Page 1 of 1

New Astro City no sound Help please

Posted: March 20th, 2021, 2:16 pm
by Stox58
Hi all,

The cabinet was working fine but I’ve just installed the replacement LG style speakers, but the sound has now gone !. Tried the old speakers, replaced the PSU and checked the connections, plus different game boards but nothing.
Is there something I’m missing and how did replacement speakers do this, they should be the correct one’s.
Any ideas?

Thanks from Luke

Re: New Astro City no sound Help please

Posted: March 20th, 2021, 3:00 pm
by NASguy
Check speaker wiring, check ground wiring, seems like the issues to me if the old speakers stopped working also. Pins/connectors get old, any futzing and a wire could come out just enough to break connection, or maybe a wire broke inside. It's happened to me on my CP where everything stopped working over one ground wire. I wouldn't worry. At the very worst you might be looking at re-wiring just your speakers to make extra sure.

Re: New Astro City no sound Help please

Posted: March 20th, 2021, 3:01 pm
by Stox58
The only thing I have found are some unprotected soldering on the speaker wires that could have earthed out, could this have taken the amp out on both PSU’s ?

Re: New Astro City no sound Help please

Posted: March 20th, 2021, 3:03 pm
by NASguy
Stox58 wrote:
March 20th, 2021, 3:01 pm
The only thing I have found are some unprotected soldering on the speaker wires that could have earthed out, could this have taken the amp out on both PSU’s ?
I'm no expert, but sounds unlikely, not unless you heard a loud pop or something very bad.

If you have a small portable amp laying around, you could wire it up to test the new speakers. My NAC never had a Sega stereo amp in it, so I added one in with tone controls myself and have it wired to accept RCA

Image

Re: New Astro City no sound Help please

Posted: March 20th, 2021, 4:26 pm
by nem
Did you have the new speakers working at all after your swapped to them?

Do you have the 4-pin connector plugged in next to the control panel connectors? I forget to plug that in every time I put the monitor bezel back on :roll:

Re: New Astro City no sound Help please

Posted: March 20th, 2021, 7:35 pm
by Stox58
nem wrote:
March 20th, 2021, 4:26 pm
Did you have the new speakers working at all after your swapped to them?

Do you have the 4-pin connector plugged in next to the control panel connectors? I forget to plug that in every time I put the monitor bezel back on :roll:
Yes the 4pin connector is in inside the control panel and no never had any sound with the new speakers

Re: New Astro City no sound Help please

Posted: March 20th, 2021, 7:36 pm
by Stox58
NASguy wrote:
March 20th, 2021, 3:03 pm
Stox58 wrote:
March 20th, 2021, 3:01 pm
The only thing I have found are some unprotected soldering on the speaker wires that could have earthed out, could this have taken the amp out on both PSU’s ?
I'm no expert, but sounds unlikely, not unless you heard a loud pop or something very bad.

If you have a small portable amp laying around, you could wire it up to test the new speakers. My NAC never had a Sega stereo amp in it, so I added one in with tone controls myself and have it wired to accept RCA

Image
No bang or pops, just no sound

Re: New Astro City no sound Help please

Posted: March 20th, 2021, 7:41 pm
by Stox58
NASguy wrote:
March 20th, 2021, 3:00 pm
Check speaker wiring, check ground wiring, seems like the issues to me if the old speakers stopped working also. Pins/connectors get old, any futzing and a wire could come out just enough to break connection, or maybe a wire broke inside. It's happened to me on my CP where everything stopped working over one ground wire. I wouldn't worry. At the very worst you might be looking at re-wiring just your speakers to make extra sure.
Just added a separate earth to the back off the cabinet, but still nothing, might get some earth wire from work and add some more bonding.
Yes might have to re-wire the speakers to make sure

Re: New Astro City no sound Help please

Posted: April 7th, 2021, 5:11 pm
by Stox58
Thanks all

All sorted now, ended up re-wiring from the PSU / AMP to the Speakers