Stereo on an Astro City

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
CPS2
Street Fighter
Posts: 2005
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 10:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Stereo on an Astro City

Post by CPS2 » June 12th, 2009, 9:57 pm

I'm mulling over picking up chops 4 slot MVS. It got me thinking about adding a stereo amp into my astro and running the sound direct (would be good for CPS2 too) - Since the speakers are stereo already, it just the jamma loom that is wired for mono.

I've searched all over the forum and elsewhere but have not found anyone that has "upgraded" to stereo on an Astro. Anyone ever done this??

Ta

User avatar
Mayhem
Posts: 264
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 10:15 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
eBay: Mayhem_SWE
Contact:

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by Mayhem » June 13th, 2009, 11:17 am

If you are only looking to do stereo for games with an on-board amplifier like the MVS then all you need is to make a harness that plugs into your game on one end and the 4-pin speaker connector under the control panel (next to the connectors for the controller harnesses). If you're installing an amplifier you'd connect it to the speakers in the very same place.
Once I start I cannot stop myself

User avatar
CPS2
Street Fighter
Posts: 2005
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 10:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by CPS2 » June 13th, 2009, 8:38 pm

Mayhem wrote:If you are only looking to do stereo for games with an on-board amplifier like the MVS then all you need is to make a harness that plugs into your game on one end and the 4-pin speaker connector under the control panel (next to the connectors for the controller harnesses). If you're installing an amplifier you'd connect it to the speakers in the very same place.
Ah, I see. Any suggestions for a decent amp. I'm thinking a naomi one.

User avatar
Ramza
Posts: 96
Joined: September 3rd, 2008, 1:54 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by Ramza » September 8th, 2009, 12:03 am

Which amp did you use? Was thinking about doing the same with my New Astros.

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by dieKatze88 » September 8th, 2009, 2:45 am

You know I've been doing some research on this. I want to build a 4pin Konami style stereo speaker harness for my New Astro, seeing as my GX games and Gradius IV can both benefit from said cable.

According to the wiring diagram for the New Astro, the New Astro has 2 4Ohm 30w speakers, and the connector under the CP is in fact the correct connector. The panel side (The fixed side) is the speakers, and the harness side goes down to your jamma harness, and by default its wired in series, so you get 1 8ohm 30w speaker equivalent load.

Pin 1 is Speaker L +
Pin 2 is Speaker L -
Pin 3 is Speaker R +
Pin 4 is Speaker R -

Default wiring is bridged pin 2 and 3

Now, as long as we're all talking speakers, I'd like to know if wiring 30w speakers where Konami says 15w speakers should be is a good or a bad idea. the GX wiring diagram introduces the idea that one should wire 8ohm 15w max to the Konami GX, does anyone have any input on speaker wattage? I've found using the Internet(tm) that the ohms are fine (Manual also shows 4ohm wiring) but I have no idea about wattage on speakers. I'm new to that idea.

My cab also *APPEARS* to have an amp in the bottom of it, and I have *NO* idea why its not hooked up at all.
http://katzepower.com/Arcade/Gokujyou/DSC_0032.JPG
look at the lower left. That thing underneath the PSU proper is an amp, and its connected only to power (thinking about disconnecting it and seeing what does/doesn't happen. Saving power is good!) In addition to that, the PSU amp isn't active either. I can spin that knob on top and get *NOTHING*

So I guess if we all talk about this enough we might be able to document some of this. If we get together some good information, I'll put it into an article on the wiki.
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Ramza
Posts: 96
Joined: September 3rd, 2008, 1:54 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by Ramza » November 5th, 2009, 9:49 am

dieKatze88 wrote:So I guess if we all talk about this enough we might be able to document some of this. If we get together some good information, I'll put it into an article on the wiki.
Any news on this?

User avatar
Shady994
Posts: 409
Joined: September 6th, 2008, 4:10 pm
Location: Beds.
eBay: lmstolton
Initials: SDY

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by Shady994 » November 5th, 2009, 12:02 pm

dieKatze88 wrote:Now, as long as we're all talking speakers, I'd like to know if wiring 30w speakers where Konami says 15w speakers should be is a good or a bad idea. the GX wiring diagram introduces the idea that one should wire 8ohm 15w max to the Konami GX, does anyone have any input on speaker wattage? I've found using the Internet(tm) that the ohms are fine (Manual also shows 4ohm wiring) but I have no idea about wattage on speakers. I'm new to that idea.
wiring 30w speakers where 15w are specified is fine. You can use speakers of a greater power rating, but should avoid using ones of a lower power rating. don't use a 15w speaker in place of a 30w for example.

The impedance (ohms) does matter, although most solid state audio amps (like those on game boards) will operate fine with mismatched impedance, albeit at a slightly reduced power output.

User avatar
markedkiller78
Gods first iteration
Posts: 7172
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by markedkiller78 » November 5th, 2009, 12:17 pm

This is the amp that's in both my NACs. Image

Craig is selling them for £20 ea. It's pretty straight forward to hook up, but doesn't take phono as an input. Maybe one of the other model 2, 3 or Naomi would be easier?

I guess it depends on what wiring you already have in there. The firthest Right is Mono in, the one next to it is Mono out, the other is the stereo in / out.
Image

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by dieKatze88 » November 5th, 2009, 1:05 pm

huh. That thing actually looks like it doesn't belong. I have this big metal thing mounted under my PSU. It has 2 4 pin AMP-UP connectors on it.

