NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Post Reply
User avatar
CGdfc
Posts: 13
Joined: November 18th, 2019, 11:14 am
Location: Spain
eBay: Seudónimo dancgdbz2sz
Initials: DAN

NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by CGdfc »

hello guys.
I have a very strange problem with a namco noir, I would like to put the taito type x2 (with multigame) and at first it seems to work, but without any explanation, it stops working ...
sometimes it lasts seconds and after times longer, when you enter the game, it looks like a lottery and may not work.
I mean the controls, stop working joystick and buttons...

the taito type x2 works perfect on my other candy, (capcom vewlix).
I think it is related to the NAVJ2 IO of namco, maybe the red lights that it shows, this can telling me something that is missing.


the left light blinks fast is because it is working well, when it stops working it is without blinking.
the right light flashes slowly (always) and the middle light is always on.
does anyone know what happens? Will it be related to DIPS?

salute

I add an image of my namco navj2:
Attachments
20210506_123834.jpg
User avatar
thegreathopper
Geese's Bodyguard
Posts: 1471
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:56 pm
Location: London
eBay: thegreathopper
Initials: STV

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by thegreathopper »

No one knows what the dips do, it’s a mystery.

Maybe worth running a USB cable direct from your Taito X2 to the Namco IO. If it’s like my Noir the USB cable runs though a couple of pcbs before reaching its destination.
User avatar
CGdfc
Posts: 13
Joined: November 18th, 2019, 11:14 am
Location: Spain
eBay: Seudónimo dancgdbz2sz
Initials: DAN

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by CGdfc »

Yes, I have checked it and the same thing happens.
I have noticed that when a game starts, depending on the game, the controls stop working. but if it works with that game, I can play for hours and it won't stop working.
for example:

akai katana, street fighter 3 and hyper street fighter 2, loaded with the controls working.

but street fighter 4 (all versions), persona 4 climax or deathsmile 2, the controls stop working ...
User avatar
thegreathopper
Geese's Bodyguard
Posts: 1471
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:56 pm
Location: London
eBay: thegreathopper
Initials: STV

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by thegreathopper »

I swapped out my Namco IO for a Sega one as I had problems with certain games not booting, KOF13 and SF4 are two I recall having issues, my Namco IO was looking for a 2nd cab.
User avatar
CGdfc
Posts: 13
Joined: November 18th, 2019, 11:14 am
Location: Spain
eBay: Seudónimo dancgdbz2sz
Initials: DAN

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by CGdfc »

I have verified that it is rather random, I was playing akaikatana for a long time before and after leaving it in demo mode for a while, the controls stopped working ...
can the najv2 be bad? It is very strange and I do not see information anywhere.

I don't know whether to buy another namco NAJV IO ...
User avatar
thegreathopper
Geese's Bodyguard
Posts: 1471
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:56 pm
Location: London
eBay: thegreathopper
Initials: STV

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by thegreathopper »

If you do decide to buy one I still have the one I removed.
User avatar
CGdfc
Posts: 13
Joined: November 18th, 2019, 11:14 am
Location: Spain
eBay: Seudónimo dancgdbz2sz
Initials: DAN

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by CGdfc »

Which one do you have? najv2?
I think v2 is the one that gives the problem
Can it be better to do the same as you, change it to sega.
which segaIO do you use?
Does all games taito type x work fine with sega IO?
User avatar
thegreathopper
Geese's Bodyguard
Posts: 1471
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:56 pm
Location: London
eBay: thegreathopper
Initials: STV

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by thegreathopper »

Yes NavJ2 was the one I removed, I swapped it out for a Sega JVS type 3 IO.

The sega IO runs Taito X2 and Sega Ringedge with no issues and recognises all buttons.
User avatar
CGdfc
Posts: 13
Joined: November 18th, 2019, 11:14 am
Location: Spain
eBay: Seudónimo dancgdbz2sz
Initials: DAN

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by CGdfc »

hmm very interesting, you can connect all the cables of the noir in that sega IO?
Do you have any photos of how you have it connected?
User avatar
thegreathopper
Geese's Bodyguard
Posts: 1471
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:56 pm
Location: London
eBay: thegreathopper
Initials: STV

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by thegreathopper »

No pictures sorry, you will need to alter the wiring but it’s pretty straight forward.
User avatar
mRCaESaR
Posts: 210
Joined: August 21st, 2017, 8:42 am
Location: Sydney
eBay: mr_caesar81
Initials: JTL

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by mRCaESaR »

I don't have a ttx2 on mine, but I do have a ttx3.

I haven't come across the issue you're having with my NAJV2.

The only difference is, I plug my USB from the bottom PCB (the pass through one), not directly from the back like you have.

it shouldn't make a difference, but it might be worth trying - I've played USF4 pretty extensively on it and I've never lost any form of controls.

For reference I'm using:

- Noir 720p (tekken 6 branded one)
- NAJV2 (not the NAJV - I couldn't get that to work with 2 player linking for my naomi - different issue)
- TTX3 with JVS Multi (USB cable is connected from the bottom "STD CONNECT PCB - CN6)
User avatar
CGdfc
Posts: 13
Joined: November 18th, 2019, 11:14 am
Location: Spain
eBay: Seudónimo dancgdbz2sz
Initials: DAN

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by CGdfc »

It's so strange...
Is it possible that the problems come from the coin/pcb? my noir came without this ...
you know what coin/psb has noir so that I can buy it?
some reference or something
User avatar
mRCaESaR
Posts: 210
Joined: August 21st, 2017, 8:42 am
Location: Sydney
eBay: mr_caesar81
Initials: JTL

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by mRCaESaR »

My two didn't all have a coin pcb - I thought the coin pcbs are normally tied to your coin mech.

One had a coin pcb and another one of mine didn't.

What they did all have is a 4 way JST connector for GND, 12v and P1 coin. I used those to connect a cheap electronic coin mech for use of Namco tokens.

User avatar
CGdfc
Posts: 13
Joined: November 18th, 2019, 11:14 am
Location: Spain
eBay: Seudónimo dancgdbz2sz
Initials: DAN

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by CGdfc »

thanks for photo, very explanatory.
interesting, did you buy the cable made or did you buy the connectors and you made?
User avatar
mRCaESaR
Posts: 210
Joined: August 21st, 2017, 8:42 am
Location: Sydney
eBay: mr_caesar81
Initials: JTL

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by mRCaESaR »

I made the cables from the coin mech to the jst connector of the namco

The part numbers and respective crimp is what's listed
User avatar
CGdfc
Posts: 13
Joined: November 18th, 2019, 11:14 am
Location: Spain
eBay: Seudónimo dancgdbz2sz
Initials: DAN

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by CGdfc »

can you tell me what dips you have in your najv2 (working you typex3)
User avatar
mRCaESaR
Posts: 210
Joined: August 21st, 2017, 8:42 am
Location: Sydney
eBay: mr_caesar81
Initials: JTL

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by mRCaESaR »

1-4 is off
User avatar
CGdfc
Posts: 13
Joined: November 18th, 2019, 11:14 am
Location: Spain
eBay: Seudónimo dancgdbz2sz
Initials: DAN

Re: NAMCO NOIR with taito type x2 problem IO HELP!!!

Post by CGdfc »

I have just now changed the dips, but it keeps giving me problems, it seems that my najv2 must be damaged.
I'm also going to try to put the coin mech with the connectors you mention.

thanks guys
Post Reply