Silent Hill Arcade Issue

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
User avatar
atiyatalla
Posts: 31
Joined: May 31st, 2019, 2:41 pm
Location: Bahrain
eBay: atiyatalla

Silent Hill Arcade Issue

Post by atiyatalla »

Hi everyone,

i purchased a silent hill arcade cabinet but upon booting it up i it boots up windows xp and then when the konami logo comes up i get this error message:-

https://imgur.com/qFHKDTj

I am not sure what this means but upon checking the manual i found online it said its something about the IO Board but i checked all the wires and made sure they are plugged in and there isnt anything loose, but i didnt find anything.

Im not that good with arcades as im new to this, but i took photos of all the areas connected to the cabinet below if you guys might notice anything.

https://i.imgur.com/WzPyDA7.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/awu5szi.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/hcpxzFZ.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/wubmBRg.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/P4Oy2VD.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/wWVXT9O.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/6q7sXJl.jpg

I would appreciate any help i can get, also i attached a video of the taito type x which has a loud noise coming from it, not sure what creates it though i thought it was probably the hard drive but i got a new hard drive and made a clone of the old one but still has a sound coming from it.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1XLoam ... wheYIjMbej - Video of the sound coming out of the taito board
User avatar
nem
Posts: 1754
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Silent Hill Arcade Issue

Post by nem »

It says something about IC cards not being in use. Apparently this game works with e-Amusement cards. Anyway, go in to the test menu and try to turn off that feature.
User avatar
atiyatalla
Posts: 31
Joined: May 31st, 2019, 2:41 pm
Location: Bahrain
eBay: atiyatalla

Re: Silent Hill Arcade Issue

Post by atiyatalla »

nem wrote:
April 1st, 2020, 5:25 MP
It says something about IC cards not being in use. Apparently this game works with e-Amusement cards. Anyway, go in to the test menu and try to turn off that feature.
The issue is that i cant even get to the test menu as soon as i boot up the arcade it does a test for the arcade and scans everything like if the hard drive is okay and such and when it starts it gives me a failed message and than restarts.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4523
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Location: down south

Re: Silent Hill Arcade Issue

Post by grantspain »

have you checked the voltages from the power supply
User avatar
nem
Posts: 1754
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Silent Hill Arcade Issue

Post by nem »

atiyatalla wrote:
April 2nd, 2020, 6:33 MP
The issue is that i cant even get to the test menu as soon as i boot up the arcade it does a test for the arcade and scans everything like if the hard drive is okay and such and when it starts it gives me a failed message and than restarts.
Really? That's surprising. I have some similar era Konami games and you can access the test menu if there's a card reader error.

I looked around and you can actually find an English manual for the game here:

http://www.aurcade.com/games/manuals/00001137.pdf

On page 48 you have the list of error codes. For error 5-1502-0002 the possible causes are "The button and IC card PCB are not functioning correctly." (and Konami's suggested solution for it, 'Contact your nearest dealer' :problem:)

Find the card reader, the IO board and double check all the wiring to and from.
User avatar
SpinalFeyd
Posts: 6
Joined: August 2nd, 2017, 3:55 pm
Location: The Abandoned City
eBay: ..

Re: Silent Hill Arcade Issue

Post by SpinalFeyd »

It says That The Button IC Card Board Is not connected.

So it's not the e-Amusement card reader thats causing the problem.
I think the button,ic Boad is the main control I/O.

(It's Located Inside The Bottom Metal Box)...i think.



Look inside the box and make sure the lights are on.
You should see lots of red L.E.D's flickering.

Make sure the serial ports are connected to the pc properly.
You also want to check the Dark Green Dark Blue & Black connector leads as they are the ones used for connecting the I/O boards up to the pc.

nem wrote:
April 3rd, 2020, 9:27 am
Really? That's surprising. I have some similar era Konami games and you can access the test menu if there's a card reader error.
Most pc based konami games don't give you access until the game is running.
User avatar
nem
Posts: 1754
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Silent Hill Arcade Issue

Post by nem »

I guess it depends on the error and the game. I have a slew of Bemani games. Not all errors result in locking out of the test menu.

But yeah, you're on point with checking the IO board.
Post Reply