Chewlix vs Vewlix vs other modern Cabs

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
LupinTheThird
Please Continue...
eBay: guymelfe

Chewlix vs Vewlix vs other modern Cabs

Post by LupinTheThird »

Greetings all. I am new to this after buying an Arcade 1UP a little over a month ago and having buyer's remorse by the 2nd day, not to mention instant carpal tunnel from the absurdly small size of it. At first I was all set on a Recroom Cabinet but then I saw that they don't even close in the back. Not sure why that bothers me but it's not really a cabinet in my mind if that's the case, it's a $1000 shelf that I still have to supply speakers, monitor, etc. I really like the look of the Vewlix cabinets but I'm also up for a Lindberg or something similar. Ideally I want to run MAME and not interested in older cabs with crts or dealing with PCBs. So a couple of questions:

1) I saw on some forum, might have been here or on reddit, that a user mentioned if you can find the correct Chinese manufacturer you are actually getting Vewlix cabinets since it is a Chinese factory that makes them for Taito; though they are not 'officially' Vewlix since they didn't come through Taito but the company sells them on the side. Does anyone know who this manufacturer is? Please feel free to PM me if necessary.

2) How is the quality of Chewlix cabs you guys have vs official Vewlix cabs? When I place my hands on the board is a chewlix going to creak and feel like cheap knock-off crap? Or do they feel solid and hold up well?

3) Joystick compatibility- The recroommasters guys were pretty adamant about needing their new emulation pro controller for proper compatibility with MAME out of the controllers they offer. I will likely use a raspberryPi or Pandora Box. Will I run into problems having to reassign controllers constantly as they implied? Or was that salesman talk? I presume a PI or Pandora will retain all settings without any issue once hooked up to something like a Chewlix/Vewlix cab, right?