Update: Nanao MS8-26 - Now we got a wobble

For monitor related issues
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 176
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Update: Nanao MS8-26 - Now we got a wobble

Postby AteThePrincess » September 13th, 2017, 12:49 am

New update: we wobbling!

Update: Recapped it, replaced Q401/402, and R433/436/ Noticed that Q533 is just plain missing on my chassis. It used to be there, as there's old solder where it was pulled.

So what part number/value/what-have-you is Q533? :/



Picked up an Aero City last night with full vertical frame collapse. Pulled the chassis and noticed that someone's already attempted repair here (sloppy soldering job only on those 6 components). Managed to find every value needed on here through search except R436. Any chance someone knows the values on the resistor 436?

I know the schematic is on the wiki, but I honestly cannot make out half the numbers.

Signs of frame fold-over
Change:

Q401,Q402 2SD1571
C433 10uf 50volt electrolitic
C437 120uf 50volt electrolitic
R433 0.25W 2K2

R436 (?)
Last edited by AteThePrincess on September 19th, 2017, 7:19 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
nem
Posts: 825
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Nanao MS8-26 Resistor 436 value

Postby nem » September 13th, 2017, 11:29 am

User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 176
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Re: Nanao MS8-26 Resistor 436 value

Postby AteThePrincess » September 13th, 2017, 6:16 pm



Thank you.
User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 176
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Re: Nanao MS8-26 Q533 value

Postby AteThePrincess » September 19th, 2017, 6:35 am

Seems that this transistor is completely missing on my chassis.

I assume that turning it back on without it is a bad idea, yeah?
User avatar
nem
Posts: 825
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Update: Nanao MS8-26 Q533 value?

Postby nem » September 19th, 2017, 1:07 pm

Q533 is the HOT (a D1880), however, there are two mounting locations for it. One is supposed to be empty.

So you're not missing anything. Plug it in! :)
User avatar
NoAffinity
Posts: 272
Joined: January 8th, 2017, 3:46 pm
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
eBay: noaffinity
Initials: CSG

Re: Update: Nanao MS8-26 Q533 value?

Postby NoAffinity » September 19th, 2017, 3:36 pm

If I recall correctly from my Aero's MS8-26SG, the HOT is mounted on the side of one of the vertical metal brackets, in case that helps you find yours.
User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 176
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Re: Update: Nanao MS8-26 Q533 value?

Postby AteThePrincess » September 19th, 2017, 6:15 pm

nem wrote:Q533 is the HOT (a D1880), however, there are two mounting locations for it. One is supposed to be empty.

So you're not missing anything. Plug it in! :)


Interesting. Well, I'll give it a whirl soon as I get it back in its case!
NoAffinity wrote:If I recall correctly from my Aero's MS8-26SG, the HOT is mounted on the side of one of the vertical metal brackets, in case that helps you find yours.


This one is an MS8-26SU. My other Aero monitor is an SG :). But you're right, it's right up against the outer wall of the metal bracket surrounding the flyback.
User avatar
AteThePrincess
Posts: 176
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 4:11 am
Location: California, USA
eBay: isan725
Initials: ATP

Re: Update: Nanao MS8-26 Q533 value?

Postby AteThePrincess » September 19th, 2017, 7:18 pm

So I plugged it in with no video feed, set B+ to 92V as that's what the aforementioned KLOV link said, adjusted the brightness to get rid of the raster lines, turned it off, attached the video lines, back on, adjusted focus, and I'm left with an 90% good picture, but the one end of the screen does this:

https://youtu.be/tQgFtUhexJw

Wherever the ships move on screen the bottom wobbles. And I'm a little perplexed.

I did double and triple check polarity on the caps as I installed them. So I have zero doubt those are in proper.

EDIT: Okay, I'd missed the neckboard to tube black wire. Put that one, image is great. Time to put this guy to the side till I paint the cab this weekend :).

Thanks to everyone who helped!

Return to “Monitor Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users