PSU options for NAC w/ CPS2, FPGA and PC

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Post Reply
delatroy
Posts: 8
Joined: October 31st, 2019, 8:29 pm
Location: Dublin
eBay: delatroy

PSU options for NAC w/ CPS2, FPGA and PC

Post by delatroy » January 25th, 2020, 11:08 am

Hello :)
I recently acquired a NAC and I'm in the process of restoring it.
I intend to include 3 things:
  • PC so that I can play FightCade online
  • FPGA like the MiSteR so that I can play other arcade games
  • CPS2 linked to a 2nd cabinet to play vs. locally
Currently the cabinet has the standard PSU. Is it possible to use a PC PSU for all devices, the cabinet's lights, etc somehow? Do I need separate PSUs?

Any tips appreciated!

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1612
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: PSU options for NAC w/ CPS2, FPGA and PC

Post by nem » January 25th, 2020, 1:04 pm

The marquee light and the monitor are both powered by AC mains voltage. The PSU outputs DC voltage. You can use the original NAC PSU to power the CPS2 motherboard (5V & 12V) and the MiSTer (5V). I would keep the PC and its PSU separate from that, otherwise you'll just end up with a mess of wires.

delatroy
Posts: 8
Joined: October 31st, 2019, 8:29 pm
Location: Dublin
eBay: delatroy

Re: PSU options for NAC w/ CPS2, FPGA and PC

Post by delatroy » January 26th, 2020, 8:42 pm

Thank you.
If the stock PSU is powering the mister and CPS2, can it power both simultaneously or will i need to manually switch between mister and CPS2 by unplugging / plugging?

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1612
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: PSU options for NAC w/ CPS2, FPGA and PC

Post by nem » January 27th, 2020, 11:53 am

I would manually switch between the two. I would rig up the MiSTer to a jamma edge connector, so it would be just that one connector** you would need to swap for power, audio, video and controls.

** you will need an additional kick harness if you want to play 6 buttons games on either thing.

Post Reply