Autofire Circuit

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
User avatar
yosai
280bpm's too slow
Posts: 3706
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by yosai » February 13th, 2010, 6:02 pm

Image

So that's either Ketsui, DOJ or EspGaluda. None of which need autofire. :lol:

Back on topic, I think this is the kind of solution DS is thinking of building.

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4857
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by Devil Soundwave » February 13th, 2010, 6:37 pm

Exactly. My design is based on pics of a similar device owned by Cools, but the hybrid chips are proving hard to find or expensive (red ones on thie board, black on Cools board). I spent all last night until 5am drawing a circuit diagram to achieve the same kind of setup using the Emphatic/Yosai chip as a basis - gonna do some testing tomorrow - off out on the booze tonight.

The Sanwa one commands £60 - £70; I hope to bring them in a damn site cheaper, and hopefully with better functionailty (i.e. variable rates etc). Plus they'll be brand new.

Also looking at this hold button down for .5 seconds before circuit kicks in idea.

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4857
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by Devil Soundwave » February 15th, 2010, 3:16 am

Prototype number one:

Image

Image

I have only built the circuit in to control the fire rate player 1 and player 2 button number 1, which is all I need for testing purposes - obviously the electronics will be tripled for all 3 buttons per player on the acual real pcb.

Also, left dips out as again, I don't need to turn it on and off for testing - after all, a switch is switch!

It's late, so gonna test it tomorrow (my OK is still in need of a new supply and both my other cabs are in the bedroom with my sleepy missus).

Provided all is well here, next I need to tackle the .5 second time delay.

Anyone here have experience of drawing up Gerber files? Drawing the schematic in pencil was easy. Doing it on the compuetr was a ****. Drawing a gerber is going to just be plain scary! Would be good to have someone who can maybe give it a look over down the line... ;)

Scuse the random components - was just using old crap out of my bits box (hence massive pot!).

If anyone has any other features they thinks would be cool (don't even have to be autofire related!), now is the time to speak up.

:)

User avatar
yosai
280bpm's too slow
Posts: 3706
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by yosai » February 15th, 2010, 11:56 am

Looking good man. That will be slightly more expensive to produce but will reduce hassle significantly, especially if you're autofiring both players and three buttons each.

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4857
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by Devil Soundwave » February 15th, 2010, 12:03 pm

yosai wrote:Looking good man. That will be slightly more expensive to produce but will reduce hassle significantly, especially if you're autofiring both players and three buttons each.
Indeed. And at 4am, whilst trying to get to sleep (fat chance) I had an epiphany and am pretty sure I can achieve the desired 0.5 second delay also.

As a little bonus, I think I might include a switchable voltage inverter on the PCB too for those times when you need -5V and done have it - flick a swithc, instant -5v rail. :)

It's about 70p worth of extra parts, so why not.

The more functionality and gadgets we can cram in the better...

User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6331
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Initials: JOR

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by emphatic » February 15th, 2010, 12:13 pm

Devil Soundwave wrote:As a little bonus, I think I might include a switchable voltage inverter on the PCB too for those times when you need -5V and done have it - flick a swithc, instant -5v rail. :)
That's a very nice addition. :awe:

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12704
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by cools » February 15th, 2010, 12:16 pm

What about if the cab already has -5v? Much increased PCB size?
Image

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4857
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by Devil Soundwave » February 15th, 2010, 12:19 pm

cools wrote:What about if the cab already has -5v? Much increased PCB size?
If it already has it, then you leave teh switch set to off. ;)

As for increased size, no not really. We're talking three caps, a 555 and a few resistors. 1 inch square additional space, for a neat little feature that could prove useful to some.

User avatar
markedkiller78
Pony fucker
Posts: 7353
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by markedkiller78 » February 15th, 2010, 12:21 pm

I have a not-a-negatron that dj_johnyg knocked up for me. Handy little thing to have.

Sounds like a nice addition DS. Mine is tiny. 3 wires and something the size of a cap.
Image

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12704
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by cools » February 15th, 2010, 12:23 pm

Tell you what would be cool - if you make it in a T shape, rather than flat, so it takes up minimal space in front of the PCB.
Image

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4857
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by Devil Soundwave » February 15th, 2010, 12:28 pm

cools wrote:Tell you what would be cool - if you make it in a T shape, rather than flat, so it takes up minimal space in front of the PCB.
I'll do whatever you guys like - the consensus is teh one to aim for after all.

Sketch please... :)

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12704
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by cools » February 15th, 2010, 12:34 pm

It'd be like the Sanwa one shown, but with the entrance port directly in front of the exit.

Code: Select all

   | 
  _|_
Image

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4857
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by Devil Soundwave » February 15th, 2010, 12:55 pm

Oh I see. Well we're talking two PCBS there as the fingerboard would have to be at an angle. Probably achieveable, though possible not cost effective. Let me look at some datasheets and shiz and get back to you on that one.

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4857
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by Devil Soundwave » February 15th, 2010, 12:57 pm

Actually, I can probably achive this using board mount rightangle version of the hirose connector as used for CPS2, just 56 pin. I'll phone Mouser girly and see if she'll bung me a freeby.

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4857
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by Devil Soundwave » February 22nd, 2010, 1:11 pm

Update: Can definately achieve the right-angle board using Hirose DF11 connectors. :)

Testing is going a bit slowly as I was doing each revision by hand using solder - got tired of it, so have ordered some breadboard adn will continue when I am able to just plug and unplug on the fly.

Looking promising thus far though! :D

User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6331
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Initials: JOR

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by emphatic » February 22nd, 2010, 3:08 pm

:awe:

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12704
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by cools » February 23rd, 2010, 9:15 pm

yosai wrote:Built a clone of emphatics passive autofire circuit and it works alright. RFJ has never been so easy. :awe:

The orange wires have spade connectors on the ends and attach in series to the required buttons (max 2)

The green wire connects to GND, and the black wire (not needed) is a longer GND wire.

Pot adjustment ranges from always on to around 30Hz.

Schematic also attached.
If you get a chance, I wouldn't mind borrowing one of these to prove a point :)
Image

User avatar
tetsujin
Hello, I say
Posts: 2012
Joined: September 8th, 2008, 4:33 pm
Location: Leicester
Initials: AC.

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by tetsujin » February 24th, 2010, 4:41 pm

Id love one of these for my Japanese Raiden DX - my arm muscles start to ache after about 4 credits and am sure I get fatigue after the 2nd level! :D
LOL Cats... stupid cats

User avatar
markedkiller78
Pony fucker
Posts: 7353
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by markedkiller78 » February 24th, 2010, 4:53 pm

tetsujin wrote:Id love one of these for my Japanese Raiden DX - my arm muscles start to ache after about 4 credits and am sure I get fatigue after the 2nd level! :D
Raiden DX, Outzone, Batsugun, Flying Shark

They all pain me to play (until DS goes nuclear with production)
Image

User avatar
Devil Soundwave
Doesn't go to eleven
Posts: 4857
Joined: January 7th, 2009, 11:56 pm
Location: North London, UK
eBay: DevilSoundwave

Re: Autofire Circuit

Post by Devil Soundwave » February 24th, 2010, 4:58 pm

You both need to excercise your wrists more... ;)

Post Reply