Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Post Reply
User avatar
NASguy
Posts: 353
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 3:37 am
Location: Florida, USA

Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by NASguy » April 6th, 2011, 1:11 pm

Finally wiring up my coin mech (AD-81P), are the two pins on the switch coin/ground?

I also got a new light fixture and want to wire it into the same power line the stock lamp was using, does anyone know the current/pinout of the stock connector and if this is okay to do? It's a normal 15w bulb fixture that plugs into the wall, I'm just going to cut the power cord off and wire it into where the old one was hooked to.

Thanks for any help.

User avatar
KmanSweden
KmanSweden
Posts: 1362
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 10:37 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
eBay: KmanSweden
Initials: PKK
Contact:

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by KmanSweden » April 6th, 2011, 1:42 pm

1.) I have 3 pins... one is the actual "Coin" signal, then you have 2 grounds, in a way.. One is NO and the other NC (Normaly Open / Normaly Closed)

2.) My Astro City marquee lamp runs on 110V AC so if your replacement is 110v AC you should be sorted.

That's my 2 cents..
Up the Irons!

Korszca
Assistant Librarian
Posts: 2261
Joined: March 2nd, 2010, 2:14 am
Location:

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by Korszca » April 6th, 2011, 1:51 pm

KmanSweden wrote:1.) I have 3 pins... one is the actual "Coin" signal, then you have 2 grounds, in a way.. One is NO and the other NC (Normaly Open / Normaly Closed)
I have this too. It's just a standard microswitch wired to the Com and NO terminals.
Last edited by Korszca on April 6th, 2011, 8:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
AeroCityMayor
Previously alien_mame
Posts: 2075
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 1:05 pm
Location: West Yorks, UK
eBay: air_fortless
Initials: ACM

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by AeroCityMayor » April 6th, 2011, 5:50 pm

KmanSweden wrote:1.) I have 3 pins... one is the actual "Coin" signal, then you have 2 grounds, in a way.. One is NO and the other NC (Normaly Open / Normaly Closed)
Other way round d00d :awe:

COM or GND is the ground connection and the other switches depend on whether you want the switch to make or break a circuit. For arcade applications, we usually want to make a circuit so we connect to the NO or "Normally Open" connector.

HTH

Cheers,

Ralph.
Last edited by AeroCityMayor on April 6th, 2011, 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
NASguy
Posts: 353
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 3:37 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by NASguy » April 6th, 2011, 8:20 pm

KmanSweden wrote:1.) I have 3 pins... one is the actual "Coin" signal, then you have 2 grounds, in a way.. One is NO and the other NC (Normaly Open / Normaly Closed)

2.) My Astro City marquee lamp runs on 110V AC so if your replacement is 110v AC you should be sorted.

That's my 2 cents..
Thanks for the help.

I need to recheck my coin mech, i think it only has the two pins.

When I'm wiring up the lamp in the astro, I found the live/neutral wires from the PSU, but my new lamp fixture just has a white power cord, when I stripped the ends they look the same. Is there anyway to tell which one is live/neutral? or does it not matter? One of the sheaths is marked "UL" with general info about the gauge size, but nothing else. :(

Here's an image of it broken open:
Image

User avatar
KmanSweden
KmanSweden
Posts: 1362
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 10:37 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
eBay: KmanSweden
Initials: PKK
Contact:

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by KmanSweden » April 7th, 2011, 6:29 am

If it's AC it doesn't matter.

alienmame can correct me now.
Up the Irons!

User avatar
kazuo
Posts: 373
Joined: November 3rd, 2008, 7:18 am
Location: Phuket

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by kazuo » April 7th, 2011, 8:06 am

KmanSweden wrote:If it's AC it doesn't matter.

alienmame can correct me now.
This. IIRC, with AC it doesn't matter. You normally have a "live" wire and a "neutral" wire. Three prongs obviously have an "earth" or "ground" wire. But for your purposes, you only have two. Doesn't matter. Wire that sucker up.

Please be aware it very much matters with DC. LOL

User avatar
AeroCityMayor
Previously alien_mame
Posts: 2075
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 1:05 pm
Location: West Yorks, UK
eBay: air_fortless
Initials: ACM

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by AeroCityMayor » April 7th, 2011, 6:07 pm

KmanSweden wrote:If it's AC it doesn't matter.

alienmame can correct me now.
No need d00d, that's correct :awe:

I didn't use the same ballast, but the principal is pretty much the same.

http://www.petes-emulation.com/phpbb3/v ... ?f=20&t=13"

HTH

Cheers,

Ralph
Image

User avatar
NASguy
Posts: 353
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 3:37 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by NASguy » April 10th, 2011, 1:27 am

Power is flowing, thanks.

