Drop-in AC Power Center

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

Hey i wsa gonna make up a new cab sand it down and what not but i was wondering would bob roberts drop in ac power center work for my hantarex mtc9000 monitor or would i be wasting my time, this would save me some time if it was ok. Its good all th KC crowd have somewhere to kick back.
http://www.therealbobroberts.net/accenter.html

Cheers :mrgreen:
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4592
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by grantspain »

it will work an absolute treat,this is a ready built system for lazy arcade peeps :D
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

So will this give me the 220vac and the 128vac needed by a mtc9000, just a quick question before ordering. As the current setup in my old cab is shot so wouldnt mind taking the shiny new route.

cheers
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4592
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by grantspain »

are you in the u.k,if so this will not give you what you need
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

well ireland same voltages though, anything I could do to solve the problem
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4592
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by grantspain »

that system will not work for you as it based on the u.s 110vac
what you need is a stepdown transformer 220 to 120 ac
you can then take the degauss circuit from the primary 220 side and use the 120 side for the chassis
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

im sorry I thought those isolation transformers where 115/230 vac and the switchers where the same you just flick a switch for 115 or 230. I could be wrong and probably am

cheers for the replys grantspain
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4592
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by grantspain »

there are many ways around this problem but you will need to do some wiring
the us iso transx are 120 to 120vac
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

So if i was gonna do it in ireland id need the following
1 AC Line Cord AKA Power Cord
2 Fuse & Fuse Holder (http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?Mod ... 4&doy=17m8)
3 AC Line Filter (
4 AC Distribution Block (http://www.maplin.co.uk/search.aspx?Men ... y&doy=17m8)
5 Switching Power Supply AKA Switcher (http://www.giz10p.co.uk/index.php?act=v ... roductId=3)
6 Isolation Transformer (?)

So basically I dont know where to get an AC Line Filter, Isolation Transformer for the uk and ideas.
Acually coul i bypass 1,2,3 by using one of these
http://cgi.ebay.com/DATA-MAX-PRINTER-DE ... dZViewItem
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4592
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by grantspain »

are you looking for the **** easy option or the cheaper option?
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

Just the good option it would be good to have it all standard
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4592
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by grantspain »

well a nice easy option would be to buy the drop in ac center and get this to run it all
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TRANSFORMER-VOLTA ... 9011123271

otherwise you can get all the parts you want except the psu from
www.cpc.co.uk
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

Cheers thats does sound alot easier since i dont know the exact specs of everything i need but would have liked to do it myself.
thanks
alot grantspain
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

Hey ive been looking at that site that you recommended and it has indeed got everything but what spec Isolation Transformer should i be looking for if i did go to build the setup myself and also what spec EMI ac filter. Sorry About all this but just interested cause I think I may still go down this route to standardise all my cabs mainly the two centi cabs with mtc 9000 monitors

thanks again

Purplec
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4592
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by grantspain »

why can't you use the existing stepdown tranformers in your cabs,

filter
http://cpc.farnell.com/PL07805/electric ... ee-557-602

transformer
http://cpc.farnell.com/FF01635/componen ... -150-d3706
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

well my mate has a centi and the power supply has gone its a US 250 with a mtc9000 so he needs a new setup since the his current setup was powering the monitor and the jamma. So if this worked it be cool that we would have essentially standardised the ac and dc power incase of problems down the road. think im gonna give it a go. Thanks again grantspain I think this would be helpfull for alot of people since i know of others who are interested in the bob roberts setup but the whole shipping and american voltages turned people off.

Cheers
Purplec
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

Does this make any sense at all, :D
poolchamp

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by poolchamp »

i dont want to step on any toes but purplec is this one of the cabs i sold ya
purplec
Posts: 601
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by purplec »

poolchamp wrote:i dont want to step on any toes but purplec is this one of the cabs i sold ya

Yep its the lad who had the van his cab
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4592
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Drop-in AC Power Center

Post by grantspain »

you will also need a small isolation transformer in line with the monitor to be safe
Post Reply