I actually stereo'd my New Astro recently, I bought the last JVS conversion loom for New Astro/Blast City from giz10p, and it has a VERY helpful 4 pin loom on it, giving me RCA ports off of that thing, I connected the speakers to the output port on the amp (They were connected only to the jamma harness before) and then connected the output from my SPF2x or my Gradius IV to my amp using the JVS bundle (Its hilarious to see this pile of wires in my cab for two speakers) and everything just went. I suppose I could write some **** up then.
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Ramza
Posts: 96
Joined: September 3rd, 2008, 1:54 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by Ramza » November 6th, 2009, 9:49 am

markedkiller78 wrote:This is the amp that's in both my NACs. Image

Craig is selling them for £20 ea. It's pretty straight forward to hook up, but doesn't take phono as an input. Maybe one of the other model 2, 3 or Naomi would be easier?

I guess it depends on what wiring you already have in there. The firthest Right is Mono in, the one next to it is Mono out, the other is the stereo in / out.
So basicaly, I can use any stereo amp for this? Sorry for being such a noob... :oops:

User avatar
markedkiller78
Gods first iteration
Posts: 7172
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by markedkiller78 » November 6th, 2009, 10:00 am

dieKatze88 wrote:huh. That thing actually looks like it doesn't belong. I have this big metal thing mounted under my PSU. It has 2 4 pin AMP-UP connectors on it.
That is exactly what is inside the metal case under my PSU :awe:

The 4 pin amp connectors are Stereo in / out. If you open the case up you will probably find that the speaker from the jamma cable is routed through the the 6 pin connectors marked CN2 & CN3. From what I can see this allows the volume knob to control the volume. Only reason I know this is because one of the resistors blew on the mono line.

Image
Image

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by dieKatze88 » November 6th, 2009, 1:19 pm

markedkiller78 wrote:
dieKatze88 wrote:huh. That thing actually looks like it doesn't belong. I have this big metal thing mounted under my PSU. It has 2 4 pin AMP-UP connectors on it.
That is exactly what is inside the metal case under my PSU :awe:

The 4 pin amp connectors are Stereo in / out. If you open the case up you will probably find that the speaker from the jamma cable is routed through the the 6 pin connectors marked CN2 & CN3. From what I can see this allows the volume knob to control the volume. Only reason I know this is because one of the resistors blew on the mono line.

Image
Doh! Haven't gotten to taking that apart!

I'll take a picture of my setup when I get home from work tonight, Right now its stereo on a CPS2, so It will be a good visual guide to everybody.
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by dieKatze88 » November 11th, 2009, 8:05 pm

http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/wiki/Astro_ ... reo_Wiring

Bump for great Justice!

Pictures to come soon!

Oh yeah, add links to that to anything and everything that uses the same standards.
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Sobriquet
Posts: 179
Joined: April 20th, 2009, 11:42 pm
Location: Dublin (Formally Essex, UK)
eBay: kaff_white

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by Sobriquet » December 12th, 2009, 2:51 pm

markedkiller78 wrote:This is the amp that's in both my NACs. Image

Craig is selling them for £20 ea. It's pretty straight forward to hook up, but doesn't take phono as an input. Maybe one of the other model 2, 3 or Naomi would be easier?
How is the power wired to the transformer? Is it 5V? 12V? I might get one and power it off the PC PSU.

User avatar
Ramza
Posts: 96
Joined: September 3rd, 2008, 1:54 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by Ramza » February 9th, 2010, 10:45 pm

Sorry to bump this old thread again, but since neither of my NAC amps (400-5198-01Y & 400-5198-01X) seems to have a built-in stereo amp, I need some advice which amp I should get. Would be nice if it had RCA inputs and could be easily connected to the New Astro wiring. Thanks!

User avatar
Pete
On a Sabbatical
Posts: 3710
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 8:23 pm
Location: Hertfordshire
eBay: arcave
Contact:

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by Pete » February 9th, 2010, 10:54 pm

My New Astro has the metal cage under the PSU & its complete with the stereo amp, wiring + its own PSU, I've been told this was Virtua Fighter 1.

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by dieKatze88 » February 9th, 2010, 11:06 pm

Pete wrote:My New Astro has the metal cage under the PSU & its complete with the stereo amp, wiring + its own PSU, I've been told this was Virtua Fighter 1.
I've got the metal cage too, it has 2-four pin AMP UPs on it, one labeled in and one labeled out.
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Ramza
Posts: 96
Joined: September 3rd, 2008, 1:54 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by Ramza » February 28th, 2010, 3:32 pm

I was thinking about buying a Naomi amp for my NAC, but as usual, I have some questions first ;)

Both my NACs have the AMP connectors for Power and Sound, that you can see here (of course without the stereo amp)
Image

Here's a picture of the Naomi stereo amp:
Image

To connect it to my NAC's power supply (400-5261Y), I was going to buy the dedicated cable here:
http://www.giz10p.co.uk/Cabinet-Parts/W ... d_160.html
However, this cable seems to have a 6pin JVS VL male connector. Does anybody know, if there's a cable with a female 2pin AMP for the blue / pink connector (see first pic) of my NAC psu? Or do I need something totally different?

For the speaker output, It seems like I need to build or buy a AMP 4pin female to 2x AMP male cable, right?

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by dieKatze88 » February 28th, 2010, 8:01 pm

That blue pink cable is +110VAC. I would seriously suggest NOT putting that directly into a Naomi Amp.
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Ramza
Posts: 96
Joined: September 3rd, 2008, 1:54 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Stereo on an Astro City

Post by Ramza » March 1st, 2010, 1:17 pm

dieKatze88 wrote:That blue pink cable is +110VAC. I would seriously suggest NOT putting that directly into a Naomi Amp.
Is the Naomi Amp +12V? How can I power this through my NAC psu?

Post Reply