Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

For monitor related issues
ninjawyatt
Please Continue...
eBay: ninjawyatt

Naomi Sanwa Monitor Fault

Post by ninjawyatt »

Hi could somebody please advise me as to anything I could possibly repair/replace as apose to forking out for a new monitor. If you think the monitor has had it, then I guess I will have to buy one.

My cab is a Naomi Universal with Sanwa 29E31S monitor. I had completely stripped, cleaned and repainted the entire cab - apart from the monitor. I have no knowledge of monitors so I didnt want to take it apart. It also looked very fragile, so i did not attempt to clean it just incase it wouldnt work again.

My cab was completely rebuilt except for the side leg covers - The cab worked fine. I loosened off the lower control panel casing and main front facia to fit the leg covers. I tightened everything else back up, flicked the main power switch and this is what happened -

The top orange lamp came on as usual and the correct sounds could be heard from the speakers, such as the Naomi start up audio and the game its self, once it had loaded. Everything seemed to be fine except for the monitor. It displayed a thin vertical image straight down the centre of the screen when the machine was started up, I think it was the NAOMI image that appears on start up, but it was too thin to really recognise. A couple of noises could be heard from the monitor (possibly the rear) kind of like electrical buzzes or even an electricity arcing noise. The noises could be heard, but werent very loud and I probably heard it about 3 times in total. The image on the screen shrank quickly and disappeared completely within about 10 seconds of turning the machine on leaving a blank screen. I could also smell a burning smell that was getting stronger before I turned it off. The machine was probably only on for about 20 seconds in total.