Adding phono input to NAC

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
Post Reply
User avatar
gozaimas
Posts: 29
Joined: September 24th, 2018, 11:26 am
Location: UK
eBay: yodamiffy
Initials: GOZ

Adding phono input to NAC

Post by gozaimas » January 2nd, 2019, 9:24 am

I'd like to add a phono input to my New Astro City, in order to allow me to run audio directly from a MAME system into the cab, rather than via Jamma (although obviously I want to keep be able to feed audio via Jamma as well, for my original boards). Is there a simple way to do this? Any help gratefully received!

User avatar
zipper
Posts: 111
Joined: March 20th, 2015, 11:47 am
Location: Southend on Sea
eBay: bazpatts
Initials: BAZ

Re: Adding phono input to NAC

Post by zipper » January 2nd, 2019, 10:28 am

The easiest thing to do is get a cheap little amp. I've used these before : https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TDA7297-AC-D ... 4902.l9144
You can run 12v from the power supply in the cab, and then run the amplified output to the speakers.

User avatar
gozaimas
Posts: 29
Joined: September 24th, 2018, 11:26 am
Location: UK
eBay: yodamiffy
Initials: GOZ

Re: Adding phono input to NAC

Post by gozaimas » January 2nd, 2019, 12:20 pm

Perfect - thank you

User avatar
zipper
Posts: 111
Joined: March 20th, 2015, 11:47 am
Location: Southend on Sea
eBay: bazpatts
Initials: BAZ

Re: Adding phono input to NAC

Post by zipper » January 2nd, 2019, 1:43 pm

No prob - i found a pic of it stuck on one of my mame machines here:
Image
... and if you want to mix the pre-amp to mono, I jumped these 2 points:
Image

Post Reply