Page 1 of 1

AWSD Atomiswave - Step Down Tarsformer 100V - Non Std PSU?

Posted: November 16th, 2015, 9:41 pm
by kevin2me
Hi all,

After 5 years or so on these forums and many Naomis later, I finally got a proper Candy Cab :) AWSD And I am chuffed. First Tri Synch too.
Problem is seller forgot to send step Down with it. ggrrrrrr I have yet to see this powered up and must connect back on CP.

I know AWSD PSU is meant to be crap and will only accept 100V, unlike other cabs which allow a variance 100-115.
I have load Naomis I read on here you can swap in Naomi PSU even.

But maybe good news, looking closer it appears maybe their is non standard PSU in this? Shows 110V +-15%?
So would I be safe with a 110 or 115V Stepdown?

Appreciate any help. Thanks guys, Kevin

Image
Image
Image
Image

Re: AWSD Atomiswave - Step Down Tarsformer 100V - Non Std PSU?

Posted: November 16th, 2015, 9:51 pm
by kernow
That's a standard jamma psu and not the weiya p271 it usually comes with.

Re: AWSD Atomiswave - Step Down Tarsformer 100V - Non Std PSU?

Posted: November 16th, 2015, 9:52 pm
by kernow
Tbh that psu is better really :awe:

Re: AWSD Atomiswave - Step Down Tarsformer 100V - Non Std PSU?

Posted: November 16th, 2015, 10:31 pm
by kevin2me
kernow wrote:Tbh that psu is better really :awe:
kernow... u beauty... Not the first nor the last time you helped me :)

Phew thats first good news I good as Naomi Cab was dead on arrival that I got too... Monitor gone.

Now just need to figure out if this 115v Stepdown I have for Panasonic Q can handle that 140W on AWSD,
if not I can at least get 110V now in local maplins or airlink from the UK.

Once its up and running, off I go to franco, spectre and others for extras like marquee print, and E2/E3 2P panels :)
I missed Otaku, took year off arcade, finally doing arcade Room in March!
Image

Re: AWSD Atomiswave - Step Down Tarsformer 100V - Non Std PSU?

Posted: November 16th, 2015, 10:37 pm
by kevin2me
In a DC circuit, 1 VA is the equivalent of one watt (1 W). The power, P (in watts) in a DC circuit is equal to the product of the voltage V (in volt s) and the current I (in ampere s):

If V and A are in phase (pure resistive load), then VA = Watts.
80 VA = 80 Watts
or 0.6 * 80 = 48W at minimum.

Well Thats answers that, off to Maplin I go :)

Re: AWSD Atomiswave - Step Down Tarsformer 100V - Non Std PSU?

Posted: November 16th, 2015, 10:57 pm
by Rossyra
Yeah, you'll melt that. You don't need more than 200VA but last time I looked the 300VA was only a fiver more from maplin.

Re: AWSD Atomiswave - Step Down Tarsformer 100V - Non Std PSU?

Posted: November 16th, 2015, 11:00 pm
by kevin2me
Great ill get a Maplin tomorrow and do a Gets post soon.

One last question :) as its says 110v/220v +-15%.

Would this mean no need for Step down at all by any chance?
All I might need adapter. From JPN to UK plug as supports 220V.

Re: AWSD Atomiswave - Step Down Tarsformer 100V - Non Std PSU?

Posted: November 16th, 2015, 11:07 pm
by Rossyra
The Jamma PSU can do without, the monitor can't though.

Re: AWSD Atomiswave - Step Down Tarsformer 100V - Non Std PSU?

Posted: November 16th, 2015, 11:16 pm
by kevin2me
Rossyra wrote:The Jamma PSU can do without, the monitor can't though.
Perfect, Thanks a million Ye guys are gents....

Off to Maplin I go:
http://www.maplin.ie/p/maplin-230v-to-1 ... rter-vr05f
Image

Re: AWSD Atomiswave - Step Down Tarsformer 100V - Non Std PSU?

Posted: January 7th, 2016, 8:18 am
by kevin2me
Been out of country and waiting on JNX and Pandora4 but finally got cab up and running this week.
That Maplin Transformer worked a charm, thanks god someone had switchout out the standard PSU in AWSD so it wasnt limited to exactly 100V.
Just wanted to say thanks to lads here for that assist earlier. appreciated.


Image