Blown Astro City PSU

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Post Reply
zumbito
Posts: 652
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Blown Astro City PSU

Post by zumbito »

Well,

Yesterday, playing with my NAC I blew up the PSU. Seems difficult to find a replacement one. IS it possible to use another PSU? NAC Psu have lots of wires coming in and out, has anybody rewire them to a normal PSU?
User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 278
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
Location: The Netherlands
eBay: 3d_collector

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by Sp33dFr34k »

These guys have, unfortunately kind of expensive though...

http://cwispy.com/tag/astro-city-psu/
User avatar
phillv85
Posts: 297
Joined: March 16th, 2013, 9:16 pm
Location:
eBay: phillv85
Initials: PAV

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by phillv85 »

Which PSU is in it? There's usually some for sale on YAJ.
User avatar
nem
Posts: 1999
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by nem »

What did you do to it exactly?
User avatar
Eddhorse
Posts: 105
Joined: November 13th, 2015, 7:06 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Initials: EDL

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by Eddhorse »

User avatar
discotroll
Posts: 15
Joined: October 23rd, 2015, 10:56 am
Location: Germany
eBay: hoodsmg

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by discotroll »

You can do the fix, which was suggest in my thread about this:

http://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic. ... 06#p442648

Works like a charm and it is a easy fix.
zumbito
Posts: 652
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by zumbito »

nem wrote:What did you do to it exactly?
I had a problem with it, unscrew it, and turn it on withour the fuse plastic cover. Aparently the fuse didn't work and it burned out the PSU.

Thinking on using a Naomi PSU, but not sure if it can be done, or how to replace the PSU buttons or volume knob...
discotroll wrote:You can do the fix, which was suggest in my thread about this:


http://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic. ... 06#p442648

Works like a charm and it is a easy fix.
Thanks! Will thgis be better or just using a Naomi PSU? Does this fix make the buttons usable?
User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 278
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
Location: The Netherlands
eBay: 3d_collector

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by Sp33dFr34k »

Using a Naomi psu won't work as the pinout is completely different to an AC.

The solution provided above basically powers your old psu so to speak so you can use it like you used to and you can keep the buttons.
zumbito
Posts: 652
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by zumbito »

Ok, I see.
What about the transformer? And the fise on the original PSU? How will that PSU replace those?
User avatar
discotroll
Posts: 15
Joined: October 23rd, 2015, 10:56 am
Location: Germany
eBay: hoodsmg

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by discotroll »

zumbito wrote:
nem wrote:What did you do to it exactly?
I had a problem with it, unscrew it, and turn it on withour the fuse plastic cover. Aparently the fuse didn't work and it burned out the PSU.

Thinking on using a Naomi PSU, but not sure if it can be done, or how to replace the PSU buttons or volume knob...
discotroll wrote:You can do the fix, which was suggest in my thread about this:


http://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic. ... 06#p442648

Works like a charm and it is a easy fix.
Thanks! Will thgis be better or just using a Naomi PSU? Does this fix make the buttons usable?
Yes, the buttons will be still usable. Do you know which part of the psu is blown up? This fix will only help if the lower connector board is damaged, since it will replace the Jamma 'part' from the psu. Since the fuse burned out, did you check if a fuse replacement will help? It might be easier to help, when you could make some pictures and maybe start to measure through the parts. Maybe it is only one component, which needs to be replaced.
zumbito
Posts: 652
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by zumbito »

discotroll wrote:
zumbito wrote:
nem wrote:What did you do to it exactly?
I had a problem with it, unscrew it, and turn it on withour the fuse plastic cover. Aparently the fuse didn't work and it burned out the PSU.

Thinking on using a Naomi PSU, but not sure if it can be done, or how to replace the PSU buttons or volume knob...
discotroll wrote:You can do the fix, which was suggest in my thread about this:


http://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic. ... 06#p442648

Works like a charm and it is a easy fix.
Thanks! Will thgis be better or just using a Naomi PSU? Does this fix make the buttons usable?
Yes, the buttons will be still usable. Do you know which part of the psu is blown up? This fix will only help if the lower connector board is damaged, since it will replace the Jamma 'part' from the psu. Since the fuse burned out, did you check if a fuse replacement will help? It might be easier to help, when you could make some pictures and maybe start to measure through the parts. Maybe it is only one component, which needs to be replaced.
No, actually I didn't. I will try to put another fuse, but I saw heavy sparks coming out of them and a nice burnt smell, so my guess is the board is quite damaged.
User avatar
discotroll
Posts: 15
Joined: October 23rd, 2015, 10:56 am
Location: Germany
eBay: hoodsmg

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by discotroll »

Hmm check if you can identify which part on the psu burned. In my case I could identify it very well. Unfortunately two caps did die, too. At one point I was to lazy to replace them, so I did the fix which I linked in your thread. Fun fact since this fix the 5v output is quite more stable, then it was before :D.
zumbito
Posts: 652
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by zumbito »

discotroll wrote:Hmm check if you can identify which part on the psu burned. In my case I could identify it very well. Unfortunately two caps did die, too. At one point I was to lazy to replace them, so I did the fix which I linked in your thread. Fun fact since this fix the 5v output is quite more stable, then it was before :D.
Yup, I heard NAC PSUs aren't that good, really don't know what to do, I am not too skilled to make that repair, besides my NAC has the converter to 110v inside. Are all Jamma PSU 110V or should I find a 110V PSU? I guess in Europe they are 240v, not sure how available are 110V ones in Europe.

I found a guy selling some PSU, and thinking on buying one from him, but not sure if these PSUs are interchangeable, the third one seems to have different pins.

This is what I have:
Image
This are the ones he is selling:
Image
Image
User avatar
zak
Posts: 1287
Joined: October 19th, 2014, 1:35 pm
Location: UK
eBay: NA

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by zak »

zumbito
Posts: 652
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Blown Astro City PSU

Post by zumbito »

Thanks, that seems the exact same one.
Post Reply