Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

PCB problems and fixes
Gamez
Please Continue...
Posts: 18
Joined: November 12th, 2013, 7:07 pm
Location:

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by Gamez » July 1st, 2015, 6:42 pm

Spectre wrote:
Gamez wrote:Been waiting ages for my stuff to arrive from Darksoft.
Its never arrived :problem:

Not heard a peep for ages :mad:
Have you contacted darksoft with your order number?
Yep!
Cheers!

darksoft
Posts: 124
Joined: July 8th, 2011, 10:04 pm
Location:
eBay: greenberetfan
Initials: PFG

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by darksoft » July 1st, 2015, 9:13 pm

Gamez wrote:Been waiting ages for my stuff to arrive from Darksoft.
Its never arrived :problem:

Not heard a peep for ages :mad:
I already MP'ed you. You'll receive the stuff (2xCable extenders and 2 PALs) from Ksiegarnia. Thanks.
Arcade Project Master at www.arcade-projects.com

User avatar
bloodhokuto
Posts: 808
Joined: June 24th, 2012, 4:20 pm
Location: Kent
eBay: coryoon

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by bloodhokuto » July 2nd, 2015, 12:03 am

Well there is something definitely not right with my ex-progear B Board, it's more than just a loose connection.

I guess I am on the lookout for a dead B board now (where are people getting these)? ... I pray to Crom that I can disassemble the CPS2 muti without damaging pins etc :wtf:
- -
Looking to get a replacement foot panel for my Minicute.
If anyone sees one, let me know!
- -
Image

User avatar
mrjamma
Posts: 57
Joined: March 3rd, 2015, 4:32 am
Location:

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by mrjamma » July 2nd, 2015, 12:50 am

Hey guys

Very random. Every few days, sometimes when I power on the cabinet, it won't load up the last game like it usually does - itll sit on a red screen with writing 'RAM ok' or something on two lines.

I dont need to do any EXC5 shorting or anything - all i literally need to do to fix it, is reprogram a game (choose the same game, or another, on the LCD, click OK to program it, and then it auto resets and works perfect again).

Anything to worry about?

kimdani1
Posts: 3
Joined: July 2nd, 2015, 1:41 am
Location: USA
eBay: kimdani1

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by kimdani1 » July 2nd, 2015, 1:45 am

I have a X-men vs SF board, revision 4. I'm using the Darksoft supplied G chip with the leg lifted and connected to J17. The audio crackles are audible especially during quieter moments in games and can also be heard when the Q-Sound logo comes on.

Asure
Posts: 570
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by Asure » July 2nd, 2015, 12:55 pm

Not to confuse matters, but some of you with audio crackles could you take a screenshot of the volume levels when in test mode, and post it here? (press the volume button once, and a volume bar should pop up in test mode.)

It might be a simple matter of too much volume output on the jamma edge, causing clipping & crackles. I've seen that many times.
On my setup, the volume knob of my astro (no amplifier) is wide open, and the amped output from the jamma edge on cps2 is only set to maybe 5% on the volume bar.

With the games i play a lot, the wrong audio bank select presents itself not a a crackle/pop, but as wrong samples.

coolmod
Posts: 65
Joined: May 23rd, 2012, 5:49 am
Location: USA
eBay: hyperneogeo

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by coolmod » July 2nd, 2015, 1:28 pm

Asure wrote:Not to confuse matters, but some of you with audio crackles could you take a screenshot of the volume levels when in test mode, and post it here? (press the volume button once, and a volume bar should pop up in test mode.)

It might be a simple matter of too much volume output on the jamma edge, causing clipping & crackles. I've seen that many times.
On my setup, the volume knob of my astro (no amplifier) is wide open, and the amped output from the jamma edge on cps2 is only set to maybe 5% on the volume bar.

With the games i play a lot, the wrong audio bank select presents itself not a a crackle/pop, but as wrong samples.
The thing is, it's not as simple as that for a few reasons:

1) It happens on both the Jamma Edge + directly from the stereo output on the CPS2 board.

2) It happens on the CPS2 Multi, but if you use the same board except with eproms instead of the CPS2 Multi, it isn't present.

Here is what I posted on Neo-geo.com:
Post wrote: Okay, I did some investigating into the crackling sound and here is what I came up with... it does it on the multi, but not on a board with roms. What I did was I took D&D SOM on the multi and compared it to using eproms on the same board (yes some of the sound effects are wrong on the eprom version due to the jumper settings, but it's still clear).