Does anyone know the pin out of the three pins on the AD-81P coin mech?

Which ones do I need to wire to the Jamma harness?

I found out why my mech only had two pins... One was broken off connected to a wire that the coin meter was connected too. But I have no plans on hooking up the coin counter, so no big deal.

I'm assuming the two remaining pins are coin/ground for the switch? Can anyone confirm this?

Thank you

Korszca
Assistant Librarian
Posts: 2261
Joined: March 2nd, 2010, 2:14 am
Location:

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by Korszca » April 10th, 2011, 2:15 am

NASguy wrote:Power is flowing, thanks.

Does anyone know the pin out of the three pins on the AD-81P coin mech?

Which ones do I need to wire to the Jamma harness?

I found out why my mech only had two pins... One was broken off connected to a wire that the coin meter was connected too. But I have no plans on hooking up the coin counter, so no big deal.

I'm assuming the two remaining pins are coin/ground for the switch? Can anyone confirm this?

Thank you
Can you take a pic of the mech so I can compare it to mine? It's kinda hard to tell without being able to see it, especially with the broken off pins and stuff.

User avatar
AeroCityMayor
Previously alien_mame
Posts: 2075
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 1:05 pm
Location: West Yorks, UK
eBay: air_fortless
Initials: ACM

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by AeroCityMayor » April 10th, 2011, 9:14 am

NASguy wrote:Power is flowing, thanks.

Does anyone know the pin out of the three pins on the AD-81P coin mech?

Which ones do I need to wire to the Jamma harness?
COM = ground (the one you want to connect to ground on your jamma harness)
NO = Normally Open (the one you want to connect to pin 16 on the parts side of the JAMMA harness.
NC = Normally closed (not usually used for arcade applications)
NASguy wrote:Power is flowing, thanks.
I found out why my mech only had two pins... One was broken off connected to a wire that the coin meter was connected too. But I have no plans on hooking up the coin counter, so no big deal.

I'm assuming the two remaining pins are coin/ground for the switch? Can anyone confirm this?

Thank you
Highly unlikely. Coin mech is usually connected to the JAMMA harness via the coin counter. It is more likely that you need a new actuator switch.

HTH

Cheers,

Ralph.
Image

User avatar
NASguy
Posts: 353
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 3:37 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by NASguy » April 10th, 2011, 5:14 pm

Korszca wrote:
NASguy wrote:Power is flowing, thanks.

Does anyone know the pin out of the three pins on the AD-81P coin mech?

Which ones do I need to wire to the Jamma harness?

I found out why my mech only had two pins... One was broken off connected to a wire that the coin meter was connected too. But I have no plans on hooking up the coin counter, so no big deal.

I'm assuming the two remaining pins are coin/ground for the switch? Can anyone confirm this?

Thank you
Can you take a pic of the mech so I can compare it to mine? It's kinda hard to tell without being able to see it, especially with the broken off pins and stuff.
Piccy:
Image

As you can see, the first pin is broke off, I could still solder to it if need be, though.
COM = ground (the one you want to connect to ground on your jamma harness)
NO = Normally Open (the one you want to connect to pin 16 on the parts side of the JAMMA harness.
NC = Normally closed (not usually used for arcade applications)
So the ground pin is broken off mine? :eh:

User avatar
AeroCityMayor
Previously alien_mame
Posts: 2075
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 1:05 pm
Location: West Yorks, UK
eBay: air_fortless
Initials: ACM

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by AeroCityMayor » April 10th, 2011, 7:01 pm

NASguy wrote:
So the ground pin is broken off mine? :eh:
Yeap!
Image

Korszca
Assistant Librarian
Posts: 2261
Joined: March 2nd, 2010, 2:14 am
Location:

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by Korszca » April 10th, 2011, 8:31 pm

alienmame is right. You need to solder to the ground pin. Alternatively, you could just get a new microswitch.

User avatar
NASguy
Posts: 353
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 3:37 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Two New Astro City questions (coin mech, lamp power)

Post by NASguy » April 11th, 2011, 6:38 am

soldered that beast up, works like a charm, thanks all.

Post Reply