Wires

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 629
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Wires

Post by erzane »

Hi Guys,

My Jamma harness handles 2mm thickness for all the wires going to the PSU (+5v/-5v/+12v and GND) and 1,5mm for all other wires.
I heard that PSU needs thicker size. Should my PSU really handle 2mm thickness?

I bought this by Topsgame. They are raw, no brand. Thickness is only 1,2mm (they said ''0.3'' - I don't know why..)
https://www.tops-game.jp/products/detai ... ct_id=2616

This one says ''1,25''. I didn't received it yet but it looks thicker:
https://www.tops-game.jp/products/detai ... ct_id=3267

This one, I don't know, it should be the same as the 1st one, but different colors:
https://www.tops-game.jp/products/detai ... ct_id=3278

In my harnesses I notified 3 different mixed names/brands:

1. AWM 1007 VW-1 E84547 KAWAGUCHI CSA TYPE TR-64 18AWG -F-

2. LL25748 SHINAGAWA CSA TYPE TR-64 FTI 22AWG E42933 RU AWM 1007 VW-1

3. AWM E74037 STYLE 1007 22AWG VW-1 TONICHI CSA LL46139 TYPE TR-64 TONICHI -F-


Where can I find all those wires with precise references and thickness on each colour pls?
Attachments
DSCN8990.JPG
Arcade's nice when done well
User avatar
DaveyD
Posts: 295
Joined: December 9th, 2014, 7:14 am
Location: Grimsby, UK
eBay: Dr_Daph
Initials: DPD

Re: Wires

Post by DaveyD »

How are you measuring the cable? No way do you need 2mm core for power.

Awg to mm conversion here:

https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/awg- ... d_731.html
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 629
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: Wires

Post by erzane »

You want to say, ''no need to use 2mm for power right (to much for power)?'' (since english don't like ponctuation sometimes I missunderstand it sorry)

I'm using a ruler
Attachments
Sans titre-1.jpg
DSCN8996.JPG
Arcade's nice when done well
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8404
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
eBay: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK

Re: Wires

Post by crunchywasp »

As a guide use 16 or 18 AWG for power and ground and 22 AWG for everything else.

If you really feel you have to physically measure the diameter, then measure across the core, not the insulation.

You can buy all the cable you need from somewhere like RS Components or Farnell.
Image
User avatar
DaveyD
Posts: 295
Joined: December 9th, 2014, 7:14 am
Location: Grimsby, UK
eBay: Dr_Daph
Initials: DPD

Re: Wires

Post by DaveyD »

Don't measure the insulation. Only measure the copper as the thickness of the insulation can change with manufacturer.

On cheap Chinese looms the put thicker insulation on the power wires to make them look a much heavier gauge.

Thicker copper core can handle more current and will have less voltage drop over a distance. No need for more than 1mm square for power
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 629
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: Wires

Post by erzane »

I see, so I should take AWG18 (PSU) & AWG22 (buttons and sticks).
All my PSU wire are in fact AWG18 you're totaly right. And all others are AWG22.

Are all jamma harness composed with both AWG18 & AWG22?

p.s. I don't know which item to choose because there are a lot of harnesses by Farnell and no pics, but I would like those japanese ones listed above (Tonichi for example). Can you help me to choose pls?
Last edited by erzane on January 28th, 2018, 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Arcade's nice when done well
User avatar
PrincessPrinPrin
Posts: 494
Joined: April 7th, 2011, 4:00 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy
eBay: *mkl*
Initials: MKL

Re: Wires

Post by PrincessPrinPrin »

AWG just refers to the size. Then you have the wire type. Professional Jamma harnesses/PSUs etc. use UL 1007 wire which is rated 300V 80°C.
Im running games with a vga to tv converter on my Shangai Novel, with composite and it looks amazing, Im not interested in RGB or Scart.

- anonymous
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 629
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: Wires

Post by erzane »

PrincessPrinPrin wrote:AWG just refers to the size. Then you have the wire type. Professional Jamma harnesses/PSUs etc. use UL 1007 wire which is rated 300V 80°C.
I found a Shinagawa with the spec you gave me, but I cannot find out if they are selling more colours.
http://shinagawa-wire.co.jp/_userdata/1007.pdf

Kawagushi do not exists anymore
Perhaps arcade uses multiple brands because some have different colors availables.. It's only an idea..

