like Ive secured a new chassis thanks to Franco. Next question - Replacing a chassis on a Sanwa 29E31s. Is it just a case of unplugging/unbolting everything that holds it to the monitor and then fit the new one, or do I need to discharge the tube first? Ive been in the motor trade for 14 years, so Im comfortable unbolting, unplugging stuff, but Ive never discharged a monitor tube and have no idea of how to do it.
'You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance'

User avatar
Spectre
By Spectre
Posts: 1764
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 5:42 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK
eBay: spectre-uk
Initials: JIM

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by Spectre » December 5th, 2012, 11:52 am

You'll need to discharge the monitor to swap the chassis.



Beyond that it's a reasonably straightforward unplug the old one, put the new one on. Just be gentle with it, especially the neck board. 8-)

User avatar
PrincessPrinPrin
Posts: 472
Joined: April 7th, 2011, 4:00 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy
eBay: *mkl*
Initials: MKL

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by PrincessPrinPrin » December 5th, 2012, 12:48 pm

No need to discharge. This monitor self discharges at power off.
Im running games with a vga to tv converter on my Shangai Novel, with composite and it looks amazing, Im not interested in RGB or Scart.

- anonymous

User avatar
Spectre
By Spectre
Posts: 1764
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 5:42 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK
eBay: spectre-uk
Initials: JIM

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by Spectre » December 5th, 2012, 2:59 pm

Still sensible to follow the above when removing the anode cap on any monitor. 8-)

User avatar
Rossyra
Supermod
Posts: 8271
Joined: February 12th, 2009, 1:24 am
Location: UK

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by Rossyra » December 5th, 2012, 3:02 pm

I had a zap from the anode cap once. I enjoyed it.
Image

User avatar
Spectre
By Spectre
Posts: 1764
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 5:42 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK
eBay: spectre-uk
Initials: JIM

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by Spectre » December 5th, 2012, 6:01 pm

Tastes like razors.

User avatar
ninjawyatt
Posts: 90
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 8:06 pm
Location: Derbyshire, England, U.K.
eBay: ninjawyatt

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by ninjawyatt » December 5th, 2012, 6:40 pm

To Fry or not to Fry... that is ze question. ZAP!

Anyway, so what are we saying, I do have to discharge it... I dont? Obviously if there is any chance there could still be charge in the tube I would rather discharge properly than discharge it down my arm! But bear this in mind - My cab would have been disconnected for a week, or just over a week when I will actually replace the chassis. I do have electrical knowledge and experience through working on cars and I would have presumed the monitor would not be holding any charge after that length of time, but I dont come across many monitor tubes when working under a bonnet so please put me straight if anybody has the intel :)
'You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance'

User avatar
LoRez
Posts: 614
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by LoRez » December 5th, 2012, 6:46 pm

Spectre wrote:Still sensible to follow the above when removing the anode cap on any monitor. 8-)
This.Dead easy to knock up a tool to do it with and,this wont be the last monitor you mess with ;)

User avatar
Rossyra
Supermod
Posts: 8271
Joined: February 12th, 2009, 1:24 am
Location: UK

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by Rossyra » December 5th, 2012, 6:48 pm

You'll be recapping chasses in no time. Once you zap you just can't stahp.
Image

User avatar
ninjawyatt
Posts: 90
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 8:06 pm
Location: Derbyshire, England, U.K.
eBay: ninjawyatt

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by ninjawyatt » December 5th, 2012, 6:51 pm

LoRez wrote:
Spectre wrote:Still sensible to follow the above when removing the anode cap on any monitor. 8-)
This.Dead easy to knock up a tool to do it with and,this wont be the last monitor you mess with ;)

Ok, cool. Hopefully I wont me messing with anymore monitors soon, cause this is my only one and it blew after about 2 months of owning it! :cry:
'You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance'

User avatar
ninjawyatt
Posts: 90
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 8:06 pm
Location: Derbyshire, England, U.K.
eBay: ninjawyatt

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by ninjawyatt » December 7th, 2012, 8:51 pm

Spectre wrote:You'll need to discharge the monitor to swap the chassis.



Beyond that it's a reasonably straightforward unplug the old one, put the new one on. Just be gentle with it, especially the neck board. 8-)

I just finally watched that video..... Wow! If I knew it was that simple I would have just done it even if the monitor had been disconneted for a year!! Earth it out with a screwdriver. I really thought it was going to be more technical than that. Like using a multimeter?! Oh well, Im not complaining.
'You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance'

User avatar
ninjawyatt
Posts: 90
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 8:06 pm
Location: Derbyshire, England, U.K.
eBay: ninjawyatt

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by ninjawyatt » December 10th, 2012, 10:06 pm

Complete monitor chassis and neck board arrived today from Franco. It was suprisingly easy and quick to change! My only concern was that I couldnt get a 'pop' when earthing out the anode cap. I tried over and over again to ensure I was doing it correctly, and in the end decided that it must have discharged already. I wont deny that I was still a little nervous when handling the anode cap :whoa: ...... But Im still here :shifty:

The good news is - my cab is alive again! :D The suprise news is - its a better picture than before :awe:
I could never seem to tune the Naomi start up screen to pure white, it was always a little green. I presumed it was something to do with the monitor screen, but its now minty fresh white!

Thanks to everyone for all the advice and help and an even bigger thanks to Franco and his super cheap sale.
'You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance'

User avatar
Hewitson
Posts: 620
Joined: June 4th, 2011, 8:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Initials: BJA

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by Hewitson » December 11th, 2012, 1:41 am

Maybe the degauss circuit wasn't working on your old chassis and on this one it is.
crunchywasp wrote:During your visit you could reverse his evil honey trap and tell him you're a bit uncertain about spending an hour inside his box

User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4600
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: Buckinghamshire
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by FrancoB » December 11th, 2012, 5:54 am

Awesome mate, glad to hear it's got you up and running again :D

Post Reply