What am I missing with this power supply?

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
panzeroceania
Posts: 17
Joined: February 12th, 2010, 12:47 pm
Location: Salem, OR -- USA
eBay: panzer0688
Initials: TDL
Contact:

What am I missing with this power supply?

Post by panzeroceania » March 16th, 2010, 2:08 am

ok so I have a naomi 1 arcade board and I recently purchased a Sega Power supply for it.

here it is

http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/1/9/1 ... G_5792.JPG

now I have a dilemma, how do I plug it into the wall?

it's pretty self explanatory which part plugs into the Naomi, but the other end, as pictured here

http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/1/9/1 ... G_5790.JPG

seems to be where the power should come in. I can only imagine that this would plug into an arcade cabinet and then the arcade cabinet would plug into the wall, but I have no arcade cabinet, and am just trying to get the thing to boot so I can make sure that it works.

is there anywhere I can buy a cable to plug the power supply into the wall?

I live in the USA with 110/120 power, so it should work fine, I just need a cable to plug it into the wall. Any ideas? suggestions?

Ordyne
Posts: 72
Joined: October 9th, 2008, 9:09 am
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Re: What am I missing with this power supply?

Post by Ordyne » March 16th, 2010, 9:34 am

Tim the white and black to 3pin connector is the AC in, you will have to make your own cable up as Sega don't make a cable for it to plug into your wall socket.

I could probably make one but is it worth the wait?
Craig Walker • Giz10p • http://www.giz10p.co.uk

Specialists In Amusement Equipment Spares & Repairs

User avatar
MaNiAc
Posts: 17
Joined: December 22nd, 2009, 10:46 am
Location: London England
eBay: hitman26_uk
Initials: JBS

Re: What am I missing with this power supply?

Post by MaNiAc » March 16th, 2010, 7:33 pm

just a word of warning to any one from the uk its 110v and will pop your supply if you plug in to uk 240v supplies not that i ever did it but i know some one who did.

panzeroceania
Posts: 17
Joined: February 12th, 2010, 12:47 pm
Location: Salem, OR -- USA
eBay: panzer0688
Initials: TDL
Contact:

Re: What am I missing with this power supply?

Post by panzeroceania » March 16th, 2010, 8:24 pm

Ordyne wrote:Tim the white and black to 3pin connector is the AC in, you will have to make your own cable up as Sega don't make a cable for it to plug into your wall socket.

I could probably make one but is it worth the wait?
thanks Craig, I'll probably try to figure something out on my own to make sure everything is operational, I figured this was the case but wasn't sure. Thanks for all the great information.


Is there any easy way to get one of those connectors to make my own cable?

because I'd rather not cut the connector off the power supply to solder a good connection :(

how would someone go about making a connection without cutting off the existing connector?

EDIT:

I figure if I get the right size wire it will fit snuggly into the connector and then I can heavily tape it to secure it in place. In most electronics the black wire would be negative and the other wire would be positive, is this true in this case?

what does ACN and ACL mean? I'm assuming AC Neutral and AC Live. Is ACN the black or white wire? I just know that plugging the wrong one in would end badly so I want to make sure.

Ordyne
Posts: 72
Joined: October 9th, 2008, 9:09 am
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Re: What am I missing with this power supply?

Post by Ordyne » March 17th, 2010, 10:52 am

I sell the connectors, its a 3 pin AMP UP connector..

Yes ACL/ACN = Live and Neutral.. doesn't matter which way you put them but black is live according to the top of the PSU
Craig Walker • Giz10p • http://www.giz10p.co.uk

Specialists In Amusement Equipment Spares & Repairs

Post Reply