new model2 board=new fault

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
User avatar
philbee
Posts: 246
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:51 pm
Location: midlands(ish) Ireland

new model2 board=new fault

Post by philbee » March 10th, 2010, 6:45 pm

hi guys,
managed to get my hands on 3 model 2a videoboards (faluty). when i play any game now this is what happens

no 3d graphics at all, just perfect 2d

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

User avatar
JAMMArob
Posts: 180
Joined: November 18th, 2008, 12:50 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: new model2 board=new fault

Post by JAMMArob » March 10th, 2010, 10:26 pm

Very scenic!
Image

myuniversallove

Re: new model2 board=new fault

Post by myuniversallove » March 12th, 2010, 12:11 am

video board fault or a rom fault only backgrounds are displayd. ask graint or andy whats up

User avatar
philbee
Posts: 246
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:51 pm
Location: midlands(ish) Ireland

Re: new model2 board=new fault

Post by philbee » March 12th, 2010, 5:42 am

its definetly a videoboard fault, the roms are fine, will give Andy and Grant a shout. Thanks for the reply.

User avatar
andygeezer
Blue Skies Ahead
Posts: 2501
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 12:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Initials: AGS

Re: new model2 board=new fault

Post by andygeezer » March 12th, 2010, 9:44 am

two things there, either pin lifting on the custom or dead custom, either way a not well Video board :(
Say hello to my little friend...
Image

User avatar
philbee
Posts: 246
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:51 pm
Location: midlands(ish) Ireland

Re: new model2 board=new fault

Post by philbee » March 12th, 2010, 9:55 am

best place to send for repair?

myuniversallove

Re: new model2 board=new fault

Post by myuniversallove » March 12th, 2010, 3:11 pm

philbee wrote:best place to send for repair?

www.irepairsega.com

or buy a new video board maybe someone on the forum here has one

User avatar
philbee
Posts: 246
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:51 pm
Location: midlands(ish) Ireland

Re: new model2 board=new fault

Post by philbee » March 12th, 2010, 4:34 pm

thanks for the replies lads, will keep an eye out here to see if someone has one for sale.

Ordyne
Posts: 72
Joined: October 9th, 2008, 9:09 am
Location: Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Re: new model2 board=new fault

Post by Ordyne » March 30th, 2010, 9:13 pm

Philbe,

I can probably repair this if you want to send it in...
Craig Walker • Giz10p • http://www.giz10p.co.uk

Specialists In Amusement Equipment Spares & Repairs

Post Reply