anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Post Reply
User avatar
philbee
Posts: 249
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:51 pm
Location: midlands(ish) Ireland

anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by philbee »

hi guys,
i recently bought a naomi 2 cab and removed the naomi 2 hardware and set it up for mame, now the coin mech still has power going to it but i cannot get it to accept any coins, they all get rejected, I thought i could still use this even though its not connected to the naomi board anymore. Im not sure what the dipswitch settings should be for an english 50p or even a quid, if someone had the dip switch setting or better still a picture of their board i could set mine the same and see if it works, any info would be great ;)
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4657
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by grantspain »

the coin mech should work via the credit board if you have +12 and ground connected,during your wiring process you must have disconnected either or both those wires
check on the credit board both voltages with a multimeter
User avatar
gargoyle67
Gateau superstar
Posts: 5278
Joined: August 22nd, 2008, 11:33 am
Location: Clacton-On-Sea init
eBay: gargoyle1967

Re: anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by gargoyle67 »

Yup, Works fine on my mamed cab, I'm using J-pac board, I think the coin trigger is number 5 on the keyboard/J-pac.
"Yeah lets all get ponys instead, wait no lol trendy cabs" Err I think you meant Ponies didn't you ?
User avatar
philbee
Posts: 249
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:51 pm
Location: midlands(ish) Ireland

Re: anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by philbee »

well i havnt metered it yet but i do have a green led on the coin mech and when i pass any coin through it , it flashed red and the coin is rejected. I think either the mech is faulty or the dip switch settings have been messed about with. if you have the dip switch settings i could try setting mine the same and tell me what coinage you use and i will use the same, i'd really like to get this working :) amany thanks for the replies guys.
Flazh

Re: anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by Flazh »

Let us know which credit board you have. Also, make sure you didn't do anything silly like putting the power cable on upside down or putting ribbon cables on back to front, as it's easily done with these coin mechs.
User avatar
philbee
Posts: 249
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:51 pm
Location: midlands(ish) Ireland

Re: anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by philbee »

cables seem to be ok, the green l.e.d. on the plastic mech itself is green and when i pass any coin through it, it flashes red :evil:
some pics here to help,
Image
Image
Image

the positions of the dipswitches from a working board would be great if possible, thanks again for the help.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4657
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by grantspain »

never touch the switches on an sr3,it will never work afterwards
User avatar
philbee
Posts: 249
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:51 pm
Location: midlands(ish) Ireland

Re: anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by philbee »

well, thats the end of that then :(
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4657
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by grantspain »

i would stick a nice standard c120 in there,reliable good mechs
i had a couple of sr3 in machines when i first started in spain,they were gone the first week :lol:
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4657
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by grantspain »

read this maybe you can get it goin again
http://www.moneycontrols.com/resources/ ... 281%29.pdf"
User avatar
philbee
Posts: 249
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:51 pm
Location: midlands(ish) Ireland

Re: anyone ever use a coin mech on mame machine

Post by philbee »

many thanks grantspain, will give it a lash over the next few days and report back, thanks again.
Post Reply