Blast city, MS2931 no video

For monitor related issues
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
Post Reply
ovalfastlx
Posts: 3
Joined: August 6th, 2018, 5:26 am
Location: California
eBay: oo7thenova
Initials: JMS

Blast city, MS2931 no video

Post by ovalfastlx » August 9th, 2018, 1:14 am

This happened a week ago. No video, I get sound, plays blind. I replaced all the caps and still nothing. Fuses checked out fine too. I need to check the H. O. T too.

I do remember that when my monitor was working fine, I could hear a slight Humm or buzz at the chassis. Might be related. Also there's black goop but that was there and the monitor worked fine regardless.

Any I deas on troubleshooting the H. O. T or any other components I can check? Thanks

User avatar
Jan
Bassline Crew
Posts: 3421
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 7:56 pm
Location: Germany
eBay: voll gerne

Re: Blast city, MS2931 no video

Post by Jan » August 9th, 2018, 9:14 am

Welcome to the worlds worst chassis. Happened to me twice, never touching a 2931 again.
And if you peruse AO, you should already know Jan's usual post style. You can ignore him just as easily.

User avatar
SuperPang
Credit Scrubber
Posts: 9245
Joined: August 16th, 2008, 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Blast city, MS2931 no video

Post by SuperPang » August 9th, 2018, 1:28 pm



I had one die like this years ago. I don't think they're easy to fix I'm afraid.

ovalfastlx
Posts: 3
Joined: August 6th, 2018, 5:26 am
Location: California
eBay: oo7thenova
Initials: JMS

Re: Blast city, MS2931 no video

Post by ovalfastlx » August 9th, 2018, 5:32 pm

I'll try changing the HOT, and hope for the best, I might give up on it. It makes me appreciate my Astro City even more.

anyone ever used a weiya as a replacement chassis? Thanks guys.

Post Reply