gradius iv problem

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
User avatar
Stv
Posts: 351
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 5:47 pm
Location: Tokyo - Japan
Initials: stv

gradius iv problem

Post by Stv » March 19th, 2010, 2:13 pm

hello.

i got a problem with my gradius iv pcb.

i played it with the konami official hornet jamma adapter until the last day on my blast city but today i converted a naomi universal to tri-synch and put the GIV in it.

I'm using JVS connection and not more the jamma so all dip switches are already set all to OFF for JVS but i got this problem.

board boot up and do all the test OK, after give black screen and no more.

display on the pcb say first 21 and then 26 and stop on it for a long time.

tested again GIV in my blast and run flawless in JS mode.


my queastion is:

gradius Iv is JVS compatible 100%?

i teated my two NBA Play By Play boards and run flawless in JVS but nothing with Gradius IV :(

someone can test his GV in full JVS mode?

thanks.

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: gradius iv problem

Post by dieKatze88 » March 19th, 2010, 3:06 pm

Hold up, it freezes at 26? You've got a bad dip switch setting (at least thats when it would freeze for me in MAME)

Try:

1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

That should put Gradius 4 into test mode

Gradius 4 may also crash at 26 if you don't have 3.3v on your JVS harness.
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Stv
Posts: 351
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 5:47 pm
Location: Tokyo - Japan
Initials: stv

Re: gradius iv problem

Post by Stv » March 19th, 2010, 3:20 pm

yes. even with this dips configuration no luck.

the game jump directly in to the black screen whitout pass from the board/eprom test screen.

3.3V is ok, tested now a naomi 2 mobo and work flawless. :(

i think the only solution is going by the riverservice/namco/konami jvs to jamma adapter and play GIV again with the konami jamma harness.

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: gradius iv problem

Post by dieKatze88 » March 20th, 2010, 4:04 am

hmmm. If you have two cabinets near eachother, try connecting Video through a JAMMA -> JVS adapter or some kind of VGA to cab adapter on the cab you used to play on. My cab doesn't have 3.3, but Gradius IV gives a half hearted attempt at booting before it crashes without 3.3 and does run up my monitor.
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Stv
Posts: 351
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 5:47 pm
Location: Tokyo - Japan
Initials: stv

Re: gradius iv problem

Post by Stv » March 20th, 2010, 1:10 pm

little news.

i power up the pcb again and left ON for a lot of time (mainly because in the meantime i was fixing some cabinet's screws and i forgot...) and the game start.

i don't know why it take all this time to boot. Nba play by Play start immediatly after the test check...

is that normal? :eh:

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: gradius iv problem

Post by dieKatze88 » March 20th, 2010, 2:36 pm

Stv wrote:little news.

i power up the pcb again and left ON for a lot of time (mainly because in the meantime i was fixing some cabinet's screws and i forgot...) and the game start.

i don't know why it take all this time to boot. Nba play by Play start immediatly after the test check...

is that normal? :eh:
Try the other Video port! The Hornet was designed to output to two different screens, maybe you're connected to the one that the bios doesn't execute on?
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Stv
Posts: 351
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 5:47 pm
Location: Tokyo - Japan
Initials: stv

Re: gradius iv problem

Post by Stv » March 20th, 2010, 2:59 pm

yes, already done but no difference :(

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: gradius iv problem

Post by dieKatze88 » March 20th, 2010, 3:59 pm

Stv wrote:yes, already done but no difference :(
hmm. I get video output immediately over mine :-/

JVS Works it just doesn't let you see the bootup right? and you're using a full JVS cab, not a JAMMA to JVS Converter (don't know why you would)

I honestly can't shake the feeling that something is wrong, because this game was really designed to be in the Windy II, and that guy is JVS.

hmm.
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Stv
Posts: 351
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 5:47 pm
Location: Tokyo - Japan
Initials: stv

Re: gradius iv problem

Post by Stv » March 20th, 2010, 4:12 pm

yes, is connected directly to a naomi universal cabinet via JVS setup.

i see all the boot up screen like a normal hornet (i have two nba PbyP and these boot all fine and slighty fast than Giv) but it need a lot to the first screen (jvs setting check).

if the board is connected to a jamma cab with konami hornet jamma adapter the boot is fast but connected via JVS is slow.

now i know that and i can power the cab and do something else in the meantime waiting for the game bootup.

i was thinking if i connect it via konami/namco jvs ---> jamma converter maybe i can boost the loading time :) i need one and try :lol:

dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: gradius iv problem

Post by dieKatze88 » March 20th, 2010, 4:18 pm

Stv wrote:yes, is connected directly to a naomi universal cabinet via JVS setup.

i see all the boot up screen like a normal hornet (i have two nba PbyP and these boot all fine and slighty fast than Giv) but it need a lot to the first screen (jvs setting check).

if the board is connected to a jamma cab with konami hornet jamma adapter the boot is fast but connected via JVS is slow.

now i know that and i can power the cab and do something else in the meantime waiting for the game bootup.

i was thinking if i connect it via konami/namco jvs ---> jamma converter maybe i can boost the loading time :) i need one and try :lol:
It would make sense. Konami is a huge fan of vendor lockin -_-
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Ordyne
Posts: 72
Joined: October 9th, 2008, 9:09 am
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Re: gradius iv problem

Post by Ordyne » March 30th, 2010, 9:12 pm

Steve it should work find, I converted another game to Gradius IV and I've never had the Jamma adapter, works fine for me with the JVS I/O board attached.
Craig Walker • Giz10p • http://www.giz10p.co.uk

Specialists In Amusement Equipment Spares & Repairs

Post Reply