Sega JVS I/O type 1 issues

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
jkl
Posts: 4
Joined: December 5th, 2015, 8:47 am
Location: Trento (IT)

Sega JVS I/O type 1 issues

Post by jkl » December 11th, 2015, 6:57 pm

Hi I can't figure out my problem...
I have 2x sega jvs type 1 i/o.
Both turn on, are recognized by naomi board that reads fw version and other data, but I can't get any key to work even in input test.
Wired a db15 port following ags pinout (joystick leds are turning on too)...
Powered with 5v AND 12v, even if I guess that without lamp out 12v are useless.
Used 2 different usb cables.
Same Naomi work flawlessy with jvs 2 jamma.
Attachments
20151211_153335_HDR.jpg

User avatar
andygeezer
Blue Skies Ahead
Posts: 2501
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 12:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Initials: AGS

Re: Sega JVS I/O type 1 issues

Post by andygeezer » December 12th, 2015, 8:48 am

Do a loop cable from pin 1 to pin 3 on the 60pin connector, otherwise inputs will not work.
Say hello to my little friend...
Image

jkl
Posts: 4
Joined: December 5th, 2015, 8:47 am
Location: Trento (IT)

Re: Sega JVS I/O type 1 issues

Post by jkl » December 12th, 2015, 7:46 pm

Many many thanks Andy Geezer.
You helped me twice: on your site I found the pinouts of my boards and you gave me the solution for my issue with type 1.

Funny because I didn't receive notification of your answer here, but on another forum a guy called Mitsurugi-w told me what to do, saying that you were the source of the info... :)

Thanks again.

JKL

PS: Do you maybe know what dipswitches do on my JVS I/O type 2 and why Naomi 2 boots Initial D3 with it but then no control seems to work (same with jvs2jamma)?

PS2: In the past 6 months I wrote you three emails using the contact address on your site, but never get a reply. Am I too bad ofr your antispam?

User avatar
thegreathopper
Geese's Bodyguard
Posts: 1267
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:56 pm
Location: London
eBay: thegreathopper
Initials: STV

Re: Sega JVS I/O type 1 issues

Post by thegreathopper » June 19th, 2019, 1:52 pm

andygeezer wrote:
December 12th, 2015, 8:48 am
Do a loop cable from pin 1 to pin 3 on the 60pin connector, otherwise inputs will not work.

Just what I needed to know, this needs looping also on a version 3 Sega IO. Many thanks :D

Post Reply