Monitor Working!! more or less

For monitor related issues
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
zumbito
Posts: 526
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Monitor Working!! more or less

Postby zumbito » August 7th, 2017, 11:29 am

I just unwrapped a nanao ms8 that I bought, I was told it wasn't working but OMG it is! Problem is I can't get a clear picture. Any idea why the image looks like that? I remember in my NNC it was a sync issue, but can't see any Sync pots...

Image

So excited!!! :awe:
Last edited by zumbito on August 12th, 2017, 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 200
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
Location: Greece
eBay: sainshov

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby keropi » August 7th, 2017, 11:34 am

Tried messing with th SYNC pots?
zumbito
Posts: 526
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby zumbito » August 7th, 2017, 12:02 pm

This are the pots, no sync one:
Image

I changed PCBs to see if there is any effect. Another pic of the image I'm getting:

Image
User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 445
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby RMRM » August 7th, 2017, 12:11 pm

He means H. Hold and V.Hold, those are the "synch" pots ;)

Don't want to scare you, but doesn't look like something you can "fix" with those pots...
zumbito
Posts: 526
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Montior Working!! Well, not really...

Postby zumbito » August 7th, 2017, 12:14 pm

No definitely, I can't fix it with those pots... Any suggestions?
User avatar
Rossyra
Supermod
Posts: 9409
Joined: February 12th, 2009, 1:24 am
Location: UK

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby Rossyra » August 7th, 2017, 1:37 pm

H PHASE, try that
Image
zumbito
Posts: 526
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby zumbito » August 7th, 2017, 1:52 pm

Hi, with H Hold y V Hold, thing improved quite a bit. But now I see image x3:

Image
User avatar
PrincessPrinPrin
Posts: 346
Joined: April 7th, 2011, 4:00 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy
eBay: *mkl*

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby PrincessPrinPrin » August 7th, 2017, 2:08 pm

Monitor set to 24KHz? Set it to 15KHz.
Im running games with a vga to tv converter on my Shangai Novel, with composite and it looks amazing, Im not interested in RGB or Scart.

- anonymous
zumbito
Posts: 526
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby zumbito » August 7th, 2017, 3:18 pm

Bingo! Time to adjust geometry, colors and so on!
zumbito
Posts: 526
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby zumbito » August 12th, 2017, 8:42 am

Does anyone know how to make the image more curvy? Apparently the tube is more curved than the image, so the corners don´t show the entire image:

Image

Also, does anyone know what are this lines that show on top of the screen?

Image
User avatar
PrincessPrinPrin
Posts: 346
Joined: April 7th, 2011, 4:00 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy
eBay: *mkl*

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby PrincessPrinPrin » August 12th, 2017, 11:03 am

zumbito wrote:Does anyone know how to make the image more curvy? Apparently the tube is more curved than the image, so the corners don´t show the entire image:

Image


That geometry is as good as it gets on that tube style. You can't round the picture in the corners (and it wouldn't look any better), only underscan it if you want to see all of it. It's the old style faceplate that is used for 14", 16", 18", 20", 22" and 26" tubes. If you don't like it you should get a cab with a 19", 25", 28" or 29" tube as those have the newer style "full square" faceplate that was designed because the old one was considered "injurious to the eyes" as you can read in the original Toshiba patent.
Im running games with a vga to tv converter on my Shangai Novel, with composite and it looks amazing, Im not interested in RGB or Scart.

- anonymous
zumbito
Posts: 526
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby zumbito » August 12th, 2017, 11:08 am

PrincessPrinPrin wrote:
zumbito wrote:Does anyone know how to make the image more curvy? Apparently the tube is more curved than the image, so the corners don´t show the entire image:

Image


That geometry is as good as it gets on that tube style. You can't round the picture in the corners (and it wouldn't look any better), only underscan it if you want to see all of it. It's the old style faceplate that is used for 14", 16", 18", 20", 22" and 26" tubes. If you don't like it you should get a cab with a 19", 25", 28" or 29" tube as those have the newer style "full square" faceplate that was designed because the old one was considered "injurious to the eyes" as you can read in the original Toshiba patent.



Hahaha I take it. I´m quite Ok with it, was jut wondering if it could fit the screen perfectly. Only need to solve that lines thing, and maybe improve the focus.
User avatar
mufunyo
Posts: 743
Joined: August 21st, 2008, 12:26 am
Location: Eindhoven, NL
eBay: mufunyo
Initials: MUF

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby mufunyo » August 12th, 2017, 6:08 pm

PrincessPrinPrin wrote:You can't round the picture in the corners

There's no pincushion adjustment?
Image
Asure
Posts: 529
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Monitor Working!! more or less

Postby Asure » August 12th, 2017, 7:03 pm

Yup. Ms8 should have a tiny pot marked SPC somewhere on the pcb. Probably in a hard to reach area.
zumbito
Posts: 526
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Monitor Working!! more or less

Postby zumbito » August 13th, 2017, 9:53 am

Asure wrote:Yup. Ms8 should have a tiny pot marked SPC somewhere on the pcb. Probably in a hard to reach area.


Cool! For the time being I thing I will keep it as is. Can´t be bothered to take out the monitor again just to round the pic a bit. Image is quite good IMO, maybe just play with the focus ring.
Asure
Posts: 529
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby Asure » September 5th, 2017, 7:58 pm

zumbito wrote:Also, does anyone know what are this lines that show on top of the screen?
Image


You need to turn down the 'screen' pot a tiny bit, and/or set up the color pots correctly to get rid of this effect.
zumbito
Posts: 526
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Montior Working!! more or less

Postby zumbito » September 11th, 2017, 10:16 am

Asure wrote:
zumbito wrote:Also, does anyone know what are this lines that show on top of the screen?
Image


You need to turn down the 'screen' pot a tiny bit, and/or set up the color pots correctly to get rid of this effect.


Thanks I'll try that!

Return to “Monitor Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users