egret2 monitors

For monitor related issues
Post Reply
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 685
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

egret2 monitors

Post by erzane »

I m waiting an egret2 soon
I heard good things about it, very good screen for 15k games etc...
I will use it only for shootings
but if I have this type of problem, how can I resolve it ?
exist it a rotation pot or a trapeze pot on the chassis or anywere to resolve this irregularity ??

thanks

here is a normal geometry in my opinion because all is straigh and parelelle (rotation is ok, trapeze is ok)

ImageImage

and thoses are not good geometry because rotation is not ok (or trapeze??)

ImageImage

ImageImage
Arcade's nice when done well
Bort
Please Continue...
Posts: 97
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 2:13 pm
Location: blackpool, england.

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by Bort »

MIne is the third picture. The only issue is the four bars that lock the monitor to the shell are lined up for horizontal and not Vertical. Very easy to line it up for vert play.
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 685
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by erzane »

hello man
thanks for your reply
but dont understand really what do you want mean (my english is not perfect)
what is ''the four bars that lock the monitor'' ?
can you explain me it with an example, or show me a pot ?

thanks for your comprehention
Arcade's nice when done well
Bort
Please Continue...
Posts: 97
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 2:13 pm
Location: blackpool, england.

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by Bort »

No problem. Your english is much better than my German, French or Italian.

http://oxtongue.co.uk/arcade/posts/egretMonitor1.jpg"
http://oxtongue.co.uk/arcade/posts/egretMonitor2.jpg"

The monitor frame locks onto the cab at four spots. I only use two (different ones for vert or hori).
You can also slide the monitor a bit with the four smaller bolts you can see in the pic.
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 685
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by erzane »

do you talk about one of this one ?

ImageImage

so you take off one or two bolts for rotate(slide) the entire monitor as your convenence
that's the reason the egret2 didn't have any rotation pot
because you can rotate 'the monitor'' directly...

but is there a trapeze pot on the egret2 chassis ?
Arcade's nice when done well
Bort
Please Continue...
Posts: 97
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 2:13 pm
Location: blackpool, england.

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by Bort »

Yep the wingnut. Just take the four of those off and the monitor will freely rotate around. I take most of the weight when I rotate as I'm not sure if you are supposed to just turn it or take the weight and turn.

Any chassis should have a trap pot, it would just depend on which you have installed in the e2.

Just to make sure we aren't lost in translation. To change from vertical to horizontal you actually have to rotate the monitor. There isn't a pot that will rotate the image around the screen.
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 685
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by erzane »

thanks dude
I have understand now
so, you told me not every egret2 chassis have trapeze pot ?
which model of chassis do you have ?
is it easy to access it when the monitor is on vertical ?
(because I will use this cab only for shootings)
Arcade's nice when done well
User avatar
penrhos
Panel Beater
Posts: 1477
Joined: September 11th, 2008, 12:08 pm
Location: Leicester - UK
eBay: ngpd002

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by penrhos »

erzane wrote:is it easy to access it when the monitor is on vertical ?
(because I will use this cab only for shootings)
The chassis is mounted to a metal shelf so even if the monitor is rotated the chassis stays horizontal. So the pots are just as accessible no matter what way you have the tube.
2 * Vewlix Diamond Blacks,2 * Vewlix-F, 1 * Sega Rally 3, 1 * Video Pinball, 1 * DinoKing (JAMMA Converted).
Xenepp

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by Xenepp »

Most of the common monitor controls are on a separate PCB in the coin door for the Egret IIs anyway.

-Joel
Bort
Please Continue...
Posts: 97
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 2:13 pm
Location: blackpool, england.

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by Bort »

I've never taken the tube out of the eII so I don't know which make it is. Should be a nanao I think. Same with the chassis, I've only twiddled the pots.

Easy to access the chassis. The pots are located under the rotate mechanism (the chassis is only attached to the monitor via the cables). You can change them by just lifting up the CP and the hood/front/bezel of the cab.

There should be a few more pots you can access from the rear by removing the back cover.

Your eII will more than likely have the original monitor/chassis but you can fit quite a few different makes of monitor/chassis in an egret so you never know what you are going to get unless you are told what is actually in the cab. You shouldn't worry too much. With any monitor you should be able to fiddle with the pots till you get a picture you are happy with.

http://oxtongue.co.uk/arcade/posts/egret2Pot1.jpg"
http://oxtongue.co.uk/arcade/posts/egret2Pot2.jpg"
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 685
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by erzane »

after that I heard the tube is a toshiba and the chassis is a nanao MS29...

can you tell me which pot is for which settings on this pic ?

ImageImage

is it possible to see the other pots you can find behind the cab near the back door ?
thanks for you very explicite pictures

p.s. hello Xennett :-)
Arcade's nice when done well
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4651
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by grantspain »

nanao ms9-29a,ms2930,2931,2932,2934??
i reckon its a ms9-29su/a,if so pot for trap is VR453 on main chassis board
Bort
Please Continue...
Posts: 97
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 2:13 pm
Location: blackpool, england.

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by Bort »

As Xenepp says there is another column of pots behind the coin door.
http://oxtongue.co.uk/arcade/posts/egre ... orPots.jpg"

V Pos
V Size
H Pos
H Size
Bright
B
G
R
Contrast

And the Row under the monitor is-
R
G
B
Contrast
ABL
HH.24
HH.15
Para
SPC24
H.S.LIN
SPC 15
Trap
V.Lin
V.S.Limit

To get to the back of the Egret I'd have to move my New Astro which I don't want to do as I've temporarily sorted a broken solder joint on the neck board and moving will most likely b0rk it again.
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 685
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: egret2 monitors

Post by erzane »

thanks my friend
I m impatient to test all that
it looks like more complete than the aw sd
normaly I will receive my cabs this week or next max
I will post some pics of the screen
I'll pray to have a good screen ..
Arcade's nice when done well
Post Reply