WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Trying to find something? Request it in here.
Topics are pruned after 90 days of inactivity.
Post Reply
delatroy
Posts: 7
Joined: October 31st, 2019, 8:29 pm
Location: Dublin
eBay: delatroy

WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by delatroy » February 13th, 2020, 8:08 am

Hello.
I’m in ireland which has the same power ratings as the UK.
I have 2 NACs that I intend to link together to play head to head. I read that it’s possible to get 1 step down conversion that is shared across both cabinets. Is this preferable though?

Can anyone recommend step down model numbers? I have heard Airlink are more expensive but higher quality and worth the money.

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
tronbaby
Posts: 10
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 1:29 pm
Location: United Kingdom
eBay: tronbaby
Initials: LOU

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by tronbaby » February 13th, 2020, 8:12 am

Yes, I have an Airlink and it’s great, not had a problem.
It’s very heavy and solid too, you can tell it’s worth the money. Someone on this forum recommended them to me too.

User avatar
DaveyD
Posts: 285
Joined: December 9th, 2014, 7:14 am
Location: Grimsby, UK
eBay: Dr_Daph
Initials: DPD

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by DaveyD » February 13th, 2020, 8:17 am

I use the UK-JA1000 to run 3 Astro City cabinets

https://airlinktransformers.com/product ... -uk-ja1000

User avatar
matt5cott
Posts: 178
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 12:18 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire
eBay: matt5cott
Initials: MAT
Contact:

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by matt5cott » February 13th, 2020, 9:31 am

Another shout for airlink, with the NAC you should be able to plug one NAC into the airlink then another NAC into the NAC daisy chain style.

User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 257
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
Location: The Netherlands
eBay: 3d_collector

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by Sp33dFr34k » February 13th, 2020, 9:35 am

matt5cott wrote:
February 13th, 2020, 9:31 am
Another shout for airlink, with the NAC you should be able to plug one NAC into the airlink then another NAC into the NAC daisy chain style.

No need, there's also Airlink stepdowns with multiple sockets.

User avatar
matt5cott
Posts: 178
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 12:18 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire
eBay: matt5cott
Initials: MAT
Contact:

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by matt5cott » February 13th, 2020, 9:43 am

Sp33dFr34k wrote:
February 13th, 2020, 9:35 am
matt5cott wrote:
February 13th, 2020, 9:31 am
Another shout for airlink, with the NAC you should be able to plug one NAC into the airlink then another NAC into the NAC daisy chain style.

No need, there's also Airlink stepdowns with multiple sockets.
Yep true :thumbup:

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1609
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by nem » February 13th, 2020, 12:05 pm

A 500W transformer will easily power two NACs.

User avatar
zak
Posts: 1147
Joined: October 19th, 2014, 1:35 pm
Location: UK
eBay: NA

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by zak » February 13th, 2020, 12:44 pm

"All transformers from 1kVA and above, are fitted with surge limiters"

https://airlinktransformers.com/categor ... converters

delatroy
Posts: 7
Joined: October 31st, 2019, 8:29 pm
Location: Dublin
eBay: delatroy

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by delatroy » February 13th, 2020, 9:33 pm


User avatar
Jah
Posts: 1
Joined: December 1st, 2018, 8:49 am
Location: Denmark
eBay: humbertguillencastr0
Initials: HGC
Contact:

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by Jah » Yesterday, 4:41 pm

Hello, someone know if the one with 250w will work for just a single NAC?

User avatar
yosai
Windy City
Posts: 3716
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by yosai » Yesterday, 4:50 pm

Jah wrote:
Yesterday, 4:41 MP
Hello, someone know if the one with 250w will work for just a single NAC?
Yes, the cabs are rated at 140W.

User avatar
Jah
Posts: 1
Joined: December 1st, 2018, 8:49 am
Location: Denmark
eBay: humbertguillencastr0
Initials: HGC
Contact:

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by Jah » Yesterday, 6:01 pm

yosai wrote:
Yesterday, 4:50 MP
Jah wrote:
Yesterday, 4:41 MP
Hello, someone know if the one with 250w will work for just a single NAC?
Yes, the cabs are rated at 140W.
Thanks

User avatar
tronbaby
Posts: 10
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 1:29 pm
Location: United Kingdom
eBay: tronbaby
Initials: LOU

Re: WTB Airlink step down conversion for NAC

Post by tronbaby » Yesterday, 6:09 pm

Don't you need to add on the power consumption of the system you're powering too when calculating the max load of a step down converter? I.e. I hear a Naomi 2 is very power hungry and needs a separate Sun PSU to power it, so that would go beyond the wattage of the base cab.
I'm not an expert myself so I'm only mentioning it to ask if someone can clarify?

Post Reply