Multi:
https://www.hasntfiguredouthowtoembedyoutubeproperly.com/watch?v=Yw_qsZIfR4g

Eproms:
https://www.hasntfiguredouthowtoembedyoutubeproperly.com/watch?v=nSqEauBS84w

Note: This was captured straight from RGB to the X-capture, so there are no outside influences. Also I tried upping the voltage on the multi to 5.10V and it made 0 difference.

Asure
Posts: 570
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by Asure » July 2nd, 2015, 1:54 pm

Videos are swapped or i'm crazy. I'm hearing wrong samples e.g. "Dungeons & Dragons!" sound at wrong places (gate lifts) in the second video.

The multi taps into the pins on the two sound roms, is everything connected properly there? Seems some signal is not being picked up, and it's reading the wrong sound rom. If the game works 100% from eproms, not from multi, the issue could be there.

That, or the sound rom for DDSOM is wrong.

User avatar
RoberMC
Posts: 18
Joined: October 8th, 2013, 10:07 pm
Location:
eBay: sotnadmin
Initials: RMC

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by RoberMC » July 2nd, 2015, 6:21 pm

:lol: Simply concentrate yourself in the "crackling", he is obviously getting wrong samples in the second video as he has the board configured for the PAL-G + CPS2-Multi, while playing a plain eprom set of D&DSOM, but that is not the problem

Gamez
Please Continue...
Posts: 18
Joined: November 12th, 2013, 7:07 pm
Location:

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by Gamez » July 2nd, 2015, 7:26 pm

darksoft wrote:
Gamez wrote:Been waiting ages for my stuff to arrive from Darksoft.
Its never arrived :problem:

Not heard a peep for ages :mad:
I already MP'ed you. You'll receive the stuff (2xCable extenders and 2 PALs) from Ksiegarnia. Thanks.
When?
You've not given me a timescale,

Cheers!

User avatar
waiwainl
Posts: 103
Joined: June 27th, 2014, 12:10 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by waiwainl » July 2nd, 2015, 9:10 pm

Gamez wrote:
darksoft wrote:
Gamez wrote:Been waiting ages for my stuff to arrive from Darksoft.
Its never arrived :problem:

Not heard a peep for ages :mad:
I already MP'ed you. You'll receive the stuff (2xCable extenders and 2 PALs) from Ksiegarnia. Thanks.
When?
You've not given me a timescale,

Cheers!
Please keep this in the MP's. Not in TechSupport ;)

darksoft
Posts: 124
Joined: July 8th, 2011, 10:04 pm
Location:
eBay: greenberetfan
Initials: PFG

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No F'ing Drama)

Post by darksoft » July 2nd, 2015, 9:17 pm

ReplicaX wrote:Thanks, but it wasn't a connection issue since the flash process itself failed immediately.

Confirmed microSD Card issue with:

SanDisk Ultra 16GB UHS-I/Class 10 Micro SDHC
SDSDQUAN-016G-G4A

Not to be confused with it's identical packaged and older version:
SDSDQUA-016G-G4A

Worked with my older SanDisk 2GB Class 4
I bought a SanDisk Ultra 16GB UHS-I/Class 10 Micro SDHC - SDSDQUAN-016G-G4A
And works flawless. Were you using a MAC? Was the card formatted FAT32?
Arcade Project Master at www.arcade-projects.com

rizzeld
Posts: 21
Joined: January 2nd, 2015, 6:43 pm
Location:

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by rizzeld » July 3rd, 2015, 12:56 am

just ordered a bunch of replacement pins for my board, so if theres anyone else in New Zealand that needs a few, let me know, I'll have spares.
Fingers crossed they'll be here in the next week or so

User avatar
ReplicaX
Posts: 139
Joined: August 3rd, 2010, 6:20 pm
Location: Boston, MA
eBay: xreplica_x
Initials: REP

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No F'ing Drama)

Post by ReplicaX » July 3rd, 2015, 1:37 am

darksoft wrote:
ReplicaX wrote:Thanks, but it wasn't a connection issue since the flash process itself failed immediately.

Confirmed microSD Card issue with:

SanDisk Ultra 16GB UHS-I/Class 10 Micro SDHC
SDSDQUAN-016G-G4A

Not to be confused with it's identical packaged and older version:
SDSDQUA-016G-G4A

Worked with my older SanDisk 2GB Class 4
I bought a SanDisk Ultra 16GB UHS-I/Class 10 Micro SDHC - SDSDQUAN-016G-G4A
And works flawless. Were you using a MAC? Was the card formatted FAT32?
PC and FAT32
Q GrandAm 25 | MKII | JNX SuperGun
First Cab: Centipede (1987)
Arcade Tech: 1994 - 2000

Braintrash
Posts: 428
Joined: February 17th, 2011, 6:31 pm
Location: Paris, France
eBay: yuu_madrigal

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No F'ing Drama)

Post by Braintrash » July 3rd, 2015, 6:52 am

darksoft wrote:
ReplicaX wrote:Thanks, but it wasn't a connection issue since the flash process itself failed immediately.

