Page 1 of 1

Magicgate Tekken 4

Posted: June 26th, 2019, 1:38 pm
by gnomx
Bi guys I Have a problem with my magicgate Board. I've already chaged dip shitch 2 & 3 to on bit the VGA monitor says out of range 15khz analogic.

Maybe faulty board???

Re: Magicgate Tekken 4

Posted: June 26th, 2019, 2:19 pm
by Hydreigon
Namco System 246 to be exact. Tekken 4 normally runs at 15khz/standard resolution and heard running that game in 31khz/VGA res won't work. Verify all DIP switches are set to "off" and the video connection is normal as opposed to forcing a VGA connection. Also, do you hear any beeps when you start up the system (better yet if the game plays blind)? If not, you should reseat the dongle which looks like your average ps2 memory card (must be in slot 1).

These dongles containing boot code is a very clever design imo unlike most PC dongles which serve as some lame (and somewhat easily crackable) security check.

EDIT: You also mentioned VGA monitor. Is this a CRT or LED/LCD monitor?

Re: Magicgate Tekken 4

Posted: June 26th, 2019, 3:28 pm
by leonardoliveira
Magic Gate is just the name of the DRM protection used on the dongle cards.

Re: Magicgate Tekken 4

Posted: June 26th, 2019, 4:47 pm
by gnomx
Hydreigon wrote:
June 26th, 2019, 2:19 MP
Namco System 246 to be exact. Tekken 4 normally runs at 15khz/standard resolution and heard running that game in 31khz/VGA res won't work. Verify all DIP switches are set to "off" and the video connection is normal as opposed to forcing a VGA connection. Also, do you hear any beeps when you start up the system (better yet if the game plays blind)? If not, you should reseat the dongle which looks like your average ps2 memory card (must be in slot 1).

These dongles containing boot code is a very clever design imo unlike most PC dongles which serve as some lame (and somewhat easily crackable) security check.

EDIT: You also mentioned VGA monitor. Is this a CRT or LED/LCD monitor?
Thanks 4 yours replays.
I didn't hear any kind of beep. So when I turn in on I get this on screen :

Image

So I didn't understand how do I have to do if there isn't sound on start up system.

Thanks

Re: Magicgate Tekken 4

Posted: June 26th, 2019, 5:01 pm
by Hydreigon
Does the game play blind? If so, then the system works but the monitor you are using isn't compatible. It would require some video converter to convert the signal from 15k to 31k. If not, then reseat the dongle like I mentioned earlier. If that doesn't work, then I would check all inside boards for any abnormalities or broken traces as well as give them a good clean. Check voltages too and verify if the system itself powers on or not.

Re: Magicgate Tekken 4

Posted: July 11th, 2019, 3:40 pm
by gnomx
Hi there. When I turn it on I can hear 3 bips or bells and CD ROM spinning and lead...
I made a VGA modify with 220ohm resistor on RGB by using this diagram :
Image

I can see on screen game but it seems like not Sync
Image

Any solutions?? Maybe it's wrong VGA.
Here video spinning board :

Re: Magicgate Tekken 4

Posted: July 11th, 2019, 5:24 pm
by nem
Hydreigon wrote:
June 26th, 2019, 2:19 MP
Tekken 4 normally runs at 15khz/standard resolution and heard running that game in 31khz/VGA res won't work.
Tekken 4 runs just fine in VGA.

Re: Magicgate Tekken 4

Posted: July 11th, 2019, 5:34 pm
by gnomx
So what happens here....
Any suggestions??
Maybe I made wrong cable or is correct?

Edit
Now works like a charm. I put VGA into Jamma converter

Re: Magicgate Tekken 4

Posted: July 14th, 2019, 1:35 pm
by gnomx
Thanks to all people thanks help me. Many thanks