About Tonichi: it seems they have only 3 colours.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Last edited by erzane on January 28th, 2018, 9:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Arcade's nice when done well
User avatar
PrincessPrinPrin
Posts: 494
Joined: April 7th, 2011, 4:00 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy
eBay: *mkl*
Initials: MKL

Re: Wires

Post by PrincessPrinPrin »

Just look for "1007 hookup wire AWG18 or AWG22" in spools as short as possible.
Im running games with a vga to tv converter on my Shangai Novel, with composite and it looks amazing, Im not interested in RGB or Scart.

- anonymous
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 629
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: Wires

Post by erzane »

Reference is ok but the problem is the possibility to order japanese ones from those brands.
Farnell don't seems to sell from thoses japanese manufacturers, but tomorrow I'll certainly have their confirmation.

Edit: Shinagawa have an easy presentation, we can find the correct item quick
I just wrote to them 8-)
info@shinagawa-wire.co.jp
http://shinagawa-wire.co.jp/ul.csa.html

Tonichi, here is the correct one.
But no way to send email
http://www.tonichi-kyosan.co.jp/product ... index.html

I found Miyami Densen to (they made wires for the 5pin harness for LS-32-01 micro switch)
http://e-wire.azia.co.jp/miyama/ul/ul.htm#contact
Their email: miyamadensen@iaa.itkeeper.ne.jp

So, let's wait some news
Arcade's nice when done well
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8404
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
eBay: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK

Re: Wires

Post by crunchywasp »

Do they absolutely have to be Japanese?
Image
User avatar
markedkiller78
Pony fucker
Posts: 7335
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Wires

Post by markedkiller78 »

Japan imports copper, no doubt from China
Image
User avatar
Brettster
Posts: 182
Joined: February 21st, 2015, 10:07 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Wires

Post by Brettster »

erzane wrote:You want to say, ''no need to use 2mm for power right (to much for power)?'' (since english don't like ponctuation sometimes I missunderstand it sorry)

I'm using a ruler
Really like the attention to detail and the effort you went to with the drawing :D
Looking for More Space!
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 629
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: Wires

Post by erzane »

>crunchywasp
All japanese of course. I even ordered foam adhesive tape from Japan. Every single little pieces of this cab will be refurbished with japanese parts. Even the nuts (and I'm serious ;)

Thanks Brettster :D
Arcade's nice when done well
User avatar
Rossyra
Supermod
Posts: 8016
Joined: February 12th, 2009, 1:24 am
Location: UK

Re: Wires

Post by Rossyra »

Your wires will be about as japanese as my nuts.
Image
User avatar
invzim
Posts: 474
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:26 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
eBay: prrole

Re: Wires

Post by invzim »

For power, bigger=better. For controls, it doesn't really matter.

For the Jammafier I'm doing, I wrote a little note on power:
https://irkenlabs.com/jammafier/power

You can find european to AWG references all over the web.
I make and sell cool Arcade stuff, check out https://irkenlabs.com/ - In The Name of Science!
User avatar
Sunder
Posts: 185
Joined: August 31st, 2017, 12:13 pm
Location: Slovakia
eBay: sunderaj82
Initials: SUN

Re: Wires

Post by Sunder »

I was just going to make a joke about you wanting your wires being japanese, and then you made it yourself. :lol:
User avatar
erzane
Not Made In Japan
Posts: 629
Joined: August 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm
Location: CH
eBay: Gab79

Re: Wires

Post by erzane »

Imvzim: thanks

Sunder: I'm to quick :lol:

For those who would be interested I finally found all kind of wires there ;)
http://www.sengoku.co.jp/mod/sgk_cart/s ... p?cid=3463

Thanks for your help guys
Arcade's nice when done well
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12729
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: Wires

Post by cools »

Good thing Japan has it's own local copper mines and oil wells, make sure your wire manufacturer gets it's raw materials from a direct source.
Image
User avatar
bloodhokuto
Posts: 804
Joined: June 24th, 2012, 4:20 pm
Location: Kent
eBay: coryoon

Re: Wires

Post by bloodhokuto »

The metal is folded multiple times for extra quality.

Some of the wire is from ancient katanas, which as we all know are made of the strongest metal in the world. - If you don't believe me, please watch the documentatary seven samurai, which was about 6 famous sword makers.
- -
Looking to get a replacement foot panel for my Minicute.
If anyone sees one, let me know!
- -
Image
Post Reply