Model 3 Sound amp (from a New Astro City)

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Post Reply
User avatar
markedkiller78
Pony fucker
Posts: 7392
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Model 3 Sound amp (from a New Astro City)

Post by markedkiller78 » November 3rd, 2009, 10:58 am

My latest Model 3 question.

Both my NACs have this sound amp. Image

Both handle stereo without any problems, but the mono over jamma is tinny & has a lot of interference. Cools has kindly poked about with the multi meter & thinks that the resistor at R1 has blown. We can't get any reading off it at all. Do you think this could be the problem?

Image

The resistor is rated at 10 Ohms, I think :? Would you expect a reading from this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Image

User avatar
CPS2
Street Fighter
Posts: 2005
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 10:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Model 3 Sound amp (from a New Astro City)

Post by CPS2 » November 3rd, 2009, 11:08 am

Is it the same on both amps.?

Ordyne
Posts: 72
Joined: October 9th, 2008, 9:09 am
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Re: Model 3 Sound amp (from a New Astro City)

Post by Ordyne » November 3rd, 2009, 11:10 am

Have you tested the resistor out of circuit?
Craig Walker • Giz10p • http://www.giz10p.co.uk

Specialists In Amusement Equipment Spares & Repairs

User avatar
markedkiller78
Pony fucker
Posts: 7392
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Model 3 Sound amp (from a New Astro City)

Post by markedkiller78 » November 3rd, 2009, 11:54 am

Same one both (the other blew last night)

Yes, tested the resistor & there was still no reading. Just been to Maplin & bought 2 x 10 Ohm resistors & one has been soldered back on by Cools :awe:

We'll soon know if it works
Image

User avatar
markedkiller78
Pony fucker
Posts: 7392
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Model 3 Sound amp (from a New Astro City)

Post by markedkiller78 » November 3rd, 2009, 12:01 pm

Fixed :awe:

The 10 Ohm pictured had blown, on both cabs :?

I now have one working, time to move on to number 2. Thanks for the input guys.
Image

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12794
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Model 3 Sound amp (from a New Astro City)

Post by cools » November 3rd, 2009, 2:42 pm

32p to fix both amps :D
Image

Post Reply