Replacing sound chips - is it possible??

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Post Reply
User avatar
barmskii
Posts: 36
Joined: August 20th, 2008, 8:02 am
Location: Birmingham,UK

Replacing sound chips - is it possible??

Post by barmskii » October 11th, 2008, 12:23 pm

I (knowingly) bought a boot of Batsugun and everything is fine except for the sound which is awful. Now I knew this would be the case and can live with it I guess, but I wondered whether it is possible to replace the sound chips with ones that have much better sound.

I know there is a website that will burn replacement roms although at the moment I can't remember what it is called.

I realise i'm probably weeing in the wind but just wondered if there was a way of making the music and sfx more bearable!!??

Cheers
Paul

User avatar
Stefan_L
Posts: 41
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:50 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Replacing sound chips - is it possible??

Post by Stefan_L » October 11th, 2008, 4:33 pm

From what i know are Batsugun bootlegs using a totally different soundchip from the original.
Image

User avatar
barmskii
Posts: 36
Joined: August 20th, 2008, 8:02 am
Location: Birmingham,UK

Re: Replacing sound chips - is it possible??

Post by barmskii » October 11th, 2008, 6:46 pm

Quite possibly. I think it may be a chip made from cardboard and twigs based on the appaling sound in the game. I think its not even playing the right music!!

User avatar
charlie chong
Posts: 212
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 9:46 am
Location: edinburgh

Re: Replacing sound chips - is it possible??

Post by charlie chong » October 13th, 2008, 3:32 pm

toaplan og pcbs had encrypted sound chips so thats why toaplan boots always have bad sound.. no way round it i think.. it's **** you cant get batsugun ogs at the minute cos it's no good in mame either (no sound ) so apart from the saturn version we screwed :cry:

User avatar
markedkiller78
Pony fucker
Posts: 7341
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Glasgow
eBay: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL

Re: Replacing sound chips - is it possible??

Post by markedkiller78 » October 13th, 2008, 3:34 pm

I had no idea that this still had problems in Mame. I assumed that I had a duff rom.

Ah well you live & learn
Image

capcomguru
Posts: 418
Joined: August 25th, 2008, 6:43 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Replacing sound chips - is it possible??

Post by capcomguru » October 14th, 2008, 3:50 pm

Try dumping your sound roms and comparing them to the bootleg dumps out there. Maybe one of the chips is corrupt or in the wrong socket.

Post Reply