Confirmed microSD Card issue with:

SanDisk Ultra 16GB UHS-I/Class 10 Micro SDHC
SDSDQUAN-016G-G4A

Not to be confused with it's identical packaged and older version:
SDSDQUA-016G-G4A

Worked with my older SanDisk 2GB Class 4
I bought a SanDisk Ultra 16GB UHS-I/Class 10 Micro SDHC - SDSDQUAN-016G-G4A
And works flawless. Were you using a MAC? Was the card formatted FAT32?
Where both of you did buy theirs?
I suspect one of you bought his from Alibaba or something similar and has got a crappy bootleg...

User avatar
Spectre
By Spectre
Posts: 1764
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 5:42 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK
eBay: spectre-uk
Initials: JIM

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No F'ing Drama)

Post by Spectre » July 3rd, 2015, 9:13 am

Braintrash wrote:Where both of you did buy theirs?
I suspect one of you bought his from Alibaba or something similar and has got a crappy bootleg...
This. Memory card bootlegging is rife, many fake cards also have very convincing packaging. The only guarantee is to buy from a high street store or direct from a trusted source like Amazon (themselves, not a marketplace seller). I wouldn't trust most eBay sellers.

darksoft
Posts: 124
Joined: July 8th, 2011, 10:04 pm
Location:
eBay: greenberetfan
Initials: PFG

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No F'ing Drama)

Post by darksoft » July 3rd, 2015, 2:19 pm

Spectre wrote: This. Memory card bootlegging is rife, many fake cards also have very convincing packaging. The only guarantee is to buy from a high street store or direct from a trusted source like Amazon (themselves, not a marketplace seller). I wouldn't trust most eBay sellers.
Could be that. I bought mine from a retail store chain. I'd be very surprised if they aren't original.
Arcade Project Master at www.arcade-projects.com

User avatar
ReplicaX
Posts: 139
Joined: August 3rd, 2010, 6:20 pm
Location: Boston, MA
eBay: xreplica_x
Initials: REP

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No F'ing Drama)

Post by ReplicaX » July 3rd, 2015, 5:57 pm

Braintrash wrote:
darksoft wrote:
ReplicaX wrote:Thanks, but it wasn't a connection issue since the flash process itself failed immediately.

Confirmed microSD Card issue with:

SanDisk Ultra 16GB UHS-I/Class 10 Micro SDHC
SDSDQUAN-016G-G4A

Not to be confused with it's identical packaged and older version:
SDSDQUA-016G-G4A

Worked with my older SanDisk 2GB Class 4
I bought a SanDisk Ultra 16GB UHS-I/Class 10 Micro SDHC - SDSDQUAN-016G-G4A
And works flawless. Were you using a MAC? Was the card formatted FAT32?
Where both of you did buy theirs?
I suspect one of you bought his from Alibaba or something similar and has got a crappy bootleg...
Mine is direct from Amazon. Even in the 9,622 reviews, Sandisk responds directly with issues as the manufacturer. So I doubt its on my end.
Q GrandAm 25 | MKII | JNX SuperGun
First Cab: Centipede (1987)
Arcade Tech: 1994 - 2000

darksoft
Posts: 124
Joined: July 8th, 2011, 10:04 pm
Location:
eBay: greenberetfan
Initials: PFG

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No F'ing Drama)

Post by darksoft » July 3rd, 2015, 7:39 pm

ReplicaX wrote:
Mine is direct from Amazon. Even in the 9,622 reviews, Sandisk responds directly with issues as the manufacturer. So I doubt its on my end.
Send it to me and I'll have a look. MP me for details.
Arcade Project Master at www.arcade-projects.com

Yodd
Posts: 9
Joined: January 6th, 2015, 4:36 am
Location:

Re: Darksoft's CPS2 Multikit Tech Support Thread (No Killing B-Boards!)

Post by Yodd » July 3rd, 2015, 11:20 pm

Not a tech support question per say, but anyone got a link to a Multikit B board sticker?

I have seen a couple folks that have replaced their original B board sticker with a really nice Multikit sticker and was wondering if someone had a link where to purchase one.


Sorry for the off topic Q.

Post Reply